We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“double booking?????”
Review of Rainbow Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Wood Farm
Ranked #91 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My visit to Bath to attend a university reunion could have been marred by the attitude of the owners of Rainbow wood farm. A firm booking made in January, with deposit paid, was cancelled due to the owners double booking the rooms. Luckily the person who made the booking on my behalf checked for confirmation 4 days before and discovered the error otherwise arriving from France in a town i hardly know to find a room would have been a real problem.No help was offered to find alternative accomodation.
On their website is the following phrase " a booking is a contract under English law!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Service
2  Thank maxine d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Rainbow Wood Farm
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 56 reviews

Reviewed May 7, 2013

We booked two rooms in January for a university reunion in May and paid the deposit. 4days before we were due, when I checked, the owner advised that he had double booked and that WE would have to find somewhere else. Impossible to find anything at a reasonable price in a tourist town at such short notice.
I thought booking a National Trust B and B was some guarantee of quality. I was wrong. The owner can obviously make more money out of those who book later than we did. Very,very disappointed.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
2  Thank Maggie4595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Just had a great weekend at Rainbow Wood Farm Bath.
This is a working farm, so be prepared to meet lots of animals around the farm, we were there during lambing and they were hand rearing a 4 day old lamb, lots of Ahhh's
Saying that Rachael runs an excellent B&B, while James runs the farm. So if you want an excellent place to stay with lots of interest, and to be welcomed in the yard by Bob and Pip ( two friendly dogs ) this is the place for you.
Leave your car at the farm as there is a regular bus service from the University just across the road, as parking in Bath is very expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 200Peter200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed there several times, the rooms were lovely and the set up was relaxed and friendly but on one occasion when I needed the room booking most, nobody was there to let myself and my partner into the property, so we had to resort to finding somewhere else in the middle of the night. Not a great experience and an unfortunate change of heart.

Room Tip: It is not run formally so if that is what you prefer, this one won't be for you.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at Rainbow Wood Farm. We were able to leave the car at the farm and bus into Bath sharing the buses with the entire student population of Bath University!. It was a week of floods but our room was warm and comfortable when we returned dripping wet. Maybe the small bathroom needs updating but it did the job.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shapland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the Rainbow Wood Farm two nights with our kids and my wife in the Clock room. Room is situated upstairs in a building apart from the one where proprietors live, overlooking a small courtyard. Our room was furnished with a deck a double and two single beds, a wardrobe and a small flat tv and was large enough for our two huge luggage and enabled us to walk around too. Bath was medium sized with sink, wc, hair-dryer and a shower. There were also coffee and tea facilities and cookies. Breakfast was continental and served in the ground floor room, but also eggs from the farm were cooked in several ways if you liked. Milk, tea, juices, cereals, yogurt, bread, fresh fruit, jams were ready to be eaten. David, the friendly owner, gave us the opportunity to have a tour of the working farm, where kids enjoyed very much to see pigs, cows with calves, sheep, free rage chickens, horses and two lovely dogs played with them every morning: a really nice experience. Both owners were very disposable in every our needs and advises us about Bath places to eat and see. Farm is situated on the premise of the University, in a very quiet place, but you can easily reach by bus from the city centre in less of ten minutes and bus stop is right near the gate of the farm, a pleasant five minutes stroll. If you’ll stay in Bath and you are looking for a cheap accommodation, in a quiet and nice place, in Rainbow Wood Farm you’ll find it.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baldistuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with rainbow wood for two lovely nights, rooms were clean and comfortable with feather pillows. A great experience to stay on a working farm, David the owner was more than welcoming and bent over backwards to help out with our visit. He is a working farmer and will be called away as farming issues arise, however this did not select our stay. Breakfast was the highlight of the morning with great sausages and home grown egg that are to die for. This B&B is a you see what you get, honest staff and lovely surroundings. Strongly recommended !

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dougdoug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#21 of 31 in Bath
185 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,412 reviews
1.7 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
YHA Bath
YHA Bath
#10 of 40 in Bath
288 reviews
1.5 mi away
Beech Cottage B&B
Beech Cottage B&B
#24 of 157 in Bath
227 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Beds at Bath
The Beds at Bath
#156 of 157 in Bath
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Wood Farm

Address: Rainbow Wood Farm Claverton Down Road, Bath BA2 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #91 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rainbow Wood Farm Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing