We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Boutique B&B in Bath”
Review of Leighton Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leighton Townhouse
Ranked #6 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2013 via mobile

A lovely boutique B&B within 10 minutes walk of the centre (and I walk slowly!). Interiors are gorgeous, the service was fantastic and breakfast was yummy. The attention to detail makes this B&B special: at check in you are given any help you need for planning activities/restaurants etc.... DVD players are included in each room and a DVD library available to all in the reception area, full sized Molton Brown products in the bathroom - so many little things. Room was spotless, beds so comfy you don't want to get up and a rain shower in the stone bathroom.
Will be back as soon as we can.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexjane_115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,678)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,105 - 1,111 of 1,679 reviews

Reviewed February 7, 2013

I can't say enough good things about One Three Nine! Every member of the staff is impeccably friendly and professional. The room was simply wonderful - large, clean, comfortable, furnished beautifully. The travertine tile bath was wonderful, too. Breakfasts were delicious in a lovely dining room with great service. This B&B is a 15 minute walk from town. If you're travelling with luggage on foot, strongly consider taking a taxi to the B&B, because it's a rigorous uphill walk. Try to find time to visit Alexandra Park, a 15 minute walk further up the hill, to take advantage of gorgeous views of Bath. I also highly recommend the Mayoral walking tour.

Room Tip: I stayed in the King room near the front door. Great room. You can hear guests above you, but not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kc2200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This had to be one of our best hotel/B&B experiences ever! The room was big, beautiful, and clean, and the breakfast was delicious and served quickly. The real star, though, was the staff-- they were very attentive, kind, and helpful, helping us feel at home in their establishment and giving us tips for exploring Bath. They remembered our names, why we were in town, and what we were doing for our whole trip, and were happy to call a taxi for us when we needed one.

Even though the location is a little far outside town (about a mile walk), I wouldn't even think about staying anywhere else the next time I'm in Bath. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeremy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We stayed for two nights in the superior room it was fantastic! The room was spotless and had all the amenities you could ask for (including luxurious molton Brown toiletries). The staff were great and were there to help at all times. Breakfast was lovely and there was a huge range of cooked and cold breakfast options served with a smile from their cheerful staff. Would stay again for sure :-)
Keep up the good work!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stefanitely1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Great B & B. good location with a short walk to town, yes there is a slight but we thought it was fine. Although check-in is meant to be at 2.00 pm we arrived early and were in just after 1200 after a refreshing tea whilst we waited. We were over heard discussing the lovely shortbread brought with tea, my friend has a wheat and gluten allergy so could not try them, and the owners asked if she wanted gluten free bread etc for the next day, very thoughtful indeed. The breakfast selection was wide and delicious, my friend and myself travel a lot with work and know from experience what a disappoint breakfast in hotels and B &B's can be. Nothing to complain about here, best we'd both had for awhile!

Our room was lovely, everything very spick and span! We stayed in one night and watched a DVD, taken from the wide selection downstairs.

Staff were more then happy to offer tips of places to eat, walks around town ect. All an all we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and both said that we'd stay there again. I've already mentioned One Three Nine to all work my colleagues and friends as an excellent options should they fancy a weekend in Bath! I really do think it is great value for money!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nessie202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

My friend and I stayed here for a weekend recently. We were greeted with a very warm welcome on arrival. Our room was incredibly clean, warm and stylish. Lovely cosy bedding, plenty pillows, comfy beds, plenty storage. The en suite was great too with Molton Brown products and best of all - heated floor tiles.
We were given lots of advice on what was what in town.
Breakfast was very tasty and once again the staff couldn't have done enough for us.
We decided to have breakfast in bed on the Sunday which felt like a real treat. Particularly because we ordered Bucks Fizz - just because it was on the menu!
Staff were happy to hold our bags after check out and on returning to collect them, we were offered tea/coffee and they called a taxi for us to get back to the train station.
I would definitely come and stay here again.
Thanks for a great weekend.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kelly T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Our second visit here, and 139 lived upto the same high standard as the first time.

We lived in Bath for many years, so know the area well and wanted somewhere within walking distance of the city centre, but away from it. 139 hits the spot perfectly. 10 mins down the hill and under the railway and you're at the bottom of town.

The room was spotless, with plenty of thick towels. A warm, genuine, greeting from our host with the offer of tea in the lounge on arrival. The shower is like standing under a hot waterfall - I hate weedy showers!!!

Good choice of breakfasts, with some 'todays specials' to add variety to the normal fry-up Even a bottle of chilled cava if you need a morning pick-me-up.

The staff couldn't have been more helpful, and even offered to transport the luggage down to the station, for those who want to spend the morning looking around Bath without being weighed down with cases.

You will struggle to find somewhere else as good as 139

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 156 in Bath
1,012 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise House B&B
Paradise House B&B
#4 of 156 in Bath
1,884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
1.7 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 156 in Bath
251 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 156 in Bath
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighton Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighton Townhouse

Address: 139 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $135 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Leighton Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourselves at Leighton Townhouse. We are just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, in a peaceful 140-year old Victorian villa, set in lovely gardens, with great views away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and offering complimentary on-site car parking. Formerly known as One Three Nine, we have recently refurbished and refreshed all our bedrooms and guest areas to provide 10 individually designed and beautifully decorated guest rooms, all of which have air conditioning, as well as beautiful bathrooms with underfloor heating, power showers and many with spa baths. Leighton Townhouse has been fully restyled to reflect the age and character of the property. Using a harmonious palate of soft neutrals and flashes of brighter accent colours, our Townhouse has a warm, relaxing ambiance with each room completely unique in character. By blending our signature style of classical French chic with contemporary modern elements, we are able to offer our guests an extremely comfortable stay and a truly bespoke experience' Take in the sights of our remarkable city, have a lingering lunch, soak in the bubbling hot waters at the Thermae Bath Spa, book an evening show at the beautiful Bath Theatre Royal. Dine out, hit the shops or just lounge like a local - our townhouse has everything you will need for a perfect stay. The views are amazing and the possibilities are endless. Leighton Townhouse offers all the 'mod cons' you would expect from a luxury B&B Townhouse as well as beautiful, comfortable décor. Our guiding principle is to offer exceptional personal service and accommodation to make our guests feel they are 'home from home' but with a bit of 'wow' factor to make their stay in Bath one to remember. We believe that there are a few prerequisites that a luxury B&B townhouse must have - relaxing décor, very comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms, fresh, crisp, quality linens, fluffy towels, robes & slippers, welcoming and comfortable guest areas, fresh flowers, good lighting as well as a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice and Bucks Fizz to kick start your day. Whether you just want a few romantic days away 'a deux', a break on the way to the South West, or a 'girlie' get away, Leighton Townhouse will tick all the right boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Leighton Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
139 Bath
One Three Nine Bath Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing