We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed.”
Review of Weston Lawn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Weston Lawn
Ranked #73 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Cheshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little disappointed.”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After viewing it's website we had higher expectations then what you actually get. The Wisteria room we stayed in is a reasonable size and was ok but the old sink is cracked and could do with being replaced along with the 70s style louvered doors on the wardrobes. This room has no on-suite facilities which is actually stated on the website but if you have to use the toilet or bathroom in the night you must first try to avoid the creaking floorboards near the sink and then its a bit of a wonder down the hall. The shower was only warm at best and not very powerful. The bed was large and comfortable and we had a quiet night. The website also stated that WIFI is available but we weren't able to get it in our room. At breakfast the toast and croissant we got seemed a bit stale. To sum up we came away feeling that it was expensive for what you get.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steadyrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamClose, Owner at Weston Lawn, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
We are not sure who this guest was, but clearly they stayed with us. Unfortunately they did not mention to us the problems getting Wifi which puzzles us, as we now have 2 networks which gives reception in all guest rooms. There are neighbouring networks as well, so if the guests could not detect these networks either, the problem would have been with their device. As it is, we don't know. The toast and croissant had been freshly prepared but perhaps the croissants had not been heated in the AGA long enough to give them a crispy outside. Again, as the guests did not mention this to us at the time we cannot be certain. Regarding the hot water being warm, perhaps there was a temporary heavy demand on the system. When guests leave we always ask if there were any problems as positive criticism at the time helps us to improve. We are sorry they were disappointed but hope they may come and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    24
    15
    9
    5
See reviews for
30
45
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, England, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 27, 2013

We arrived late on Friday afternoon and were immediately made welcome by Fiona and William. My son was getting married at the Roman Baths that evening. My husband and I had the Garden Room which was ideal as it is on the ground floor and my husband has limited mobility. My daughter and her family were in the annexe at the top of the garden and they said it was ideal for a family of four. My grandson and his wife were in Thomas's Room and they were very comfortable. The breakfast room was lovely and it was great to have everyone sat at the large table rather than spread out at individual tables. We were there till Sunday and all agreed it was a great place to stay and would use it again and recommend it to friends and family.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamClose, Owner at Weston Lawn, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Your family stayed in most of our rooms and I am so glad they all suited you. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed here last weekend and thoroughly enjoyed it. I liked the thoughtful touches such as a Roberts Radio in the room, Duck Down duvet and extra quilt, interesting pictures on the walls and quirky touches throughout. I also enjoyed all the guests eating breakfast round one big table; we met some interesting people from all round the UK, America and Australia. The information provided in the guest folder was extremely helpful and it is only a maximum 25 minute walk into Bath! Not only that it is a very interesting walk and on the flat. Finally, what better way to visit Bath than to stay in a real Georgian house - it seemed appropriate.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4Belinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed for two night stay in this lovely B&B. Very well located for Bath centre, only a 25 min walk. Excellent breakfast. Lovely room. Very nice owners. Home grown plums from the garden were delicious.
Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynnsreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oadby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We were warmly welcomed by William and Fiona on our arrival and shown to our lovely room which was extremely comfortable and very relaxing. We stayed in Thomas Room which had a lovely large en suite. Breakfasts were excellent, both the full English and the Continental. The breakfast room was very inviting and guests from all over the UK and other parts of the world enjoyed their breakfasts together at Weston Lawn. Would definitely go back to Weston Lawn and would recommend it to friends and family. It was my partner's birthday and there was a lovely arrangement of flowers in the bedroom - thank you Weston Lawn for making it a special weekend and for all the informative brochures and details in the bedroom.

Room Tip: As above, the Thomas Room is comfortable and the en suite very roomy. Lovely and quiet location and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debbie and Grah... D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013

We stayed here recently, and from the moment we stepped in the door, we felt unwelcome. The hosts manner was cold and, for lack of a better word, mean. We felt like our entire presence was an inconvenience! Chastised for being "late" to breakfast - I have never before had to give a specific time for eating at a bnb. We were sorry to keep the box of cereal waiting. That, and a stale croissant and slice of bread made up the meal. The room itself was comfortable and clean. The shower had very low pressure, and was lukewarm at best. The staircase was quite narrow, and I was relieved when the hostess offered to take the bag via the larger back stair case. However, upon doing so I was left to manage the bag on my own - the hostess was more concerned with watching me struggle and ensuring I didn't brush against her walls!! This bnb is not good value for money, especially considering the poor level of service and unwelcoming feel.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Adri8919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamClose, Owner at Weston Lawn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
These two young ladies arrived at 20.30, having originally said they would be with us at 17.00, although to be fair they did email us to say they would be late. They paid £70 for a single night in our smaller double room which has an en suite shower. We upgraded them on arrival for free into one of our larger double en suites with both bath and shower. The normal price would have been £95.
On their arrival, my wife, some thirty years older than the guests, showed them the way up to their room via our wide and shallow staircase as their suitcases were very large. My wife asked them to make sure they brought their cases down this staircase in the morning or ask us to help them, for safety reasons and to prevent damage. Rather than via the steeper and narrower staircase which guests usually use. In the morning they chose to take the cases down the steep staircase by themselves. We were somewhat concerned and said so. Perhaps we should have said nothing.
They asked for breakfast at 7.30 the next day as they wanted to get off promptly to see Bath. I was ready for them at 7.30, but they came into the dining room at 8.00. Since I had timed my early morning to serve them breakfast at 7.30 I did feel I could point this out to them. They didn't like that. The breakfast available to them was Orange Juice, Fresh Fruit, Fruit Compot, Yoghurt, a choice of 5 cereals, toast, croissant and tea or coffee.
The shower is electric with more than one pressure and temperature settings. We have subsequently checked it and it operates fine. Showers can be confusing and we are sorry that these guests had trouble with it.
As usual, we asked the guests on departure if everything was OK to which they said yes. No mention was made of their disappointment with either the shower, toast or croissant. There was little we could have done of course as they were with us for only the one night but at least we would have had the chance to respond directly. We are very sorry that they did not enjoy their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
1 review
Reviewed September 28, 2013

We enjoyed two weeks in the Cottage at Weston Lawn with our one and half year old daughter. The cottage lies next to the main building, in a lovely, flourishing garden. This gave us the privilege of a "garden of ones own", and we had many of our afternoon meals outside. The cosy cottage is perfect for a couple and suited us nicely with a child as well. Every morning we were served a delicious breakfast with fresh fruits from the garden. The owners, William and Fiona, are extremely friendly, and their unique hospitality made our fortnight in beautiful Somerset a time to remember.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansOslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WilliamClose, Owner at Weston Lawn, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
We were very pleased to have had the opportunity to get to know your family and so glad that the Cottage suited you well. All the best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.2 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#5 of 34 in Bath
905 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
1,149 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#50 of 154 in Bath
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 154 in Bath
906 reviews
3.9 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 2 in Monkton Combe
558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Weston Lawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Weston Lawn

Property: Weston Lawn
Address: Weston Lawn Lucklands Road | Weston, Bath BA1 4AY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Weston Lawn 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Weston Lawn is a Georgian family house, set in its own grounds, within walking distance of the centre of Bath, near the Royal United hospital. We are in a quiet part of the village of Weston, 1+1/2 miles from the Roman Baths in the middle of Bath. You may leave your car off the road, on our drive, beside the house. We offer Single, Double, Twin and Family accommodation. All our rooms are either en suite or have a private bathroom. They are equipped with Tea & Coffee making facilities, Colour TV with DVD, Radio, Alarm Clock & Hair Dryer. Internet Access is available in the house. A substantial continental breakfast is included in the room rate, full cooked English breakfast is extra. The local pub at the bottom of our road serves evening meals. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and LateRooms so you can book your Weston Lawn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing