We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but needs to relax”

The Pump Room Restaurant
Ranked #46 of 583 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Co Down
Level 6 Contributor
323 reviews
250 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Good but needs to relax”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

Went for lunch. Food was good but everything was a bit over the top. It is run by the council but is trying to be upmarket and doesn't make it - Hyacinth Bucket would be at home here! Having said that food was good as was service. Needs a bit more relaxed atmosphere

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NorthernerCoDown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,116
    659
    241
    98
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“to expensive to eat or have tea”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Was not going to have any food or drinks there. My wallet did not allow that. so We can not tell you if it was good or bad. But the place itself. Gorgeous.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J0rita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food in an impressive setting.”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

We had a twilight Supper at The Pump Room. The food was beautifully presented and delicious too! The staff are effecient, friendly and hardworking. Try to go when there is music, the atmosphere is lovely! Crumpets and blackcurrant jam is nice for a budget snack in a posh place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Very civilised”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

Went in for a coffee and felt like we were in a period drama. Piano trio delighted us with some beautiful playing. Bath cakes and biscuits were lovely to share.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank pavoTen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
590 reviews
333 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed May 30, 2013

I had afternoon tea here with a friend on a busy Wednesday afternoon. Although the beautiful surroundings and the live music provided by the string quartet could not be faulted, I was disappointed by the service. We were made to feel very rushed and there were some bizarre mix-ups. For example, my friend asked if we could have another look at the menu so we could order some scones and we were promptly presented with the bill. The food itself was fine but not particularly memorable.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank PebbleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Pump Room Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing