We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food and friendly staff”

Sally Lunn's Historic Eating House & Museum
Ranked #64 of 574 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $24
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Sally Lunn's - The oldest house in Bath
hollywood uk
Level Contributor
71 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Decent food and friendly staff”
Reviewed February 8, 2013

Visited early evening on 6th Feb as we were tempted by the £12.50 for 2 courses offer. Leek & potato soup, followed by ratatouille / lamb were very much appreciated. Soup was delicious and mains served with a selection of seasonal vegetables were equally enjoyed. Both courses were served with half a Sally Lunn bun (very light) and a glass of wine was enjoyed by me but substituted for a pot of tea by my wife. Staff were very friendly and obliging. We returned the following day to purchase a famous Bun to take home with us.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank johnboyHollywoodUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,023 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,269
    979
    445
    204
    126
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
54 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“A treat at a Bath institution”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Treat yourself to a quintessential British dining experience. It's a very charming place. I ordered the Trencher Steak. The flavor was incredible. My mouth waters to think of it now. The staff was friendly and efficient. If you go, expect tight seating and small rooms... but that's part of the charm in an old place like this, so don't moan about it.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kc2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Sirloin steak a bit disapointing. Pate tooooo cold”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

For an almost 16 £ steak, it was small and hard even med rare and the pate was not cold but frozen. The service was good. and the chicken delicious

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank camifolle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We ate here on Saturday night after reading pretty good reviews but were to be disappointed. Firstly we were sat next to two doors adjacent to the kitchen which proved very draughty although we later moved to another table when one became available. I ordered the salmon which came on a slice of bread(customary for Betty's) with undercooked new potatoes, carrot batons which were pretty tasteless and broccoli. My husband ordered vodka and lemonaid only to be told they didn't have any. I had the cheese board to follow which was ok although I prefer my cheese at room temperature, perhaps I am being too fussy. It's a shame it didn't live up to expectations but I suppose they have a captive audience being the oldest house in Bath.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Gill101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Buns in Bath”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My friends and I decided to spend a weekend in Bath. We have just finished our city sightseeing bus tour so we have a couple of time to spare for a cuppa. Luckily, they managed to squeeze the five of us in during their busiest time of the day. Their service is quick and the food and tea served came just in time. The buns were freshly baked, just enough crispiness on the outside while soft and warm on the inside. I enjoyed my afternoon tea with their most famous bun. I would definitely recommend trying their afternoon teas... Oh and sorry I forgot to say that it is also the oldest house built in Bath.

Helpful?
Thank acmusiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sally Lunn's Historic Eating House & Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sally Lunn's Historic Eating House & Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing