We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really worth it!”
Review of The Bath House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bath House
Ranked #7 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2012

Luxury title definitely states you will be getting a luxury stay. Room was not just very well decorated but also cosy. Breakfast was served in the room on time and really rich/good food. Staff was very helpfull and friendly at all times..
If we ever go back to Bath we are more than sure we will be getting back to The Bath House. Extremely recommended.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanibru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,831)
There are newer reviews for The Bath House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

863 - 869 of 1,831 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend to visit Bath. The Bath house is the most amazing guest house, our hosts were wonderful and vey helpful. The room was very clean and modern, loved the fresh milk and biscuits. Breakfast served in our room was delightful, full English was very tasty and plentiful. I would totally recommend this guest house to everyone, it's only a short walk to all the main sightseeing. I would also recommend the free walking tour around Bath, meeting outside the Roman Baths, Make sure you're wearing comfortable footwear .

Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We stayed at the Bath House luxury b&b for our honeymoon and we had a fabulous time.
The staff were very friendly and helpful
The cooked full breakfast was very yummy
Definitely would Recommend the b&b to all my family and friends
We had to stay in the apartment one night due to extending our stay and that was just as wonderful the the b&b
They make you feel like you are at home

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sharonkelly03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Stayed at the Bath House for a couple of nights at the end of September. We have a mid-sized car, and had no problems with parking at the rear of the house (well, my husband didn't). The spaces are quite tight, but parking in the city centre is a real bonus. Our room, at the side of the house, was lovely and - as many others have said - had plenty of touches that sets the Bath House apart. We found a nicely chilled bottle of Pinot Grigio in the small fridge, and I have to say we enjoyed a glass or two before venturing out for dinner.
Speaking of which, the location is great. We've visited Bath on many occasions, and the Bath House is perfectly located for the classic touristy areas and for Southgate if you fancy a walk to the High Street favourites.
The in-room breakfast was served perfectly cooked at just the right time; delicious muesli and just the right amount of everything.
I thought the shower was good, but not the best ever. All in all, I loved the Bath House - we'll be back!

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Amanda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

nice place in walking disance to central location for all attractions of bath.

The greeting wasnt very nice, we rang ahead to say we would be there at 2.30pm as we wernt sure where to park i waited in the car round the back my friend went to the front to try and find someone but the place was locked up. A buzzer connects to a mobile of i presume the person on duty. Whilst waiting i though i would see if i could actually park in what was a very tiny space and i only have a golf. As i parked up a chap came out and said is it "pratt" youd think they could get your name right! I told him my friend was at the front waiting for him and he went off. I was then approached by a blonde older female who in a very abrupt manner said "where have you been"? as i had no idea who she was or whatshe was talking about I said "pardon" she said it again I then realised she was poss something to do with the B and B I said I wasnt sure where we had to park and in a very "down the nose sarcastic look" she looked at the floor and then walked off.
The room was very nice as well as the bathroom it really doesnt need the four poster bed it takes a lot of light out of the room as it only has a small window and is at the back of the hotel.
The staff that we met were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was very nice although a littel cold by the time id eaten my cereal. They could also do with adding an extra comment box at the bottom of the card you fill in for breakfast as not everyone wants all ofthe full breakfast items.
Other than the not so pleasant greeting it was all in all a nice place and central for attractions.

Room Tip: we had room one at the back with four poster bed a little cramped due to the bed and table and chair...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Criticaltourists, Owner at The Bath House, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2012

Thank you for your review. We remember you well! You called to say you would be arriving during the afternoon. We don't need exact arrival times as we allow guests to arrive anytime they like. If we've popped out we can let them in using the intercom system (all fully explained in the booking confirmation). Our guests find this very helpful. You arrived and used the intercom to say there was no parking. Our manager knew there was a spare space so explained that the parking was at the rear of the B&B house. He got a definite 'NO there wasn't' a space so assumed you must be somewhere you shouldn't be and that you needed rescuing (he didn't want you parked somewhere you might get a ticket/clamped). He called us (the owners) and we drove towards the B&B to try and find you. Our manager left his lunch (he had been working from 7am) and ran back from the centre to try and find you. We all arrived at the same time to find you, somewhat surprisingly, parked in our car park, in the space left for you. I asked where you had been (where had you been that had no parking?). You said 'here'...so all that fuss and you were already parked perfectly well, on site, in the FREE space allocated for you. Why you said there was no parking space is a mystery.
As to the size of the parking spot...we fit 4 x 4s and our own VW Caravelle on-site, so I'm surprised a Golf presented such a problem. Luckily we have a large public car park directly behind us, but it's rarely used by our guests as most, like you, prefer the luxury of free parking.
You questioned there being a Four Poster bed in the bedroom you booked. We have Four Poster beds in all our Four Poster rooms. We have the option of non-Four Poster rooms too, but you specifically booked a Four Poster room which is why there was one in your room. Thank you for your suggestion about adding a comments box to the menu. It's probably not necessary though as our menus come with a dry wipe pen, so guests can write on them, allowing them to add changes to breakfast items as required. Of course, our managers live on-site too, so are happy to talk to guests about any specific requirements they may have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Just back from a stay at The Bath House, wow what a great B&B,this is a place that all B&B should aspire to, everything was perfect. Where do I start............Room, it had everything, you think of it and it had it! And so clean, bed, so comfortable, breakfast plentiful and a great location.Ok all this does not come cheap, but at £95 for a double room, but you get what you pay for and will not be disappointed.
Thank you for the most perfect night

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jonSomerset_uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Hubby and I stayed here for one night during our whistle-stop visit back to our home land in June - we both wished we could have stayed longer!

We arrived late morning, before check-in time, but the owners were delivering some supplies and were more than happy to let us leave our car in the car park (free of charge - a big bonus in a tourist city!) whilst we popped into Bath centre before checking in. Not only that, but they rushed inside and brought us out a selection of info sheets and city map and gave us some suggestions on where to go for lunch and what to see and do for the afternoon (their recommended city bus tour was spot on, really informative and a great way to get a snapshot of the city has to offer if you're short of time) . The B&B really is just an easy 10 minute walk to the city centre so ideally placed.

When we did check in our room was all that we had expected from their web page - I was pleasantly surprised to see that it wasn't oversold by reputation. As others have mentioned, the fresh milk and quality chocolate biscuits in the fridge are so welcome to the traveler, as was the jug of chilled water (we were there on one of the rare hot June days!).

The ensuite shower room was high quality, with the best shower unit I have ever experienced in any accommodation - and having the operating instructions fixed to the wall next to the shower rather than just a note in the info pack in the room, was so useful :)

The info pack in the room, put together by the owners, is very comprehensive, with their own personal comments about many of the attractions and eating options around the city - the guide on how far a restaurant is from the B&B was really useful.

Breakfast was ordered using the form in the room which was then placed on the outside door handle. It arrived within 10 minutes of our requested time, and was hot and of a good quality and ample portion size. The freshly squeezed orange juice was a welcome pleasant inclusion.

Just a couple of minor niggles - one of the glasses and a breakfast cup had washed out lipstick marks on, and the sink in the ensuite was cracked. Although neither was enough of an issue to us or our enjoyment of our stay, we mentioned this on our feedback form and were amazed to receive an email later that day from the owners apologising and letting us know what was being done to rectify these 'problems'. Quality service is definitely of prime concern to this business, and we would thoroughly recommend The Bath House to anyone looking for superior accommodation in Bath - would definitely stay there again if we are in the area :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stannors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
7.4 mi away
The House near Bath
The House near Bath
#1 of 1 in Woolverton
220 reviews
0.6 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bath House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bath House

Address: Upper Bristol Road | Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $150 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bath House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique B&B (and serviced apartments) in the heart of Bath, just five minutes level walk to all major attractions including the Crescent, Spa, Abbey and Roman Baths. Stylish AIR-CONDITIONED en-suite B&B rooms with king-size beds, free Wi-Fi, LCD TVs, iPod docks, mini fridges, hairdryers, fluffy towels, information guides and a generous hospitality tray. For extra pampering, breakfast is served in the PRIVACY OF YOUR OWN ROOM. Luxury 1 and 2 bed Apartments also available - ideal for families, couples, small groups or corporate bookings. FREE PARKING. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bath House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bath House Luxury b&b
The Bath House Luxury Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing