We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Superbly Positioned for Bath University”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Rainbow Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Wood Farm
Ranked #85 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Holyhead
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Superbly Positioned for Bath University”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

Having to visit Bath University, I was delighted to find that Rainbow Wood Farm B & B was literally positioned across the road from the main entrance of the University. The bedroom was extremely comfortable, with everything provided that I needed and tastefully decorated. The owners were most welcoming and accommodating in dealing with my various requests. The farm is also ideally placed for getting into the centre of Bath, either by bus or taxi. Rainbow Wood Farm would certainly be my first choice for accommodation should I visit Bath again.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roseannewales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2014

Had a good weekend here - comfortable room (although the shower (pressure) could do with sorting out) and a delicious breakfast . We took the bus down to the City centre on Saturday as it was busy in town but on Sunday drove down and parked in the large car park by the station. The B&B is just opposite the main gates to the University which is perfect if you are visiting anyone there. Excellent recommendation for dinner and a warm and friendly welcome all round.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dinos4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2014

I have now stayed at Rainbow Wood Farmhouse B&B four times. The rooms are all tastefully decorated and comfortably furnished with Rachel's personal touch. Her attention to detail is wonderful. Should you need anything during your stay nothing is a trouble to her. Very friendly warm and welcoming. Very peaceful. Lovely breakfast with the most gorgeous free range eggs!
I can't recommend Rainbow Wood Highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneWW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

We had a fantastic two night stay at Rainbow Wood Farm B&B. From arriving on Friday night James and Rachel couldn't do more for us and did everything they could to make our break as comfortable as possible.

We couldn't believe how easy it was getting into the city but still so quiet at the farm we could have been miles away from anywhere.

The home produced meat and eggs really were something special and we were very happy we could stock up and take some home.

We couldn't recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 6, 2014

Ideally situated for the university & a walk or short bus ride into the city. Well looked after by the friendly owners. Comfortable room in a character building, very comfortable bed, perfectly adequate bathroom, beautiful breakfast eggs from the farm. And so peaceful, we couldn't hear a sound at night.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RLG27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

Following our rather disappointing first visit, we have stayed again at Rainbow Wood Farm and this time we loved it! Rachel had responded to my comments of early Sept and the room, breakfast and facilities were all excellent.
The farm is a great place to use as a base for exploring Bath by bus (very frequent from the University just down the road), for exploring the lovely countryside around Bradford-on-Avon, Monkton Combe, Limpley Stoke, etc, and for tackling the 6 mile circuit of the Bath Skyline Walk, which goes through some of the farmland. Much easier than trying to park in Bath!
Rachel is working on updating some of the facilities (shower rooms in particular) but the B & B is now definitely somewhere we would recommend.

Room Tip: There are only 2 to choose from, and they're both equally good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ARWEJW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Firstly may I apologise to James and Rachfor the delay in wriing this review.
I stayed here for two nights at the beginning of September. It is beautiful and although the entrance is on a main road you cannot hear anything in the room. The view from my downstairs garden room was beautiful with a stunning garden in the making. Sadly I didn't have time to explore because I was attending a conference at Bath University which is on the opposite side of the main road and the Uni centre is only a 10 minute walk from the farm. I also caught a bus down to Bath centre on my frst night to meet up with colleagues. They run really frequently so you do not need a car for this B & B. There are also many walks in the area for those that enjoy walking. James will show you a map of the farm and walks if you ask. Breakfast was brilliant and as I don't eat meet James piled my plate and doubled up on things.
Being a farmers daughter I fell in love with the farm and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieweatherwax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RachandJames2013, Owner at Rainbow Wood Farm, responded to this review, September 28, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a lovely review.
It was great meeting you and we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us on the farm. We'll look forward to seeing you again some time in the near future.

Thanks and best wishes, Rach and James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,342 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#7 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 878 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Orchard
High Orchard
#62 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
2.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 160 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Wood Farm

Property: Rainbow Wood Farm
Address: Rainbow Wood Farm Claverton Down Road, Bath BA2 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #85 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rainbow Wood Farm Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing