We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stairs may be a challenge!”
Review of Avon Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Avon Guest House
Ranked #64 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stairs may be a challenge!”
Reviewed September 26, 2011

Excellent location (literally a 10 minute walk to the center of town) and much quieter than you'd expect being so close to a busy road. Julie's mum did a great job getting us settled in and making sure we had a place to park our car. She also put together an excellent breakfast.
The place isn't fancy and is quite expensive for what you get, at least when compared to what we encountered in Ireland. However, there seem to be very few reasonably-priced last minute B & B options available in that part of England.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArizonanKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    26
    6
    2
    5
See reviews for
17
49
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Northamptonshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

A few photos show mould on the lamp! But ignore this as in truth this is a lovely Place with a helpful and friendly owner. The location is a lovely stroll (5-10mims max) from the wonderful centre of bath, the rooms were really clean and tidy, and the breakfasts were lovely with a great choice, really excellent. We would reccomend and will stay again! Thank you!!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wgoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yateley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
626 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2011

We arrived early but Julie gave us our room key and parking permit so we could have a preliminary look around Bath while our room was made ready. The Avon is in a quiet location yet only 5 minutes level walk from from the city centre and all attractions. Bath is well worth a visit. Our room was absolutely superb, we could not fault it in any way. Breakfast was plentiful and excellently cooked. The Avon was spotlessly clean throughout and of good quality furnishings. Service was discreet, friendly, helpful and with a relaxed attitude. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Avon. We intend to visit Bath again and will endeavour to stay at the Avon, even if it means adjusting our dates a little. Many thanks to Julie, the proprietor.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bparkercars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We stayed at Avon Guest House the same time as you who wrote a bad thing and actually you asked too much of Julie Expecting her to check the ingredients in something you should have told her before about it when you booked up also it is not very fair on Julie she was on her own on the day you went back how would you like it if you were by yourself and how to get all the food ready for everyone and someone kept on talking to you also you did not have the Breakfast which she made for you and you could have phoned her up 1 hour before to say sorry that you could not have the breakfast you were asking too much of her. People do not have time to talk to you when they are on there own it is a real cheek of you expecting that.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank baby095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2011

We stayed one night at the Avon guest house during July 2011. Julie, the proprietor, seemingly nice at first, became overly aggressive with guests (which we observed) including ourselves. The beds were uncomfortable (you could feel springs) and all the carpets looked as though they needed a good thorough cleaning. Breakfast was a disaster and came late. During breakfast Julie would whip in and out of the dinning area without considering if her guests had finished speaking. Her personal style was overly familiar and lacked attentiveness or a gentle touch. I cannot recommend this hotel as such.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewerextrodinaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 18, 2011

We stayed at the Avon for two nights, and have nothing but praise for Julie Tavener and her family. The rooms were clean and well appointed, and the breakfasts were excellent!
Many Thanks and well done.
Richard & Helen Polley, and Zoya Zaiceva

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oldgit1943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FROME
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2011

Recently I needed to stay in Bath with my teenage son for a one night.Having stayed at the Avon Guest House before I had no reasons not to stay again.The booking was handled promptly by the owner Julie and upon arrival we were given a warm welcome,she rembered us from before,a nice touch !
The room at the top of the house "Room 1" was clean,tidy and comfortable,the only thing missing was free Wi Fi but Julie was keen to tell my son that this was work in progress.
After a late night we entered the dining room late for breakfast but nothing was too much trouble and the full english breakfast was excellent,even my son enjoyed it.We paid £77 for a double room with parking and we felt this representated great vale for money.We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JJOllie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#72 of 154 in Bath
129 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#44 of 154 in Bath
236 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#41 of 154 in Bath
276 reviews
1.9 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#50 of 154 in Bath
107 reviews
0.7 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#17 of 154 in Bath
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avon Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avon Guest House

Property: Avon Guest House
Address: 1 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Avon Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Avon Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avon Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing