We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long Weekend”
Review of Milton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milton House
Ranked #29 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Worthing
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Long Weekend”
Reviewed July 6, 2012

My daughter and I had a weekend break at Milton House. The owners were very helpful, friendly and efficient. The whole place was spotlessly clean, breakfast was really good with a wide choice, the room was a good size, with comfortable beds and a modern shower room. It is one of the best B&Bs I have ever been to in this country. In fact, Bath was altogether the friendliest and most pleasant place, even in the pouring rain. Everyone, from bus drivers to shopkeepers and the very wet boatmen on the river were smiling and obviously proud of their lovely city. I can't recommend Milton House and the city of Bath more highly. A really wonderful time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WorthingBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    77
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
205
22
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
virginia
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Of all the places we stayed in England, this was my favorite. Sue & Geoff are wonderful hosts and make great breakfasts. They are very willing to give suggestions for travel arrangements and told us about a walk with a great view of the city. The room is extremely comfortable and clean. I would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amg14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

A lovely B&B in an old Victorian house. Sue & Geoff were very welcoming and most helpful. It is located within easy walking distance of the centre of the city. The room was comfortable and generously stocked with tea and coffee.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lyntonjen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2012

We have just returned from a weekend in Bath stopping at Milton House and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We stayed in room 1. The room had everything we needed and more, it was clean, had tea and coffee, fresh towels, hair dryer and fan for the hot nights. Breakfasts were nice and plenty of choice. What was nicest about Milton House was Judith, she was really friendly & helpful, on our arrival she gave us all the local information you could need including a helpful map and bus numbers and locations. It was in a good location and only a short walk into the town centre. Brilliant stay and would defiantly return. Many thanks for an enjoyable stay, Mark and Emma

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark1980fedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Judith is a gem. My wife and I stayed in May and we are very satisfied. Judith, in particular, was very welcoming, helpful, informative and responsive. She also got up very early to make us an excellent breakfast so we could make an early departing tour. The room was very clean, organized, and comfortable. We had no problem with the narrow bathroom. Book early because Bath can be hard to get accommodations in.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

The rooms were great, very spacious, clean and comfortable. We were on the road side, but had no trouble sleeping with the minimal traffic overnight.
Breakfast was good with plenty of choice. Ordered the night before for a time of your choice, so very prompt service in the morning.
The walk down into the centre of Bath is somewhat steep, but still relatively easy. Would certainly recommend a taxi back, we took the bus but this was 2.35 each for no more than 5 minutes journey..
Parking is un-restricted on the roadside outside milton house, though was quite busy. We arrived quite early and got the space right outside the door.
Overall a good stay here and would stay here again if in Bath.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Crisp47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 9, 2012

Stayed at Milton House in early April 2012. Sue and Geoff were very welcoming (despite the fact that we arrived before check in time) and gave us somewhere safe to leave our suitcases while we went into town. The room was warm, comfortable and clean. The en-suite was spotless. Our room was at the front of the hotel but we did not experience any road noise through the night. Great location, easy walking distance to the town centre and bus stops close by if you don't fancy the walk back up the hill on the way back (I have to say this didn't pose a problem for us, we walked in both directions). The breakfast was generous, tasty and really set us up for the day. Sue and Geoff are very knowledgeable about the local area, its attractions and eateries and based on our experiences, their advice is well worth seeking and following.

The only problem we experienced was fixed so quickly wouldn't really be worth mentioning but to highlight the high level of customer service. In the morning when I tried to have a shower, there was a fault with the temperature control, I went to ask Sue about it and was immediately offered an alternative (and equally spotless) place to shower.

All in all a thoroughly enjoyable stay. A big thanks goes to Geoff and Sue who made us feel so at home.

Room Tip: We booked room 2 based on a previous reviewers recommendation - we weren't disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sofly_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#49 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
1.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#16 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
803 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#51 of 157 in Bath
110 reviews
2.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton House

Property: Milton House
Address: 75 Wellsway | Bear Flat, Bath BA2 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Milton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Milton Guest House, a Victorian villa only twelve minutes' walk from the historic centre of Bath. Proprietors Gibson and Blessing Mutandwa offer quality accommodation in well-appointed guest rooms. All rooms are clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms, TV/DVD and radio, hairdryer and tea-making facilities. Free WiFi is also available. There is unrestricted on-street parking outside the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Milton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing