We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but let down”
Review of Rainbow Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Wood Farm
Ranked #87 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good but let down”
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Having stayed there several times, the rooms were lovely and the set up was relaxed and friendly but on one occasion when I needed the room booking most, nobody was there to let myself and my partner into the property, so we had to resort to finding somewhere else in the middle of the night. Not a great experience and an unfortunate change of heart.

Room Tip: It is not run formally so if that is what you prefer, this one won't be for you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    6
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
24
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

We enjoyed two nights at Rainbow Wood Farm. We were able to leave the car at the farm and bus into Bath sharing the buses with the entire student population of Bath University!. It was a week of floods but our room was warm and comfortable when we returned dripping wet. Maybe the small bathroom needs updating but it did the job.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shapland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

I stayed at the Rainbow Wood Farm two nights with our kids and my wife in the Clock room. Room is situated upstairs in a building apart from the one where proprietors live, overlooking a small courtyard. Our room was furnished with a deck a double and two single beds, a wardrobe and a small flat tv and was large enough for our two huge luggage and enabled us to walk around too. Bath was medium sized with sink, wc, hair-dryer and a shower. There were also coffee and tea facilities and cookies. Breakfast was continental and served in the ground floor room, but also eggs from the farm were cooked in several ways if you liked. Milk, tea, juices, cereals, yogurt, bread, fresh fruit, jams were ready to be eaten. David, the friendly owner, gave us the opportunity to have a tour of the working farm, where kids enjoyed very much to see pigs, cows with calves, sheep, free rage chickens, horses and two lovely dogs played with them every morning: a really nice experience. Both owners were very disposable in every our needs and advises us about Bath places to eat and see. Farm is situated on the premise of the University, in a very quiet place, but you can easily reach by bus from the city centre in less of ten minutes and bus stop is right near the gate of the farm, a pleasant five minutes stroll. If you’ll stay in Bath and you are looking for a cheap accommodation, in a quiet and nice place, in Rainbow Wood Farm you’ll find it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baldistuta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2012 via mobile

Stayed with rainbow wood for two lovely nights, rooms were clean and comfortable with feather pillows. A great experience to stay on a working farm, David the owner was more than welcoming and bent over backwards to help out with our visit. He is a working farmer and will be called away as farming issues arise, however this did not select our stay. Breakfast was the highlight of the morning with great sausages and home grown egg that are to die for. This B&B is a you see what you get, honest staff and lovely surroundings. Strongly recommended !

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dougdoug55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 21, 2012 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying two days with Jim in the Garden room and along with his deep fried sausages for breakfast and helping with some minor fun chores, I would recommend Rainbow Wood Farm to anyone. This is a working farm on the edge of Bath and I would encourage anyone to bring some gin and tonic and ice and you may find yourself picking 201 eggs from the best looking chooks in the UK! Good on you James.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buckingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled over from the UAE for a weekend in Bath and had the pleasure of staying in a stunning, authentic British Farm house only 5 minutes from the centre of Bath. Our room was full of character and the bathroom was clean with piping hot water and white fluffy towels! For breakfast the eggs were collected from the farm that morning and five minutes later they were part of a delicious English fry-up. The owners were helpful and friendly and we will certainly be returning the next time we visit this superb city.

Room Tip: Garden room is cracking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

The property is magically situated, a real farm on the edge of the Bath urban area. Our double bed was good, the towels and bedding clean and dry. The room was not capacious.

The breakfast was fine. And the landlord was hale and cheerful.

But the property needs attention. It looks like a teenagers room.....

On balance, quite expensive for what you get, And what you get is position, position, and mild anarchy. This is a property that has real potential.......

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rball2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.9 mi away
Combe Grove Hotel
Combe Grove Hotel
#22 of 31 in Bath
155 reviews
1.3 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Beds at Bath
The Beds at Bath
#156 of 157 in Bath
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
YHA Bath
YHA Bath
#8 of 40 in Bath
284 reviews
1.2 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
1.1 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#2 of 3 in Monkton Combe
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Wood Farm

Property: Rainbow Wood Farm
Address: Rainbow Wood Farm Claverton Down Road, Bath BA2 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rainbow Wood Farm Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing