We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice B&B, nice people.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bath House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bath House
Ranked #7 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Nice B&B, nice people.”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I stayed at the Bath House over the weekend when the UK was hit with a massive snow deluge. After a horrific journey to the hotel which meant my partner and i arrived 5hrs later than we were hoping too i arrived at the hotel safe and sound. I kept the Owners informed of my delays and they kindly assured me that it was not an inconvenience to them and that i would be most welcome as and when i arrived. Upon arrival we were met with a complimentary bottle of wine, some refreshments and some biscuits which were most welcome considering the long day i had had. The room was lovely, clean and spacious. The bed was soooo comfortable i nearly fell asleep as soon as i sat down.

Breakfast the next day was perfect and plentiful and exactly what was needed to set us up for a tourist day in Bath.

Overall i had a great stay and would love to stay again. The only negative is the B&B's cancellation policy which i found to be overly restrictive and does not take into account any weather hindrances that you may suffer. at the risk of having a ruined weekend and being £250 out of pocket, i had to travel to the hotel regardless of the road conditions, the option to reschedule would have been extremely welcome in this instance.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4rpy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodstock1964, Owner at The Bath House, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Thanks for your review and your positive comments about our B&B. Thank you, also, for giving us top ratings for: rooms; cleanliness; sleep quality; service and location.
We’re a bit concerned about your comment on our cancellation policy. It’s a pretty standard 3 days, with the option of us trying to re-sell the room if you are within the 3 day period. You were given this option the day before travelling, which was the day before the snow fell, but declined the offer and kept your booking.
In fact one of our other rooms cancelled the morning it snowed and we were able to re-sell their room within a couple of hours, for which they were very grateful.
You told us you had to make the journey from Scotland to Swindon to get home from a business trip anyway on the day of your booking and travelled the length of the country by coach, despite the snow. It was just whether you drove on to us from Swindon (2 junctions along the M4) that was in question. You decide to travel. The 5 hour delay in arriving with us was caused by your journey from Scotland to Swindon. The M4 from Swindon to Bath was clear. For our part, we waited for your later arrival, which was after 11pm, and provided free wine and chocolates to welcome you.
As with all holiday and travel plans, the recommendation is always that guests take out travel insurance. It's never nice having to cancel plans, for whatever reason, but with insurance the guest isn't out of pocket and of course neither is the accommodation provider.
Thank you for staying with us on this occasion. We are glad you had a good time and on the plus side, because Bath was quieter than usual, you were able to get a table at Jamie's Italian!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,632
    124
    13
    2
    1
See reviews for
111
1,335
26
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Our room at The Bath House looked exactly like the photos on the website, spotless presentation, spacious and light. A few minutes walk away from the city centre, convenient parking on site, easy to find and generous breakfast serving. A perfect 30th birthday weekend away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JessNPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stourton Caundle, null, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 2, 2013

We would highly recommend this lovely B&B. The location is ideal and quiet as it's just outside the center of town but walking distance to everything. The room was impeccably clean and beautifully furnished. We were well looked after by Emma and Terence and breakfast was excellent. We will definitely stay here the next time we come to Bath.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Holly_M_13345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

We arrived earlier than we planned and the staff were kind enough to let us leave the car and gave us a map so we could start our sight seeing.
Good location with an easy walk into town, parking is tight though. Bit tricky to find even with the directions if you dont know the area. Room was really well appointed and furnished beautifully. The bathroom as well is a delight.
Breakfast served in your room was a welcome change to the traditional B&B style.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank baby-shmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 26, 2013

My wife and I had a really enjoyable stay at the Bath House. Emma and Terence were very friendly and helpful. The room was excellent, lovely and clean and fresh. The breakfast was delicious! It was very peaceful and only about five minutes walk from the centre of Bath. We would highly recommend this hotel and will certainly visit again when we are in Bath.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mike b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I chose the Bath House B&B for my birthday weekend and would fully recommend staying here. Emma and Terry were very welcoming and the B&B itself was immaculate and spotlessly clean. We couldn't ask for more from our hosts. On our second night, Emma and/or Terry must have realised it was my birhtday from the birthday card my husband had left on the breakfast table. What a lovley surprise it was to return from a day exploring to find a fully decorated room with balloons and banners and a complimentary bottle of wine and chocolates. The gesture went above and beyond our hostss call of duty and would like to say a big thank you to them both. The rooms are well decorated, homely, clean and the location is ideal. Not to far away (about a 5 minute walk from everything), but far enough away to not be on top of any noise. We will certainly be going back. NB: I have never reviewed a hotel, holiday or B&B before, be believe this B&B warranted a 5star recommendation.

Room Tip: woud recommend a room at the back of the house to ensure quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HayleyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 21, 2013

We planned a trip to the gorgeous city of Bath almost last minute but The Bath House came highly recommended (from two couples in the US)! We had the Four-Poster bedroom with breakfast in bed every morning from 2013/01/03 through 2013/01/06… and the only comment that comes to mind is “Wow”! There was nothing out of place or needed to be changed! It is hard to believe this establishment is a B&B! Not only would I revisit but I would/have highly recommend The Bath House!
Not a hint of embellishment needed, note the exclamation marks after each sentence!
Thank you Rob and Adelaide
Edrius

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrius B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 35 in Bath
1,202 reviews
1.2 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
1,335 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
0.5 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 160 in Bath
1,579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House

Property: The Bath House
Address: Upper Bristol Road | Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bath House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B (and serviced apartments) in the heart of Bath, just five minutes level walk to all major attractions including the Crescent, Spa, Abbey and Roman Baths. Stylish AIR-CONDITIONED en-suite B&B rooms with king-size beds, free Wi-Fi, LCD TVs, iPod docks, mini fridges, hairdryers, fluffy towels, information guides and a generous hospitality tray. For extra pampering, breakfast is served in the PRIVACY OF YOUR OWN ROOM. Luxury 1 and 2 bed Apartments also available - ideal for families, couples, small groups or corporate bookings. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Bath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath House Luxury b&b
The Bath House Luxury Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing