We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hosts, lovely weekend.”
Review of Beech Cottage B&B

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Beech Cottage B&B
Ranked #18 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire, UK
Level Contributor
86 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely hosts, lovely weekend.”
Reviewed April 27, 2014 via mobile

My sister and I stayed at Beech cottage whilst enjoying a relaxing weekend in Bath. Jeff & Jacky were welcoming and very attentive during our stay. Jeff provided us with a local induction and all the info we needed to get the best out of our brief visit to Bath.
We used the buses to get up and down to Bath with the bus stop immediately outside Beech Cottage. Our room was comfortable and clean.
It was lovely meeting other guests at breakfast and comparing notes on Bath.
Thanks Jeff, Jacky and JJ for a lovely stay
Jane & Kath (the naughty sisters!) xx

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank JaneHDerbyshire_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear naughty sisters:-) Thank you for a fab review and score which is so rewarding. We enjoy helping our guests to have a good time in Bath and you two were great company - thank you for coming to Beech Cottage. If I remember correctly you were interested in staying again for the Christmas market? (Nov 27th - Dec 14th) We have had a number of bookings already so don't leave it too long:-) Best wishes J&J&JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    32
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
122
6
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Had a great last minute trip away to bath, not only was this made by the beautiful city but also by the wonderful owners Jeff and Jacqui(not forgetting Alex's friend jj the puppy). Jeff is a wealth of knowledge on the area of Bath and if it was not for his recommendations we would of missed out on some of the more unique spots inc. the musical train tunnel :-) The breakfast laid on by jacqui was delicious, ask to try some of her Jamaican porridge!! Great location to get into the city as the bus was on the doorstep which ran regularly til late at night. Our double room was clean and comfortable, had everything we needed for a relaxing weekend. We would and have recommended Beech Cottage to many of our friends and family and look forward to staying again!!

Alex and Cat x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Catherine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
"Musical train tunnel" hehehe - love it:-)
Thank you Cat and Alex for your fantastic and rewarding review.

JJ (our Bichon Frise) will never be a big dog but he has grown so much since you were here during his early puppyhood. Hope to see you again if you fancy a return to Bath. Kind regards J&J&JJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We hunted high and low on the internet for a B&B in Bath that would be convenient, comfortable and reasonably priced. We eventually found Beech Cottage and we were so pleased that we booked to stay here.

Jeff and Jaqui were fantastic hosts and were very welcoming, not to mention informative. Jeff gave us a fantastic brief of things to do in and around bath during our two night stay. Jaqui was always full of beans in the morning while preparing our hearty breakfasts. Perfect for our busy days!

The rooms were very comfortable and the B&B location was perfect for us. It is walkable into town, which we did a couple of times. The rest of the time we used the bus which was only 10mins to town and was regular and convenient.

We visited Bath during the Christmas market and we found Beech Cottage to be a perfect oasis to return to after busy days exploring, shopping and sampling the local bars and restaurants.

We would definitely return. Thank you guys :)

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shabby84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 14, 2014
Thank you for such a great review:) We are glad you enjoyed your stay so much. The leaves are just popping out on those big beech trees - a woodpecker has been busy all day on the Scotch Pine - the blackbirds are busy raising their family in the laurel hedge - and we look forward to serving breakfasts on the terrace. Please come again soon:) J&J&JJ April 14th 2014 (JJ is our adorable new Bichon puppy)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Our weekend at Beech Cottage was like staying with friends, we will return on our next visit to Bath.
You can expect good hospitality, clean & quaint surroundings, great advise and knowledge on the area, and most of al,l a relaxed stay were your hosts will make you welcome.

Thank you again

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_beardon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 6, 2014
Thank you A&A for such a positive review - it was a real pleasure hosting your visit and we hope you will return soon:) JnJnJJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014

Jeff and Jacqui made us feel really at home. The healthy breakfasts were a great start to our days out, I especially loved the delicious fresh fruit salad, served in the spacious kitchen with aga. The twin room we stayed in was clean and fresh. The location is great to get a quiet nights sleep but it only takes a few minutes to drive to town.
Thanks Jeff and Jacqui, we hope to come back soon.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 92J_and_J92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
"Lovely country feel B&B" - what a great headline!! What more could a Bath B&B owner hope for? Glad you liked our healthy non-meat breakfasts too:) We hope to see you again before too long. JnJnJJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballymena, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 2, 2014 via mobile

Had a wonderful short stay in Bath with Jeff & Jay.
The twin room we had was very comfortable, with provision for tea/coffee and we could help ourselves to milk from the kitchen any time. The provided breakfast was delicious and as a bonus it was healthy!
Jeff was very helpful & gave great advice for how to plan our short stay so we could see as much as possible, get around easily and he also had good suggestions for places to eat!

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jayne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear J, We were so happy to read your review and delighted that you chose Beech Cottage for your stay in Bath. You might like to know that Jacqui and I were married on the 1st of Feb!! Remember to contact us direct to get best rates if you make a return visit:) J and J
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We stayed at Beech Cottage for three nights and had a wonderful relaxing stay in the cottage and Bath as a whole. Our room had a fantastic view over the garden and upon arrival Jeff sat down with us and talked us through some sights and places worth visiting during our stay, that we might not be aware of. This was really helpful and helped shape parts of our visit.

Jacqui and Jeff were exceptionally warm hosts and the breakfast we were provided in the morning was delicious and was a great start to each day. We would highly recommend the porridge!

The room we stayed in was impeccably clean and spacious and made for a great night's sleep.

Beech Cottage is only a short scenic walk from Bath City centre and we would recommend staying here for a relaxing, informative and comfortable stay in a beautiful setting.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeffManning, Owner at Beech Cottage B&B, responded to this review, April 5, 2014
Dear M & E, It was a real pleasure hosting your three nights in Bath and we very much appreciate such a generous review of your stay. JnJnJJ
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
2.8 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
0.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
1.4 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
1.8 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beech Cottage B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beech Cottage B&B

Property: Beech Cottage B&B
Address: 32 Combe Road, Bath BA2 5HY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cosy cottage (1803) offering comfort and woodland tranquility, 8 minutes bus ride from Bath centre. Jeff who served as the 768th Mayor of Bath is happy to share his extensive local knowledge with guests. His wife Jacqui was born in Bath. Our 3 en-suite rooms offer complimentary tea/coffee tray (with fresh milk available), toiletries, fresh white towels, FreeSat TV/Radio and WiFi: All rooms en-suite: Standard TWIN has two 3 ft beds. The Standard DOUBLE 5ftwide . Our Superior room offers a choice of 6 ft wide Double OR Twin 3ft beds. Delicious and healthy vegetarian breakfasts. DIY clothes washing available for travellers 'on the road'. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Beech Cottage B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing