We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely late Georgian house overlooking Bath with the old world feel of an exotic tropical hotel”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Hollies
Ranked #34 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely late Georgian house overlooking Bath with the old world feel of an exotic tropical hotel”
Reviewed February 1, 2010

David, Joe and Amber welcomed us to their lovely home last weekend. Beautifully furnished and equipped with library, curios and travel mementos, we felt instantly at home. Our quiet room overlooked a pretty garden and neighbouring chapel and a sound night's sleep was ensured by top quality bath towels and bedclothes plus sumptious curtains and blackout blinds. A large model Queen Anne house presided over the impeccable breakfast table.. and don't leave without a jar of home made jam!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GiovannaMartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    416
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
307
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2010

We have just spent the weekend in David and Joe's lovely house. We stayed in the Indian room, which looks out over the church, and across the valley. It has a small but perfectly satisfactory ensuite shower and toilet, while the washbasin is in the room itself. Everything was immaculately clean, and the linen on the (enormous and very comfortable) bed was spotlessly white and beautifully laundered, as were the fluffy towels. The breakfast (served in an elegant dining room on crisp linen with silver tableware) was excellent, as was the coffee.
David and Joe are delightful and fascinating hosts, with an extraordinary collection of books and objects. I could quite happily have spent the entire weekend in their library! I would, without hesitation, recommend The Hollies to anyone planning a visit to Bath, and very much hope to be able to stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ellenv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2010

The Hollies is a beautiful home, the attention to detail is flawless, the breakfast are sumptuous, David and Joe are great hosts and the location was perfect. We couldn't have asked for more . . . other than to take Amber, the resident cat home with us! Thank you David and Joe for a wonderful weekend.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GraceMonroe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

This was beyond a doubt one of the most superb B & Bs we stayed in while touring the UK and Irish Republic. The room was extremely comfortable and included the smallest of details to make our stay very pleasureable. Our hosts were very helpful and took great pleasure in ensuring that our stay in Bath was memorable. The breakfasts were wonderful. Do not miss the opportunity to stay at the Hollies if you are ever in Bath.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soontoberetiredagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2009

A birthday treat for my Mum and Dad; a Christmas trip to Bath. We had a really relaxing and great stay. Mum and Dad stayed in the "English room" which had its own bath room with bath adjoining it. We had the "Chinese room" with very small shower room attatched ; perfectly adequate. The rooms are smallish but nicely and interestingly furnished. The beds very comfortable; slept like a log. Mum noted some traffic noise but was not apparant to us. Fluffy bath robes and hair drier provided. A separate room the library we used alot for pre going out drinks and a night cap. This was a great room. Fantastic breakfast! It is rather like being a guest in a private home than staying in a b and b. The hosts were bothe really lovely and very attentive. We always like to get to know people and they were willing to chat and were very helpful indeed. My other half although in the UK for over 25 years now is originally from malaysia and was made Congee for breakfast one morning which was a real treat: its not easy to make and they must have gone out of there way to do so; Thanks! All very special. A bit of a hike in to town ; going is ok as its down hill coming back a bit steep so we got a cab from the station . Had a great meal out at the Olive Tree one night. A really special and different place to stay with charming hosts. many thanks indeed.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed December 13, 2009

We stayed for a weekend in May. The rooms were really nice - quirky with lots of interesting decor. The breakfasts were fantastic (they even provided gluten free bread for us) and the hosts were friendly and helpful. I'd stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gripolymills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douai France
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2009

Four of us, two couples, coming from France. We came to Bath for a short trip. Frankly, on november the 13th and the 14th, the weather was awful, one of the worse british weather. We understood why British people say that they walk IN the rain, while we, in France, walk UNDER the rain. But we had booked in this nice and charming place called the Hollies. A beautiful house, comfortable and warm. We had two quiet rooms and we really enjoyed staying there with Amber, the beautiful lady cat, and the two guys that she choosed to live with her under her roof.
Two nice guys who gave us a warm welcome and a good breakfast. And also good adresses of nice restaurants. Bath is a wonderful city. Roman baths Museum is an amazing place. Back to France, we long to return to Bath and to stay longer... but, next time will be in Summer !

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rogerflo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
0.0 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#35 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#38 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.5 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: The Hollies Hatfield Road, Bath BA2 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing