We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of Roban House

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Roban House
Ranked #25 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Cambridgeshire
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed July 30, 2009

This was my return trip having raved about my previous trip I took my partner to enjoy Roban House and the sights of Bath and the surrounding countryside. We both found Roban House and anne and Rob to be most helpful and welcoming.

We have already recommened to friends and family and look forward to returning ourselves later this year.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnaHayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    17
    4
    12
    14
See reviews for
7
64
16
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 17, 2009

Having selected this guesthouse on the internet, we were slightly worried that it wouldn't match up to it's website - We need not have worried. From the outset (the first phone call)we were made to feel very welcome - nothing was a problem.

We booked the family suite which consisted of two bedrooms, one double, one single and a bathroom. I telephoned several times to check variuos things and ask questions about Bath and found the owner to be extremely knowledgeable and helpful.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by the owner and taken to our rooms which were outstanding - light and airy, spotlessly clean and well equipped. The beds were extremely comfortable with firm mattresses, but most noticeable was how quiet the house was - it remained this way throughout our stay.

Although very peaceful, its location is only 10 mins walk from the city centre.

Overall, an excellent place to stay & excellent value for money - we will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank niap7488
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed July 15, 2009

My wife and I have stayed at Roban House three of four times over the last few years; we feel very relaxed at Roban House and we love the city of Bath so we keep going back. Anna and Rob are friendly and welcoming owners, who give great recommendations about what to do in town. The rooms are super clean, tastefully furnished and comfortable. On our latest trip ealier this month we had the continental style breaksfast which included a very tasty and fresh fruit salad. Location wise town is only a 10-15 min walk away. All in all a great place to stay and we'll certainly continue to be guests in the future.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike_Munday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 13, 2009

Stayed for 2 nights in double room June. Room was nice and clean - but was not the room Anna said she would give us when booking, so we felt dupped! £230 for a 2 night stay without breakfast is a lot of money ( we also had to pay an extra £9.99 because we dared to pay by credit card!) and after looking at other B&B's in Bath, discovered that we could have got an en-suite room which was just as nice, if not better with breakfast, centrally in Bath (I wish I had read the reviews before I booked!). Roban house is vastly overpriced for what you get - take heed, also the walk into town is not very nice from where Roban House is situated albeit only a 10 minute walk. Save your money, book else where and use the money you would have spent on accommodation here to pay for meals, etc.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheWeekenders_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
eastbourne, UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2009

What we looked for was easy accessibility into the centre, hospitability, security , warmth and cleanliness. We got all of that and for that reason we have no trouble recommending Roban House. AT £30 per head it is competitively priced. I find difficulty in understanding some of the more negative comments left on this site. Furthermore we have no particular conflicting interests when we state this opinion. Thank your for your hospitality!

Stayed January 2009
Helpful?
1 Thank galeaadrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

My husband and I spent a few nights at the Roban House in September 2008 and highly recommend it. Located a short pleasant walk outside the historic center of Bath, it was an ideal base for exploring the city. Our room on the ground floor was spotless, decorated in the modern, minimalist style I prefer, and had all the amenities of a larger hotel (hair dryer, TV, refrigerator, etc.)

The owner, Anna, was very welcoming and clearly cares a lot about the comfort of her guests and their experience in Bath, recommending sightseeing itineraries and restaurants.

I think we paid about $100 U.S. dollars a night, which seemed like a bargain compared with other hotels we stayed in during our U.K. trip.

Lonely Planet lists Roban House as an Authors Pick, by the way,
http://hotels.lonelyplanet.com/hotel/Bath-Roban-House-P160511.html

  • Liked — Comfort of the room
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Zoe15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south east
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 29, 2008

15 minutes after ringing Roban house direct and requesting two double rooms the owner was ringing us to find out where we were! Not knowing Bath we were struggling to find it. As soon as we arrived our money was taken, before even seeing the room. We were then commanded to order breakfast - continental, brought to your room. Having given itself a 4star rating we expected a cooked breakfast and a dining room. We were asked at this time to state the time breakfast was required. In the morning, as breakfast had not arrived more than an hour after we had requested it we left. She already had our money!

  • Liked — it was clean
  • Disliked — the owner
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank potless
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
6.0 mi away
No photo provided
The Old Malt House
#1 of 1 in Timsbury
148 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
0.6 mi away
St Christopher's Inn Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Bloomfield House
Bloomfield House
#41 of 157 in Bath
219 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#29 of 157 in Bath
391 reviews
1.4 mi away
Aquae Sulis Hotel
Aquae Sulis Hotel
#18 of 157 in Bath
919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roban House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roban House

Property: Roban House
Address: 26 Lower Oldfield Park, Bath BA2 3HP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 40 Specialty Lodging in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roban House 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Roban House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roban House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing