We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Converted to the apartment model”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, UK
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Converted to the apartment model”
Reviewed September 20, 2011

The space we had felt like such an indulgence at the price, and the location in the centre of the city was impeccable. Service was always friendly and helpful, and we had a lovely time let down only by the poor mattress on the bed. Still, I'd stay there again in a heartbeat, and will be looking out for other SACO locations in our future city breaks.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the street are prettier, with balconies, but noisier too.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sinplicity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    113
    37
    12
    8
See reviews for
100
239
21
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kingston upon Thames
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

We stayed at SACO in Bath for two nights. The accommodation was very clean and to a high standard. The rooms were well equipped and even included fresh milk/bottled water/tea/coffee/biscuits and some packs of cereal to get us started.
The location was very central and seconds from the shops & the therma spa. We will return. We did not find the accommodation noisey as some have reposted, we stayed on the second floor. Well done SACO!

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Escallonia40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2011

Biggest complaint is that the beds are terrible. I tried 3 rooms and they were all the same quality. About what you would expect from a 1 or 2 star hotel. The rest of the apartment was much nicer than this, but they really need to upgrade the beds before I would stay here again. One other inconvenience is that they do not have WiFi internet access, which is more or less standard these days. They only have a wired connection, which doesn't work for many devices these days.

Room Tip: Ask for a street facing room, with the bedroom off the street. #38 is nice, though I didn't sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crticalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
karensheppard, Manager at SACO Bath - St James Parade, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Hi there
Thank you for posting a review on SACO Bath. We constantly check our apartments to ensure they are kept to the highest standard and therefore, I can only apologise that you felt the mattresses you tried were not comfortable during your stay with us. As a result of your invaluable feedback we are now in the process of testing each and every single mattress at SACO Bath to ensure they are all in excellent condition. We want all our guests to enjoy their stay with us and pride ourselves on very high standards.
We also take your comments on board with regards to the wi-fi. We find the wired broadband option is more stable and reliable providing a better service however with the increasing numbers of guests using Ipads and other similar devices we are aware wi-fi is a necessity for some therefore we are looking into an alternative option.
We appreciate comments and feedback and hope to welcome you back to SACO Bath or another SACO location in the UK in the near future.
Kind regards
Karen Sheppard
Apartment Manager
Saco Bath
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We have stayed here twice now and have been impressed with the quaility of both rooms and the excellent facilities. The staff are friendly and helpful. These apartments provide excellent value for money.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bombaysapphire_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Theses apartments are well equipped and in an idea location for exploring the many attractions in Bath.
We decided to leave the car at home and take the train - arriving at Bath Spa and only a few minutes walk to the apartments.
Very friendly and helpful staff who gave guidance on local attractions.
The apartments are self contained and whilst on a main road, the traffic noise is not really that inconvenient. The rooms are clean and the aprtment fully equipped.
Good value and would recommend these apartments for your stay in Bath.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ML299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

The best thing about SACO is that the apartments (certainly ours) are very well equipped with good quality fittings, appliances and kitchenware. Everything was new, tasteful and worked. The room could have been a little bigger but was not too bad. The central location made walking everywhere easy. The staff were always helpful.
On the down side - there was no air-conditioning. Our room was on the top floor and west facing which made it hot in the afternoon. This is probably not a problem except in July and August.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank snowhite22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

We previously stayed in SACO Bath in April with the family, when there was a problem with the hot water in the apartment. The staff were very attentive and apologetic, giving us the use of a second apartment for the remainder of our weekend stay - which was fine if a little inconvenient. Before we could suggest compensation for our troubles, we were offered a complimentary weekend. We have just returned from that second stay.

Yet again, the staff were friendly and helpful. The apartment was well equipped, clean and comfortable (particularly the bed). The rooms were light, large, well designed and unfussy. Only complaint was that it was a little stuffy and hot at night as the windows would not open very wide. Wifi(free) would be good - you can pay £5 a day for a modem wire (which we couldn't get to work!).

We would definitely use SACO apartments again if Bath is anything to go by and look forward to going back to Bath sometime in the future.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HerefordAnnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.3 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 31 in Bath
1,397 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hilton Bath City
Hilton Bath City
#23 of 31 in Bath
2,803 reviews
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
0.5 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to SACO Bath - St James Parade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about SACO Bath - St James Parade

Property: SACO Bath - St James Parade
Address: 37 St. James's Parade, Bath BA1 1UH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — SACO Bath - St James Parade 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
These beautiful new apartments are perfectly located in the heart of historic Bath close to the Theatre Royal. An entire Georgian terrace has been restored to create a selection of individually designed studios and one and two bedroom apartments. These stylish apartments are furnished with contemporary Italian designer furniture, fully equipped kitchens, spacious living/dining area and bedrooms with king size beds and bathrooms with bath and power shower. Two bedroom apartments have an additional en-suite bathroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Otel, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your SACO Bath - St James Parade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saco Bath Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing