We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightfully eccentric” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Hollies

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Hollies
Ranked #34 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxfordshire
Level Contributor
51 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Delightfully eccentric”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is not your common or garden B&B. David and Jo have created a delightfully eccentric home. We stayed in the twin-bedded Indian room, with very comfortable beds and crisp linen. Although it is only a few yards from a busy main road it is very quiet at night. The breakfast was excellent -- served at a communal table which enables all the guests to mingle. It is a little way out of the city centre, a 20-minute walk downhill. There is a frequent bus service for the uphill return journey. Bath itself is a tremendous venue for a short break.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank johncharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

468 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    412
    52
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
303
14
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Drayton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

The Hollies is a suberb little haven not far from the busy city centre of Bath. David and Jo were very graceful hosts and I only wish we had been staying for a few more days. We stayed for one night in the Chinese room tastefully adorned with items to give a chinese flavour. The bed was extremly comfortable and everything was spotlessly clean. The Hollies offered everything you would expect but with little extras like Barley Sugar in a jar by the bed, a chat with Amber the beautiful cat (yes she will converse with you, in her own language of course) and the feeling of being welcomed into a real home by David and Jo :-). Breakfast was extremely civilised and well cooked and we even bought some delicious 'Hollies' made marmalade to bring home. We will definitely stay again and do not hesitate recommending you try it too.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed in the Chinese Room for the weekend - it's the main picture on the review page - but the picture doesn't do it justice.

It's a beautiful room, tastefully furnished, but also extremely calming and comfortable with a lovely view of the beautiful garden.

The Hollies is full of character, from the fascinating library to the pedigree puss Amber, who was very friendly.

David and Joe are great hosts, and gave us some helpful advice about getting around Bath.

The Hollies is a 15-minute walk from the centre of Bath, but it is a lovely route. Be warned it is uphill on the way back, but even after a big meal we managed to make it!

It was a privilege to spend just a short time in what feels like a home.

We would definitely return if in Bath again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Devolutionboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2012

My friend and I recently had a lovely stay in Bath and are very thankful to Joe and David for welcoming us into their home. The Hollies was like no other B&B we stayed at - every room, every wall was ladden with fasinating pictures and memorabilia which was capped off by the beautiful Amber the cat. While the bathroom in the Chinese room was quite small the room had such character and charm . David and Joe put on an amazing silver service English breakfast in the elegant dinning room and they were extremely friendly and helpful with suggestions about where to go in Bath. The downhill walk into Bath took about 15 minutes and the local pubs were also good for a casual relaxed meal.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

My mum and I stayed at the Hollies in March 2012 for a long weekend, and absolutely loved it. As Germans, we look for that wonderful British mixture of eccentricity and comfort, and we got it in spadefuls. The Indian Room was full of memorabilia, as was the whole house. We loved the crammed library of classics and surprises, the pictures and past invites on the wall, the dollhouse in the breakfast room, and the garden with its many pots and the church windows. David and Jo made us feel very welcome and were so polite and helpful. I'd definitely recommend the Hollies to my friends.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaLovesCrumpets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Just returned from a lovely 4 day break in Bath staying at The Hollies.

David and Jo we're wonderful hosts, friendly and obliging, and always happy to provide handy tips on things to do and places to visit in Bath and the surrounding areas. Breakfasts were generous, freshly cooked and very tasty, with homemade jams, a selection of cereals and varied choices. My partner is a vegetarian, and Jo offered several choices each day, including a lovely tomato dish with fresh basil, smoked sea salt, garlic and ginger, which I am told was delicious!

The house itself is lovely and full of character, much better than your average B&B. A comfortable bed, well-equipped room, and access to a generous library filled with loads of books topped off an excellent stay. Even the house cat (I'm allergic and not usually fond of them) was nice, and very well trained, and there were no hairs to be found anywhere.

The B&B is a good distance from the town centre (about 20 minutes walk), but be aware of the hill, which was challenging on the way back after a full day of activities and a meal out!

Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barnabarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2012

A wonderful weekend to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. We had the best of weekends ever and our stay at The Hollies was like home from home. A very interesting house with Jo and David at the helm making our stay perfect. A lovely warm welcome, good food and so near to the centre takes about 20 minutes to walk down and the bus back. Will definately stay again and would recommend The Hollies to everyone who visits this beautiful city. Thank you Jo and David.

Room Tip: Go just to meet Amber the unusual cat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hilary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 777 reviews
0.1 mi away
Devonshire House
Devonshire House
#37 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#41 of 192 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 482 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#10 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Hollies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies

Property: The Hollies
Address: The Hollies Hatfield Road, Bath BA2 2BD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Hollies 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A pretty early-Victorian house about 15 minutes walk from Bath centre. We have three rooms full of antiques and character, all with en-suite or private bathrooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Hollies reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Hollies Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing