We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and welcoming, great location!”
Review of White Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
White Guest House
Ranked #41 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 4, 2011

Just got back from spending a weekend in Bath. This guest house is ideally located, 10 minutes walk to the city, the station, and the beautiful Field of Light! Steve the owner was very welcoming, helpful and friendly. Lovely cooked breakfast with a choice of fresh fruit salad, cereals and toast with homemade jam or marmalade! Nothing too much trouble! Stayed in a triple room with an en-suite, everything spotlessly clean and even fresh flowers. A generous assortment of hot drinks in the room and even cakes and bicuits! The room was lovely and warm and had everything that you needed. I went with my Mother and 15 year old daughter and we shopped till we dropped and visited the Roman Baths and the Fashion Museum, stopping for tea in the elegant Pump Room Restaurant. Bath is a beautiful City steeped in history, even better at this time of year with the festive lights and the Christmas market in the grounds of the Abbey. Wonderful weekend and a lovely place to stay. Highly recommended and a great value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shar0n1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (128)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

99 - 105 of 128 reviews

Reviewed November 29, 2011

Walm welcome from Steve willing to help and advise. Double ensuite at the front which was quiet. Room comfortable, bedding exceptionally clean-ensuite a little dated but functional. Superb breakfast and a nice touch of a glasss of wine waiting for us when we returned on the first night. Easy 10 min walk to the centre and Xmas market. Permit provided for on street parking so no driving. Would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2011

Warm welcome. Clean warm double room. Good choice breakfast and pleanty. Less than 10min walk into Bath. Stayed November 2011 arrived on the friday to rain but Saturday and Sunday Dry, Warm Sun so visited everthing did the trip down the river aswell. Will need to stay again to do the evening tours that finish in October. Will be booking again for my stay in Bath.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amanda o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

This was our favorite B and B for our first trip to England. Charming room, delicious breakfasts, friendly helpful owner and convenient location for walking all over Bath.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marlene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Stayed for two nights while visiting Bath. If you come by car, the owner will give you a pass to park on the street. We had two rather typical English B&B rooms, one was rather small, the other was average size. The ensuite bathrooms were both very clean, but on the small side. The rooms were clean and quiet and the beds comfortable. I thought the furnishings could use updating, others in our party thought they were fine. Wi-fi is available. The owner is very pleasant and helpful and served a hearty English breakfast each morning to the guests in the dining room. He also was very knowledgeable about the area and had great suggestions for sight-seeing. The location is perfect for visiting the main attractions in Bath as the center of this historic town is only a ten minute walk. You can easily visit all of the sites in this 2000 year old historic town (Roman baths, Abbey, Royal Crescent, Pultney Bridge, etc.) by walking from the White House B&B. (Bath is a UNESCO World Heritage Site.) There are also many restaurants in the downtown area in a wide variety of price ranges as well as many shops. From the White House B&B you can also walk along the canal into town, which was fun. All in all, I would stay here again, primarily for the great location, great English breakfast, and ambiance of a typical English B&B.

Room Tip: Ask for the room in front, as it has a nice garden view and large bay window.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler4545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2011

On the positive side this B&B is in a great location. If you come by car they will give you a permit to park it on the street. It is only a 5 minute walk into Bath and a couple of minutes walk to the canal where you can watch the boats going through the locks. Our room at the front was quiet. The room itself was quite small and had a dusty lampshade and the ensuite was very poky. The owner was away during our stay but the relief manager was very helpful. There was plenty to eat at breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EnergeticSeniors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

We stayed in Noveber time 2010. It's so close to Bath town centre. Owner was lovely. Breakfast was amazing. Only had a small double left so we new it was small but we didn't mind as didn't spend much time in there, was cosy! Warm (as it was snowing). Fantastic value. And clean! Would definately recommend if you're on a budget like we always are, and would stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lisa_honey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,326 reviews
1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
2.1 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 157 in Bath
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#32 of 157 in Bath
1,085 reviews
6.8 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
158 reviews
2.1 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Guest House

Address: 23 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $86 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Guest House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steve and Anna have been welcoming guests to the White Guest House for over 20 years. We are a 7 mins walk to the city and all of Baths famous attractions, close to the tranquil Kennet a Avon canal .All rooms en-suite ground floor rooms available.Great English Vegetarian Continental breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your White Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing