We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“to recommend absolutely”
Review of Milton House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Milton House
Ranked #29 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bad Bevensen, Germany
1 review
“to recommend absolutely”
Reviewed April 6, 2012

I had a wonderful stay at this lovely guest house for 5 days in April, 2012. Sue and Jeff, the landlords, cared for very nice rooms with all comfort, an excellent breakfast, handy tips for Bath and the surrounding area. It takes only about 15 minutes on foot to walk to the city of Bath - ideal for shopping, sightseeing and dropping in restaurants, cafés, pubs.
A. Lange, Germany

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    76
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
55
202
21
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2012

We stayed at Milton house for 2 days. Sue and Geoff were fantastic hosts and allowed us to drop our bags off early afternoon collecting a key for later on so we didn't miss out of an afternoon in Bath and the fantastic weather!

They were very knowledgeable giving tips and also Geoff suggested sights to see on our way home which were fantastic.

The room was brilliant and added touch of selection of items in the bathroom! The information booklet which they put together was very good too including local restaurants and pubs which would avoid the steep walk up later in the evening!!

We thoroughly enjoyed out time and wouldn't hesitate to recommend Milton House to friends and family.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte_Fra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 27, 2012

We stayed at Milton House this weekend and had a fantastic time. Our hosts were very welcoming and helpful, gave us loads of good tips and information, and cooked a great full english!

Thanks for a great stay! Would definately go again!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt_Ryder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2012

We stayed here for a period of 4 nights and had the best time. The B&B is situated about a 10 min walk from the city centre. It is on a hill but as long as you don't walk up it to many times in a day its not too bad. If you don't want to walk up the hill back to the B&B there is a bus service that stops right at the door and it only cost £2 or £6 in a taxi.

The hosts Sue and Geoff were absolutely fantastic. Every morning during breakfast they gave us plenty of suggestions for places to visit and places to eat. Their knowledge about the Bath area was brilliant. The breakfast itself was ordered the night before so that it was ready not long after arriving in the dining room.

The B&B was spotlessly clean and the rooms have everything you need. They also provide free wifi which you can access from your room.

I can not recommend this place more highly and look forward to coming again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turnerc91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2012

This was our third stay and it remains as good as it was on the previous two stays. The whole place is spotlessly clean. The breakfast is cooked to order and very fresh. Nothing is too much trouble, and the hosts are attentive and have good memories for conversations from previous visits. If we are in Bath again then this is where we will stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neil D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We looked around online for a while to pick out a decent b&b in Bath and this was well worth the search. On arrival we were welcomed in a friendly manner and given a map, directions and good advice on how best to get into and around bath. Our room was clean and well made and the breakfast was decent. There was an easy, if a little steep,15 minute walk downhill into Bath and two regular bus services back up to the b&b (unless your feeling fit you can walk back up the hill)

We had the narrow room - so called because the bathroom was narrow but had a good shower and loo. If you are particularly large then i would not go for this room as it could be awkward.

Overall a very good hotel, a good breakfast and a good nights sleep, would definitely recommend.

Room Tip: If you are not small, do not go for the narrow room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyaYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2011

First ever stay in Bath. Stayed at Milton House in Wellsway. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and Geoff. Provided us with maps and direction, good food and clean rooms. Excellent value for money. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bellsd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 157 in Bath
793 reviews
1.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
796 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Edgar Townhouse
The Edgar Townhouse
#40 of 157 in Bath
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
561 reviews
1.6 mi away
Marisha's Guest House
Marisha's Guest House
#52 of 157 in Bath
109 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#47 of 157 in Bath
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Milton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Milton House

Property: Milton House
Address: 75 Wellsway | Bear Flat, Bath BA2 4RU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Milton House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A warm welcome awaits you at Milton Guest House, a Victorian villa only twelve minutes' walk from the historic centre of Bath. Proprietors Gibson and Blessing Mutandwa offer quality accommodation in well-appointed guest rooms. All rooms are clean and comfortable, with en-suite bathrooms, TV/DVD and radio, hairdryer and tea-making facilities. Free WiFi is also available. There is unrestricted on-street parking outside the house. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Milton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Milton House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing