We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“perfectly peaceful” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #35 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
melton mowbray
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfectly peaceful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2008

This is an idyllic place to stay, safe, peaceful, friendly. The rooms in the house are full of character, very comfortable and beautifully clean and well presented. Nothing has been forgotten even real milk in your room for your tea. The breakfast is very tasty cooked exactly as you like it.

David and Joe (and Amber the cat) make you feel very welcome and we will certainly be back if we visit bath again.

We agree that this is by far the best bed and breakfast we have ever stayed in.

  • Liked — it was beautiful and comfortable and really welcoming
  • Disliked — noisy shower (but nit picking) as it was amazing place to stay
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank littlejowalters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    53
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
304
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2008

Our stay at the Hollies was everything I'd hoped, based on previous reviews. I booked the weekend as a surprise for my partner and we weren't disappointed. The rooms are beautifully decorated, David and Jo are wonderful hosts- very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was huge and delicious, with lots of choice, not the standard B&B fare of 'get what you're given'. Overall, we enjoyed our stay and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mslise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2008

The Hollies is a cosy B&B based in a Georgian townhouse, lovingly restored by the current owners/retired hoteliers David & Joe. The rooms are decorated to a high standard and the service is friendly but unobtrusive. The breakfast is served in a grand dining room overlooking a pretty garden. The other resident, Amber the Bengal cat, can be seen sunbathing by the window while you're tucking into your toast! If you have the time, chat to the owners about how they came by the Hollies and see why it is a popular choice in Bath - I would recommend it.

  • Liked — Decor, service, good breakfast
  • Disliked — Damaged shower rail needs fixing!
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank SummersintheCity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2008

Staying at The Hollies was so GREAT that when I return to Bath it will be planned around accomodation being available at The Hollies.

Stayed April 2008
Helpful?
Thank glenstrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2008

We have recently returned from a 3 night stay at the Hollies and like many others who have posted reviews, can only compliment David and Jo on their beautiful and interesting house, wonderful breakfasts and the warmth of their hospitality. We stayed in the English room and at first were unsure about booking it due to the lack of en suite bathroom. However, anyone considering staying in this room should not be put off by this, as there was a lovely bathroom for our exclusive use just across the corridor. The Hollies is listed as a B&B, but it has a real sense of being a "home" too, which makes it a very relaxing and enjoyable place to stay. Amber the cat is exquisite and certainly has David and Jo wrapped around her little paw! We'll definitely be back to stay again and will recommend it to our friends and family.

  • Liked — The beautiful house/warmth of owners hospitality
  • Disliked — Slightly too distant from centre of Bath, but buses run frequently / taxi back up hill is inexpensive
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank anvil2308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The West Country
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2008

We stayed for 2 nights to see the sites of Bath and to have a relaxing break. We certainly found this at the Hollies, David and Jo make you feel very welcome, the rooms are full of character. We stayed in the Indian room with lots of cultural pieces from the country; art, books and toy soldiers. It was truly wonderful.

The breakfasts are superb, the best scrambled egg ever tasted, with amazing veggie options of stir fry with brandy and cream! and homemade marmalades.

We definitely recommend this place to anyone wanting a relaxing time and a bit of character!

The only down point was the weather, it rained all weekend!

  • Liked — Full of character, lovely hosts, fantastic breakfasts
  • Disliked — The Weather
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbayley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SL9
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2008

We only stayed one night, but it was like a mini holiday! A fascinating house with marvellous atmosphere and congenial hosts. It was like stepping back into the past, with today's advantages of the most comfortable bed you could possibly want, and a breakfast table laid with silver and cut glass. The best scrambled eggs ever and after exploring the Indian Room (with regiments of toy soldiers) The English room (with antique hats and gloves on display) and the Chinese room where we slept, we spent some time in the library that was full of the most interesting books imaginable. Can't wait to go back. Well done David and Joey.

  • Liked — The house which was a mini stately home and a pleasant walk to centre of Bath
  • Disliked — Nothing - everything was 100% excellent
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ChalfontExporer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#9 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#36 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#38 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: The Hollies Hatfield Road, Bath BA2 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing