We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely farmyard B&B”
Review of Rainbow Wood Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rainbow Wood Farm
Ranked #92 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely farmyard B&B”
Reviewed June 27, 2012

My wife & I had a lovely 1 night stay in the Garden Room at Rainbow Wood Farm when we visited Bath. David greeted us and gave us a map of Bath with things to see and places to eat marked on. He showed us where to catch the bus into the city which was super easy.

The room was warm and cosy. Just what we were hoping for in a farm house B&B. Nice breakfast cooked to order and we were made to feel very at home

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    5
    5
    1
    5
See reviews for
13
23
3
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ryde nsw aust
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2011

James and his family have a small piece of Gods garden as their home. We made contact by phone on the day we wanted to arrive. (Very short notice). This farm property provided us with a most pleasent experience of english home style hospitality. As two Aussies far from home we would recomend Rainbow Wood Farm to anyone looking for a pleasent relaxed home style accomodation at a very reasonable price. Well done James.
Ray and Gail

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayherring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2011

My wife & I have just spent 2 wonderful days at Rainbow wood Farm. We were made to feel completely at home and nothing was too much trouble. We were given full information about bus travel and were recommended to a marvellous pub for a meal on our first night. Our rooms were clean bright and comfortable. We would not hesitate in visiting again.

Room Tip: State your full requirements
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernierog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2010

The experience of staying at a lovely place was spoilt by poor bathroom facilities.

We stayed in the courtyard room which on 1st impressions was lovely and spacious until we went into the bathroom which seemed to let the room down.......The shower was very poor and was so weak that I spent 45 minutes trying to wash my hair!! We also had to wrestle with a shower curtain that was too long and trailed on the floor.

Im not sure if this is all part of the charm of staying on a farm as this was the 1st time I had done this.

The rest of the stay in the room and breakfast was to a satisfactory level.

Location of the farm was on a busy bus route which made it very easy to travel into the city for a bargain £1.30 each.....buses ran until approx 3am as the university grounds are just over the road.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank juedownunder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed June 1, 2010

Lovely old building on national trust land. Unfortunately, the room which we were given has a severe damp problem and the bed was far too damp too sleep in comfortably. We were therefore forced to lay on top of the bed on towels, which resulted in an inability to sleep and a very miserable night as it was too late to go elsewhere. I believe this is a health hazard and that the presence of multiple plug-in air fresheners and the owners' insistence that we switch on an electric blanket on one of the warmest nights of the year suggests that they were aware of the problem before we arrived.

We were surprised and upset that we did not receive an apology of any kind when we informed the owner of the problem and of our intention to leave. Not only that, she was obviously angry with us for not staying another night (which we had booked) and slammed the door in temper.

I have written to the owner to request a refund but have received no reply (they insist on payment upfront- I now see why).

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BertrandLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
1 review
Reviewed January 16, 2010

A lovely place to stay with friendly staff, lovely food, nice relaxing atmosphere in beautiful location.

  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EuphemiaSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Verne, CA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2009

We were referred to Rainbow Wood Farm by a docent at Lacock Abbey. We called and were able to get a room for the following night (2 nights' stay). When we arrived, the owners were not there but we were able to get our key and information on bus service into town. (Riding the bus into Bath was convenient and reasonably priced. It beat driving and finding a parking spot.) The room was beautiful and comfortable for the three of us. Everything was clean and cozy. The breakfast was wonderful, with everything you could want. The owners were helpful with ideas for things to do in town and even helped us find a place to stay in Wales when we left. We were only there two nights and didn't get to spend much time on the farm but the walk up the drive to the road helped us feel like we were far away from everything. (Even though the University was just across the road and Bath was only a short ride down the hill.)

We loved it there and would go back for a longer stay in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank traylee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.6 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
0.9 mi away
Wheelwrights Arms
Wheelwrights Arms
#1 of 1 in Monkton Combe
4.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Tasburgh House
Tasburgh House
#7 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 891 reviews
1.1 mi away
High Orchard
High Orchard
#61 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
2.0 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rainbow Wood Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Wood Farm

Property: Rainbow Wood Farm
Address: Rainbow Wood Farm Claverton Down Road, Bath BA2 7AR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Rainbow Wood Farm Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing