We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long weekend stay”
Review of Leighton Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leighton Townhouse
Ranked #6 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We stayed at 139 last weekend & I thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our stay at this B&B, we felt very welcomed straight away by David & Annie. The room was perfect, just what we needed for our weekend stay. The breakfast was also amazing & the staff at the hotel couldn't do enough for us.

Would recommend this to anyone staying at Bath & will definitely be back.

Angela

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank angiekill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,648)
There are newer reviews for Leighton Townhouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,056 - 1,062 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2013

We were welcomed in as soon as we arrived and given lots of information about Bath. The rooms were very clean and comfortable although ours was a little small but it was next door to our two daughters so was perfectly located.
The breakfasts are lovely - so much choice and so much food - all cooked quickly and served efficiently. All the staff are friendly and helpful.
I would definitely recommend for a stay as it is just a 10 minute walk into town.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H4Holidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

We stayed at 139 for two nights to enjoy Bath after a recommendation - we weren't disappointed. On Friday we did the Thermae Spa - 139 organised a bag for each of us with Robes, Towels, Molton Brown and bottled water - a great way to start our visit. Our room, the Superior Deluxe, was just that.....a good size with a four poster, jacuzzi bath and immaculate. Breakfast was spot on to help start the day. The staff were more than helpful - nothing was too much trouble. If you're planning to stay in Bath then we'd say stay at 139!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Myself and my wife would like to re-iterate the excellent reviews so far on trip advisor a really truly excellent location. Of particular note the DVD library was a lovely touch as once you are back at base that's it for night unless you want to pay taxi fares.

Little tip at times less is more - on occasions it did feel a little rigid and formal and one felt uneasy walking in the grounds of the B&B or vacinity.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Katie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2013

I booked 139 for my partner's 50th birthday and we were not disappointed. We arrived early and received a very warm welcome, our room was ready and we were offered tea/coffee in the beautiful lounge. James and Eliza were very helpful, friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Our room no. 1 was lovely and the breakfast each morning was very good, especially the special of the day. I usually book larger hotels for a weekend away but having stayed at 139 I would in future rather stay in a smaller more intimate place as the service was much more personal. Overall a lovely weekend in Bath and would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephanie t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

This was our third visit to 139 to celebrate our anniversary and we were not disappointed. Each visit we had stayed in a different room, and for this visit we had the room 6 at the top of the house with a four poster bed and a skipper bath. The room was slightly smaller than the others we had stayed in, however it was well laid out with an excellent attention to detail. As others have mentioned the device is impeccable, several times we phoned down, which was never an issue. As a return guest we were also treated to to a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine. Finally, the breakfast options are amazing! Cereals, fruit, full English etc are all available, however my favourite has to be the smoked salmon with scrambles eggs, simply delicious! Overall I would thoroughly recommend 139, yes there are cheaper options out there, and indeed more expensive, but if you are looking for somewhere to feel relaxed and special you won't beat this :)

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shortlandpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I was dubious about so many 'excellent' reviews. You never know how real they are.

However, from the moment we stepped through the door, the service was unbelieveable. It was like we were the first customers ever to have graced the place.
It really is a 5 star B&B and many hoteliers could learn valuable lessons from these guys as to how to keep the rooms so clean and spotless, and how to deal with their customers. The breakfast is phenonmenal (especially when its brought to the room, free of charge).
Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and I would rather pay a few quid more for that kind of experience than moaning about a poor holiday for the rest of my life!

Its a 10 min walk down the hill to the centre of Bath, which might be a little difficult on the way back up for the elderly etc but you can always get a taxi.

Whilst we were there, the 'No Vacancies' sign was ever present. Not surprised!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 5. Lovely large hydrobath, big screen TV and a four poster bed
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MIGHTY_TIGER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 157 in Bath
975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighton Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighton Townhouse

Address: 139 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $146 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Leighton Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourselves at Leighton Townhouse. We are just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, in a peaceful 140-year old Victorian villa, set in lovely gardens, with great views away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and offering complimentary on-site car parking. Formerly known as One Three Nine, we have recently refurbished and refreshed all our bedrooms and guest areas to provide 10 individually designed and beautifully decorated guest rooms, all of which have air conditioning, as well as beautiful bathrooms with underfloor heating, power showers and many with spa baths. Leighton Townhouse has been fully restyled to reflect the age and character of the property. Using a harmonious palate of soft neutrals and flashes of brighter accent colours, our Townhouse has a warm, relaxing ambiance with each room completely unique in character. By blending our signature style of classical French chic with contemporary modern elements, we are able to offer our guests an extremely comfortable stay and a truly bespoke experience' Take in the sights of our remarkable city, have a lingering lunch, soak in the bubbling hot waters at the Thermae Bath Spa, book an evening show at the beautiful Bath Theatre Royal. Dine out, hit the shops or just lounge like a local - our townhouse has everything you will need for a perfect stay. The views are amazing and the possibilities are endless. Leighton Townhouse offers all the 'mod cons' you would expect from a luxury B&B Townhouse as well as beautiful, comfortable décor. Our guiding principle is to offer exceptional personal service and accommodation to make our guests feel they are 'home from home' but with a bit of 'wow' factor to make their stay in Bath one to remember. We believe that there are a few prerequisites that a luxury B&B townhouse must have - relaxing décor, very comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms, fresh, crisp, quality linens, fluffy towels, robes & slippers, welcoming and comfortable guest areas, fresh flowers, good lighting as well as a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice and Bucks Fizz to kick start your day. Whether you just want a few romantic days away 'a deux', a break on the way to the South West, or a 'girlie' get away, Leighton Townhouse will tick all the right boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Leighton Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
139 Bath
One Three Nine Bath Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing