We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Tasty”

Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: A Serial Award winning Restaurant with International reputation.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely Tasty”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

Lovely meal and very filling.
Staff friendly and attended as needed.
Food was flavoursome just so many dishes to choose from

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank aussIesport68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    249
    136
    76
    56
    72
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed August 17, 2014

It's an odd set up. First, you walk down two flights of stairs to a small underground bar area where you are greeted by the staff. We were seated in the bar for 10 minutes along with the other customers and presented with menus. Then we were taken to a table in a narrow, windowless room. The decor is a little dated. But that said, the food was fantastic. We have eaten at Indian restaurants up and down the east coast of the US and in London and this was possibly the best Indian meal we'd ever had. It's not inexpensive -- but not over-priced either. The service was attentive.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 12TPH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good food, nice decor, poor initial service”
Reviewed August 13, 2014

For all its accolades, posted about the walls, Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant failed to make a good first impression. Upon our entering, the staff we met were surly to the point of being rude. We almost got up and left as we were made to feel wholly unwelcome.

After a while, however, another member of staff turned up and he was charming and polite and helpful and the rest of our experience there was very enjoyable. The food was as good as any we have had in a UK Indian restaurant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank tomspencer78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“No longer anything special”
Reviewed August 10, 2014 via mobile

I have visited the Rajpoot consistently over 12 years. The food and the environment used to be fantastic. I have been back on a few occasions hoping that the food would equal the standards I have come to expect.

Unfortunately the Rajpoot fails to deliver on all counts. Dishes that used to be sensational lack the taste, spice and delicate flavours that they used to exhibit. The hotter dishes aren't as hot as they used to be either and lack the beautiful taste that made the Rajpoot special.

The restaurant also used to have real atmosphere, dimly lit, table candles and a real sense of class.

The interior is now shabby, the lights are brighter and the sense of occasion has been lost. For an average of £25 per person including one soft drink, and side dish I can only suggest that patrons look for other Indian restaurants.

I long for the day when I can return to the Rajpoot and enjoy another 10 years of fantastic food. But this is far from the case at present.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Oliver1867
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nasirali789, Manager at Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant, responded to this review, September 11, 2014
We take note of your comments and as a valued customer over the last 12 years. Nothing has changed in Rajpoot, as you know we have lots of different dining areas with different types of lighting and ambience. You should have requested a room that would suit your particular needs. Being a loyal customer you should have informed the management of your disappointment rather than damaging reputation of your favourite restaurant through trip advisor and informing the wide world. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tipperary
Level Contributor
242 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“Awesome food”
Reviewed August 9, 2014

Best Indian food I have eaten. The staff were very nice. The service was somewhat slow however. I will definitely return. Good value for money. I would highly recommend.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank iggyTipperary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rajpoot Tandoori Indian Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing