We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Busy Restaurant” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eastern Eye

The Eastern Eye
Ranked #131 of 563 Restaurants in Bath
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Kids, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: The Mahal of Exquisite Indian Cuisine with the cities most impressive Georgian interior and triple domed high ceiling. Here at The Eastern Eye we are humbled and elated to have received multiple Restaurant of the Year Awards in 2011, along with a whole host of other accolades and positive reviews from popular magazines, newspapers and awards bodies. We specialize in wholesome traditional Indian food, with a touch of imagination and creative flair. We use some of the finest ingredients and pay immense attention to ensuring flavours are not only grounded in Indian culinary heritage, but also now and again break the mould with flavour combinations that are both unique and exceptionally delicious.
Bath, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Busy Restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Excellent food, efficient service but rather rushed on a Saturday evening. Maybe best to visit midweek.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Keith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    411
    230
    104
    71
    79
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Still great after all these years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Not been since sept 1 2001 (I remember this as it was after the famous 5-1 England drubbing of our Teutonic cousins). But it is still great. Went on Saturday with the good lady for a belated Valentines. The table wasnt quite ready, but all stops were pulled out to make it so and we only had to wait about 5 mins - and the popadums were free as a way to make up for it. The venue itself is impresive due to it being an old bank building. The staff courteous and super efficient, and the food lovely. A realy great selection including plenty of house specials. Wont leave it so long to go back next time. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank The_Fragster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“RIP OFF!!!....They should change the name to 'We saw you coming'”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

We were in Bath for a stag weekend and happened upon this place. We were only a party of 9 and not unruly. We each had 1 beer, a main with rice, poppadoms and a few naan to share. The food was distinctly average tasting but didnt agree with me. The real shock came at the end when we got the bill.....nearly £320!!! They charged us £27 for poppadoms!? Daylight robbery, when we complained we were met with a shrug. AVOID THIS PLACE!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank phillof76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2013

Had the most wonderful food here. When we first got to the resturant we nearly turned back as from outside it does not look very grand. However climb those stairs and you are in for a feast. The waiters are very attentive but not over the top.
The food was beautifully presented and delicous.
Well worth a visit if you are in Bath.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LONDONANNE13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birkenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Forgettable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2013 via mobile

I ate here in 2006 and remember being rather underwhelmed by the food and the service being rather unfriendly. My girlfriend and I went there one night in January when we had a craving for a curry. Again the food was ok but nothing special. The service was friendly this time at least so on the whole a better experience! How all the awards that are on display were won I have no idea. It seems I'm due another visit in 2020...

Helpful?
Thank Inspector_Monkfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Eastern Eye also viewed

 

Been to The Eastern Eye? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing