We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic British Farm House with Wonderful Owner”
Review of Rainbow Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Wood Farm
Ranked #87 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We travelled over from the UAE for a weekend in Bath and had the pleasure of staying in a stunning, authentic British Farm house only 5 minutes from the centre of Bath. Our room was full of character and the bathroom was clean with piping hot water and white fluffy towels! For breakfast the eggs were collected from the farm that morning and five minutes later they were part of a delicious English fry-up. The owners were helpful and friendly and we will certainly be returning the next time we visit this superb city.

Room Tip: Garden room is cracking!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stroggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

41 - 47 of 56 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2012

The property is magically situated, a real farm on the edge of the Bath urban area. Our double bed was good, the towels and bedding clean and dry. The room was not capacious.

The breakfast was fine. And the landlord was hale and cheerful.

But the property needs attention. It looks like a teenagers room.....

On balance, quite expensive for what you get, And what you get is position, position, and mild anarchy. This is a property that has real potential.......

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rball2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife & I had a lovely 1 night stay in the Garden Room at Rainbow Wood Farm when we visited Bath. David greeted us and gave us a map of Bath with things to see and places to eat marked on. He showed us where to catch the bus into the city which was super easy.

The room was warm and cosy. Just what we were hoping for in a farm house B&B. Nice breakfast cooked to order and we were made to feel very at home

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2011

James and his family have a small piece of Gods garden as their home. We made contact by phone on the day we wanted to arrive. (Very short notice). This farm property provided us with a most pleasent experience of english home style hospitality. As two Aussies far from home we would recomend Rainbow Wood Farm to anyone looking for a pleasent relaxed home style accomodation at a very reasonable price. Well done James.
Ray and Gail

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rayherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife & I have just spent 2 wonderful days at Rainbow wood Farm. We were made to feel completely at home and nothing was too much trouble. We were given full information about bus travel and were recommended to a marvellous pub for a meal on our first night. Our rooms were clean bright and comfortable. We would not hesitate in visiting again.

Room Tip: State your full requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernierog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The experience of staying at a lovely place was spoilt by poor bathroom facilities.

We stayed in the courtyard room which on 1st impressions was lovely and spacious until we went into the bathroom which seemed to let the room down.......The shower was very poor and was so weak that I spent 45 minutes trying to wash my hair!! We also had to wrestle with a shower curtain that was too long and trailed on the floor.

Im not sure if this is all part of the charm of staying on a farm as this was the 1st time I had done this.

The rest of the stay in the room and breakfast was to a satisfactory level.

Location of the farm was on a busy bus route which made it very easy to travel into the city for a bargain £1.30 each.....buses ran until approx 3am as the university grounds are just over the road.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank juedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Lovely old building on national trust land. Unfortunately, the room which we were given has a severe damp problem and the bed was far too damp too sleep in comfortably. We were therefore forced to lay on top of the bed on towels, which resulted in an inability to sleep and a very miserable night as it was too late to go elsewhere. I believe this is a health hazard and that the presence of multiple plug-in air fresheners and the owners' insistence that we switch on an electric blanket on one of the warmest nights of the year suggests that they were aware of the problem before we arrived.

We were surprised and upset that we did not receive an apology of any kind when we informed the owner of the problem and of our intention to leave. Not only that, she was obviously angry with us for not staying another night (which we had booked) and slammed the door in temper.

I have written to the owner to request a refund but have received no reply (they insist on payment upfront- I now see why).

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BertrandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.0 mi away
The Old Malt House
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
157 reviews
1.3 mi away
Waterhouse
Waterhouse
#1 of 3 in Monkton Combe
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
225 reviews
1.9 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
4.9 mi away
The George Inn
The George Inn
#1 of 5 in Norton St Philip
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Wood Farm

Address: Rainbow Wood Farm Claverton Down Road, Bath BA2 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rainbow Wood Farm Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing