We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BATH TIME EXPERIENCE”
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #26 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 26, 2012

We had a wonderful time with David, Jo and Amber the cat. We stayed three nights in the English Room which was very cosy and had a very comfortable bed. The adjacent bathroom was large and luxurious with a huge bath to soak in after a long day of walking.

Easy walk into Bath, with a convenience store just down the road. The Hollies is located across the road from "The Devonshire Arms" which was good for a drink and a home cooked pub meal.

The Breakfast Room was beautifully furnished and the table was set with silver service. Jo's breakfasts were delicious and his home made jams were delightful.

Tripadvisor certainly proved right again. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DownunderSusie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (505)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

206 - 212 of 505 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is not your common or garden B&B. David and Jo have created a delightfully eccentric home. We stayed in the twin-bedded Indian room, with very comfortable beds and crisp linen. Although it is only a few yards from a busy main road it is very quiet at night. The breakfast was excellent -- served at a communal table which enables all the guests to mingle. It is a little way out of the city centre, a 20-minute walk downhill. There is a frequent bus service for the uphill return journey. Bath itself is a tremendous venue for a short break.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johncharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Hollies is a suberb little haven not far from the busy city centre of Bath. David and Jo were very graceful hosts and I only wish we had been staying for a few more days. We stayed for one night in the Chinese room tastefully adorned with items to give a chinese flavour. The bed was extremly comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. The Hollies offered everything you would expect but with little extras like Barley Sugar in a jar by the bed, a chat with Amber the beautiful cat (yes she will converse with you, in her own language of course) and the feeling of being welcomed into a real home by David and Jo :-). Breakfast was extremely civilised and well cooked and we even bought some delicious 'Hollies' made marmalade to bring home. We will definitely stay again and do not hesitate recommending you try it too.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in the Chinese Room for the weekend - it's the main picture on the review page - but the picture doesn't do it justice.

It's a beautiful room, tastefully furnished, but also extremely calming and comfortable with a lovely view of the beautiful garden.

The Hollies is full of character, from the fascinating library to the pedigree puss Amber, who was very friendly.

David and Joe are great hosts, and gave us some helpful advice about getting around Bath.

The Hollies is a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bath, but it is a lovely route. Be warned it is uphill on the way back, but even after a big meal we managed to make it!

It was a privilege to spend just a short time in what feels like a home.

We would definitely return if in Bath again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Devolutionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I recently had a lovely stay in Bath and are very thankful to Joe and David for welcoming us into their home. The Hollies was like no other B&B we stayed at - every room, every wall was ladden with fasinating pictures and memorabilia which was capped off by the beautiful Amber the cat. While the bathroom in the Chinese room was quite small the room had such character and charm . David and Joe put on an amazing silver service English breakfast in the elegant dinning room and they were extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to go in Bath. The downhill walk into Bath took about 15 minutes and the local pubs were also good for a casual relaxed meal.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My mum and I stayed at the Hollies in March 2012 for a long weekend, and absolutely loved it. As Germans, we look for that wonderful British mixture of eccentricity and comfort, and we got it in spadefuls. The Indian Room was full of memorabilia, as was the whole house. We loved the crammed library of classics and surprises, the pictures and past invites on the wall, the dollhouse in the breakfast room, and the garden with its many pots and the church windows. David and Jo made us feel very welcome and were so polite and helpful. I'd definitely recommend the Hollies to my friends.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnaLovesCrumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from a lovely 4 day break in Bath staying at The Hollies.

David and Jo we're wonderful hosts, friendly and obliging, and always happy to provide handy tips on things to do and places to visit in Bath and the surrounding areas. Breakfasts were generous, freshly cooked and very tasty, with homemade jams, a selection of cereals and varied choices. My partner is a vegetarian, and Jo offered several choices each day, including a lovely tomato dish with fresh basil, smoked sea salt, garlic and ginger, which I am told was delicious!

The house itself is lovely and full of character, much better than your average B&B. A comfortable bed, well-equipped room, and access to a generous library filled with loads of books topped off an excellent stay. Even the house cat (I'm allergic and not usually fond of them) was nice, and very well trained, and there were no hairs to be found anywhere.

The B&B is a good distance from the town centre (about 20 minutes walk), but be aware of the hill, which was challenging on the way back after a full day of activities and a meal out!

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barnabarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.4 mi away
Chestnuts House
Chestnuts House
#5 of 157 in Bath
953 reviews
2.1 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 157 in Bath
253 reviews
1.9 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#16 of 157 in Bath
984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Oldfields House
Oldfields House
#27 of 157 in Bath
1,357 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Address: The Hollies Hatfield Road, Bath BA2 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $154 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing