We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay and great character”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #25 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We stayed here for our anniversary weekend and it was perfect. The owners were very friendly, chatty and highly quirky, with some great stories! It's been a while since we've been so well looked after.

It was close enough that we could easily walk in to Bath city centre. Make sure you go for the awesome breakfasts and homemade marmelades.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ivan_Lourie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

135 - 141 of 500 reviews

Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have just returned from a lovely overnight stay - such a shame it wasn't longer. From the moment we arrived, my daughter and I felt 'special' as we were treated to perfect hospitality for the duration of our stay. We had a delicious breakfast with lovely home-made preserves. I will have to return as I forgot to purchase a jar of marmalade to take home! David and Joe are perfect hosts, ably helped by Amber, the cat!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TypicalMum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed at the Hollies for 2 nights.
Lovely place! We stayed in the Chinese room.
Nice homely touch to the room, and the whole B&B. However the room was a bit small and I would say slightly overpriced ! The breakfast was just OK.
They have a most fascinating library there with plenty of priceless books and collections!
You could spend a whole day in the library!
David & Joe were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2013

Welcoming and gracious hosts in a wonderful full of character property.
Rooms spotlessly clean and well appointed. Breakfast was superb with home made jams and served with the finest silver.
The library was well worth a little time out in from the hustle and bustle of the christmas market.
Overall recommended. A great little find

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulM12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

What a wonderful find, everything you could want and more in a beautiful city. Very clean and cosy, David and Joe are the perfect hosts, a very delicious breakfast was had and that wonderful home made marmalade. Perfectly located just a short walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We really enjoyed our weekend stay at The Hollies. David and Joe were very friendly and welcoming, the room (we stayed in the English Room) was cosy and immaculate and the breakfast was absolutely delicious. The little welcome pack with information about the B&B, Bath and local transport was very well put together and useful.
We would definately recommend The Hollies for anyone looking for a great place to stay in Bath and we would love to return next year.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DietCokeNoIce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

We have today returned from a weekend stay at the Hollies. David and Joe are very welcoming, friendly and informative. We stayed in the Indian room which is a twin room and a quiet room. Everywhere was spotless I have never seen bedding, table cloths ad serviettes so white and pristine. There is a library which you can use its a magnificent room one to spend time in. The breakfasts are lovely, cereals, yogurts freshly cooked English and toast. The tableware is beautiful they have some gorgeous things. Joe makes all the different marmalade and jams and they are very tasty couldn't come away without buying a couple of jars. It's a unique place and a lovely place to stay. Bath is a lovely old town and The Hollies is so fitting for the area. Last but not least I cannot submit this review without mentioning beautiful Amber the cat, she just goes with the whole homely, friendly experience. If we visit Bath again we will definitely stay at The Hollies its so reasonable and only 15minutes walk to town and local buses run regularly.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.1 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#18 of 155 in Bath
1,107 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#17 of 155 in Bath
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#34 of 155 in Bath
245 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bodhi House
Bodhi House
#47 of 155 in Bath
229 reviews
0.2 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#27 of 155 in Bath
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: The Hollies Hatfield Road, Bath BA2 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $150 - $160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing