We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”
Review of Leighton Townhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Leighton Townhouse
Ranked #5 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent B&B”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

we spent a night in 139 on our way to cornwall and have to say it was really enjoyable.
We were greeted at the entrance by the owner, there is a parking outside, the staff was very friendly and told us how to get to the centre of the city ( only 10 min walk) and recommended some places to see as well as restaurant where we could eat.
the room was very comfy, impeccable, molton brown products in the bathroom, nice touch !
Lovely breakfast in the morning, I would definitely recommend this place and it will be my first choice if we are back to Bath in the future !

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogarth49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,605 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,512
    79
    9
    5
    0
See reviews for
147
1,093
22
28
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West London
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had No. 7 a very pleasant and large room on the ground floor. Extremely quiet and peaceful.
A high standard breakfast with lots of choice. Mike and his staff do an excellent job. Only one minor criticism - there should be a grab handle on the bathroom wall as getting out of the bath/shower was a little precarious

Room Tip: No 7 as already mentioned
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caniscorpus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We loved staying here. On arrival staff were extremely friendly and professional and gave us a quick overview of Bath, which was appreciated. Room was up some narrow stairs but very tastefully decorated and recently renovated. Manager/host was very friendly and helpful. You can order breakfast in bed - boiled eggs, champagne, bacon, toasted bagel. Everything was excellent and we would definitely stay there again.

Bath city centre was a short walk away (about 10 mins). However, the location was convenient as we had a car and could park (for free) at the B&B.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sebachu_sebachu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilsyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

Loved this hotel. Beautiful Decor. Friendly and efficient staff. Clean. Excellent breakfast. Good location that is easy to walk to all of bath as long as you don't mind the hill on the way up. Would 100% Recommend. Only thing I would say is get an upstairs room, because we had the four poster room on the ground floor and could hear everyone go past and they could no doubt hear us, so felt like I had to keep t.v down. Only other problem was as if our bed had 2 mattresses on it.

Room Tip: Choose room upstairs. Worth getting four poster room with Jacuzzi bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waheyitsme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
339 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2012

We were a late booking and got the last room being the smallest queen room at the front of the house. At first we were concerned that the traffic noise would be a problem but not at all - the triple glazing fixed that no problem!
The breakfast was wonderful, freshly cooked and with plenty of yummy choices. I had champagne both mornings with my smoked salmon and scrambled eggs!
We would certainly recommend this bnb.

Room Tip: Get in earlier if you nt a larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozzie5melbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2012

10 mins walk from City (15 mins back up the hill)
friendly welcoming attentive helpful staff
spotless and well furnished public areas
spotless and well equipped and furnished rooms
excellent breakfast, prepared to order

Room Tip: Speak to the owners. Road noise at the front might bother some folk. The website room photos are a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank johnfaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Lovely room and an extremely good breakfast. The stylish decor made the place feel like a cut above. The staff were really helpful. The short (less then 10 minutes) walk into town, down a fairly grungy street was the only negative.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,240 reviews
0.9 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 154 in Bath
927 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#4 of 154 in Bath
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leighton Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leighton Townhouse

Property: Leighton Townhouse
Address: 139 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AL, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Leighton Townhouse 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spoil yourselves at Leighton Townhouse. We are just a 10 minute walk from the city centre, in a peaceful 140-year old Victorian villa, set in lovely gardens, with great views away from the hustle and bustle of the city centre and offering complimentary on-site car parking. Formerly known as One Three Nine, we have recently refurbished and refreshed all our bedrooms and guest areas to provide 10 individually designed and beautifully decorated guest rooms, all of which have air conditioning, as well as beautiful bathrooms with underfloor heating, power showers and many with spa baths. Leighton Townhouse has been fully restyled to reflect the age and character of the property. Using a harmonious palate of soft neutrals and flashes of brighter accent colours, our Townhouse has a warm, relaxing ambiance with each room completely unique in character. By blending our signature style of classical French chic with contemporary modern elements, we are able to offer our guests an extremely comfortable stay and a truly bespoke experience' Take in the sights of our remarkable city, have a lingering lunch, soak in the bubbling hot waters at the Thermae Bath Spa, book an evening show at the beautiful Bath Theatre Royal. Dine out, hit the shops or just lounge like a local - our townhouse has everything you will need for a perfect stay. The views are amazing and the possibilities are endless. Leighton Townhouse offers all the 'mod cons' you would expect from a luxury B&B Townhouse as well as beautiful, comfortable décor. Our guiding principle is to offer exceptional personal service and accommodation to make our guests feel they are 'home from home' but with a bit of 'wow' factor to make their stay in Bath one to remember. We believe that there are a few prerequisites that a luxury B&B townhouse must have - relaxing décor, very comfortable beds, immaculate bathrooms, fresh, crisp, quality linens, fluffy towels, robes & slippers, welcoming and comfortable guest areas, fresh flowers, good lighting as well as a hearty breakfast with plenty of choice and Bucks Fizz to kick start your day. Whether you just want a few romantic days away 'a deux', a break on the way to the South West, or a 'girlie' get away, Leighton Townhouse will tick all the right boxes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Leighton Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Three Nine Bath Hotel Bath
139 Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing