We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eastern Eye

The Eastern Eye
Ranked #134 of 567 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Mahal of Exquisite Indian Cuisine with the cities most impressive Georgian interior and triple domed high ceiling. Here at The Eastern Eye we are humbled and elated to have received multiple Restaurant of the Year Awards in 2011, along with a whole host of other accolades and positive reviews from popular magazines, newspapers and awards bodies. We specialize in wholesome traditional Indian food, with a touch of imagination and creative flair. We use some of the finest ingredients and pay immense attention to ensuring flavours are not only grounded in Indian culinary heritage, but also now and again break the mould with flavour combinations that are both unique and exceptionally delicious.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
236 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Great building once you get upstairs (wheelchair users will not be able to get in). Service was very good with a warm welcome and doors opened for us etc. Food was good but nothing worth raving about. Oddly some dishes are only available on Saturdays (we visited on a Friday). Not overpriced. Would return to see the room the restaurant is in; quite a surprise considering the small entrance door.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Alan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    414
    234
    110
    71
    82
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“WE REALLY ENJOYED THIS PLACE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

We visited The Eastern Eye recently and enjoyed the best indian meal that we have had for a very long time. We already knew about the splendour of the room which houses the restaurant and found that time has certainly not diminished it. To top it all, every member of staff that we interacted with was friendly, polite and helpful.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BRENDA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangi, Malaysia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing food, amazing service, fully satisfied”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We were in Bath for the second half of our excursion. When we arrived in Bath, it's pretty obvious kids were very hungry. We were searching for a decent restaurant for lunch and came across this halal one. It was really an amazing experience with good food with such huge portion. The spicy curry is definitely much needed with the cold weather. The briyani was delicious and the nan bread was just right. The team even went the extra mile giving us free coffee and ice cream which was a total great closure to the whole meal.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LizaMSahar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Amazing Building, good food. but disappointing service.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went here on the 16th March 2013. The food was really good however the thing that let it down for us was the service we felt incredible rushed and some staff were rude kept coming up asking if we were ready to order every 2mins. When we ordered and the food arrived the service once again was poor, food was chucked onto our table even had them leaning over us instead of moving around the table to pass our food to us. I asked for NO nuts in my food as I hate nuts and it had nuts inside it but I didn't mind picking them out but still they shouldn't have put nuts in when I said clearly I didn't want nuts in the food lucky I don't have a nut allergy. We also had to ask a fair amount of times for a jug of water which took over 10mins to arrive. The food itself was lovely full of flavour and nice and hot. It was set in such a beautiful building with amazing artwork on the walls. I don't think we would return in a hurry due to the service putting us off the most about this place. If you're not worried about being rushed and want good food then go, we like to take our time and this didn't seem like the place to do this. Overall a good place to go if you want quick service and get out onto town after.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iandenise_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Concierge at the Royal Crescent Hotel recommended this restaurant to us and it was not found wanting. There are lots of certificates and recommendation reviews on the front door and yet, it looks quite unprepossessing from the outside. We ventured up the rather tired looking stair carpet and when we opened the door to the restaurant.....WOW!! A fabulous three domed Georgian ballroom, teaming with busy staff and a really fantastic atmosphere. We hadn't booked and it was a busy Saturday night but they found us a nice table for two. The staff members were efficient and friendly and the food was absolutely fabulous. So much so, we went back the following evening and enjoyed an equally lovely meal. It was a bit quieter so we had the chance to talk to some of the staff. It would seem their competitors have written some rather damning reports on various websites and to be fair, who can blame them....they are clearly worried that this might actually be the best Indian restaurant in the whole city! Highly recommended by us both (one vegetarian and one non-veggie). Yum, yum and double yum!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fiona B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eastern Eye also viewed

 

Been to The Eastern Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing