We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely accomodation and hospitality”
Review of The Bath House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bath House
Ranked #7 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights at The Bath House.On booking we received details of what to do and places to eat as well as a detailed map. We were delighted by the standard of the room
and the welcome we received.Breakfast was ordered the night before and delivered promptly to our room at the chosen time.The free parking was an added bonus as all the key attractions were within easy walking distance.Would have no hesitation in coming here again!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stewandcarrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,839)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

860 - 866 of 1,839 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2012

A masssive thank you to everybody at The Bath House that made our anniversary stay so very special. I have never stayed anywhere so well thought out. We had everything in our room we could possibly need, from a great selection of drinks, fresh milk, chocolate biscuits, shower gel, conditioner, a great little fridge, flat screen tele and even air conditioning.We were allowed to park our car when we arrived a little early and left our luggage before heading into town. Bath is only about 500 yards away so we were able to get to our restaurant for dinner with no problem, and stroll home too. The location is close to town but we didn't hear any noise so slept like babies. Our room was decorated with a happy anniversary banner and baloons when we arrived which was such a nice touch, very thoughtful. We both loved this place and were very happy. Our 2 nights weren't enough and will be back for some more very soon. Thank you all. Alex and John.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Alexandra P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed here for a weekend in order to attend a wedding. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and tastefully furnished. There was plenty of tea, coffee and iced water available with a jug of fresh milk in the fridge rather than those irritating little pots you normally get.
The staff were friendly and unobtrusive and we were grateful for the free parking space and also the wifi.
The beds were comfortable and despite our room being on the front of the house, facing the road, noise was kept to a minimum by the double glazing. The curtains were lined to ensure a good night's sleep.
The breakfast was good and plentiful with lots of choice and good quality orange juice (always a giveaway if you get watered down concentrate I feel!)
The bathroom was compact- the shower cubicle being a little snug for us more substantial beings- husband said there wasn't enough room for him to bend over if he dropped the soap! On our last morning whilst showering there were a couple of transient episodes of loss of water pressure which left me standing under an icy trickle briefly. It woke me up and no harm done!
Overall, we had a very pleasant stay here- much, much better than many pricey hotels we've been to- and we'd definitely recommend it and have no hesitation in returning.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alfusdumbledog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We spent 2 days in this lovely, cute little B&B. There were so many things about the room we loved e.g the traditional bath, the comfy bed, amazingly fluffy pillows. Not to mention the well stocked hospitality tray and generous breakfast! The staff were helpful with parking and even gave us toaster to use in our room and food to go as we were leaving before breakfast at the crack of dawn on our final day. The carpets were lovely and soft and the little touches like fresh milk and chocolate treats in the fridge were a nice surprise.
The room we stayed in was well kitted out and nicely furnished.
Rob and Adelaide were very sweet and not invasive.
We got everything we wanted from the Bath House and would certainly recommend this to family and friends. We wouldn't bother trying any other B&B if we were to return to Bath for a city break again. A simply wonderful place to stay.
TIP: get Rob or Adelaide to show you how to use the taps in the bath. Put the cold tap on full blast then start turning the hot tap slowly. Be patient. We managed to work it out after realising theres a bit of a delay in the tap adjustment and the water temperature that comes out. But still a good rain shower and an awesome bath to have a nice soak in.

Room Tip: The room facing the front on first floor is not noisy despite it facing the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Missymoooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

This is our second visit and the high standards we found last time have been maintained. Our hosts were friendly and unobtrusive and helped us park for free, which is amazing in the centre of Bath. We were helped to our room with our luggage and found it had been decorated for my wife's birthday. A great surprise.

There was even a bottle of wine in the fridge for us as a welcome back present.

The room was spotless, as last time, the bathroom amazing and breakfast perfectly cooked and at the extact time we asked for it. The location is just about five minutes walk into town which is great for popping back with shopping and walking out to dinner. All in all a great B&B experience.

Room Tip: To be fair, we were at the back of the property on the first visit and the front on this. Both were...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brett T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were very disappointed with Bath House, we found the accommodation to be very cramped and very tired. The spa shower does not work you can either have water from the shower head or from the sides but there isn't enough water pressure for both. The toilet was difficult to flush often needing three tries! Finally a good clean wouldn't go a miss~very disapppopointing for what was a special occasion and definately not our idea of luxury. Finally the live in Manager could do with being more friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Lancslass_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criticaltourists, Owner at The Bath House, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

I have to say we are not surprised you were ‘disappointed’ by our accommodation.
From your reviews of other places you have stayed, you seem to be 'disappointed' everywhere you go. You have headings such as…The Clanfield Tavern: Very disappointing! (July 2012)... The New Inn: Such a shame! (May 2012)... Abingdon: The Chequers: What on earth is all the fuss about? (Feb 2012)... Ross-on-Wye: Orles Barn Hotel: Disappointingly inconsistent (April 2011)... Kingston Bagpuize: Fallowfields Restaurant: Disappointing (May 2010) ...Mevagissey: Portmellon Cove Guest House: Disappoining location (July 2009).

Other than you having difficulty with the flush (you never mentioned it during your stay this weekend) there wasn’t really anything specific in your review that we can respond to.

I do think your definite statement that we are ‘over-rated’ may be somewhat insulting to the 953 customers who have rated us highly (some 99.1% of all reviews). Declaring they are all wrong, and have all over-rated us may sound a bit high-handed to some. I hope, from the amount of effort we put into ensuring our guests have the best possible stay, we continue to have more guests that are happy with their stay, than those like you who are ‘disappointed’.

Regarding our prices, as I’m sure you researched, we are one of the most reasonably priced 4 Star B&Bs in the area and score highly on tripadvisor for value. You had a King-size Four Poster bed, you parked for the weekend for free (5 star hotels in Bath charge for parking), you had full English breakfast, free wifi, mini fridge, full hospitality tray, shower gel/shampoo/conditioner and air conditioning...etc You also had just a 500m walk to Bath centre. There are 5 star hotels in Bath, at two and three times our price...perhaps they might better meet your expectations so you are not ‘disappointed’ in the future (although their customer reviews, actually, are not as consistently good as ours).
For our part, we are 'disappointed' by your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

This is the second time we have stayed here - the location is fab, on site parking a real bonus, the staff cannot do enough to help and the rooms are simply stunning. The Bath House is a real home from home and staff have thought of everything. Wide choice of breakfast options and we loved the privacy of having breakfast in the room. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsRMorecambe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,286 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.4 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#26 of 34 in Bath
2,883 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House

Address: Upper Bristol Road | Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $142 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bath House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B (and serviced apartments) in the heart of Bath, just five minutes level walk to all major attractions including the Crescent, Spa, Abbey and Roman Baths. Stylish AIR-CONDITIONED en-suite B&B rooms with king-size beds, free Wi-Fi, LCD TVs, iPod docks, mini fridges, hairdryers, fluffy towels, information guides and a generous hospitality tray. For extra pampering, breakfast is served in the PRIVACY OF YOUR OWN ROOM. Luxury 1 and 2 bed Apartments also available - ideal for families, couples, small groups or corporate bookings. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath House Luxury Hotel Bath
The Bath House Luxury b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing