We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Cozy”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Amberley House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #137 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 14, 2009

My grilfriend and I spent three nights at the Amberley house while we were travelling on vacation. Overall, we enjoyed our stay.

- Location: The B&B was only about a 7-8 minute walk from the train station, and pretty close to the center of town. Its located in a more residential neighborhood, although many of the other houses in the row were also operating as a B&B.

- Facilities/Room: The Amberley house itself is probably a bit on the crampt side for some American tastes, but it's to be expected when travelling in historic England with centuries old buildings. There was a small dining area for breakfast. The kitchen was not accessable for guests. We stayed in a standard double room on the second floor. The room itself was quite clean. We had a small in room sink, tv, a/c, closet and comfortable bed. The only thing was that our tea kettle had some kind of green deposits built up in it which took a bit to clean out. We were next door to the shared bathroom but were never disrupted by anyone showering and never had to wait in line to use it. The bathroom itself was also clean and well kept.

- Food/Service: We were met by Ivona who was nice and talkative. We didn't realize they didn't accept credit card, but Ivona was accomodating and let us pay her a different day when we had the cash available. The breakfast itself was a typical full english breakfast. Since we were going to be leaving for a tour early one morning and miss breakfast, we were able to negotiate L10 off of the price of our stay.

- Overall: I think this was a nicely priced place to stay in a town that can potentially be very expensive. It suited our needs well as a travelling couple in our 20's. This is probably not the best place if you're looking for luxury and continual service from the staff, but it worked just fine for us as a cozy place to sleep and a nice warm meal to start the day.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ripley86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14)
There are newer reviews for Amberley House Bed and Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 14 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2009

Spent 2 nights here over the weekend, and was very pleased with the b and b. For the low price we payed, the cleaniness of rooms and quality of food was excellent.
Alot of these reviews also seem to think the staff here were unhelpful, but I found the staff very welcoming and friendly.
One good thing is that you also get given a parking permit which saves alot of money on car parks.

Thanks alot Amberley, will definetely be staying again!

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ryanhorne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2008

Stayed in the Amberley House B & B on a Saturday night with my boyfriend. We booked last minute, and we were told the only room left was quite small. However, it was one of the best value for money options we could find, so we took the "small" room.

We arrived to a warm welcome by Ivona who was pleasant and helpful. She explained about the free Sunday parking, and gave us ideas of where to go in town that night. We were asked for our choice of breakfast and what time we would take it, as she explained she didn't want to keep us waiting in the morning.

The room was small, as discussed, but larger than I had expected. It was homely furnished, and warm and cosy. The shared bathroom was spotless with a powerful and enjoyable shower. The bed was comfy, but a little creaky when pushed. TV, tea and coffee, biscuits and chocolates :)

Breakfast in the morning was prompt and satisfactory. Plenty of toast, perfect fried eggs, cheap sausage but great bacon, mushrooms and tomatoes. Tea, coffee, cereal and orange juice. We shared the dining room with another couple which was only to be expected and it didn't pose a problem.

The location was fantastic! Just a five minute walk over the river and into town.

All in all, we had a great stay with a caring and helpful host. Would definately recommend as it was great value for money!

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonsquirrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

On first arriving at Amberley House we we're greeted by Ivona, we were told we would have to leave a £10 deposit for a parking permit (that of course was when we finally had found somewhere to park), and had to choose a time for breakfast, 8.30am or 9.15am as she needed to be organised because there was only one very small dining table in a tiny little back room, which the next morning when we went for breakfast we had to share with a another couple, that could of been awkward but they were a nice couple!
On been shown our room(room 2 with en-suite), we noticed grubby carpets and it looked like it had not been cleaned in some time.
The next morning we woke with bites all over our legs, presumably from the bedding, after that we spent as little time as possible in the room!
The only good thing i can say about this B&B is the location, a 5min walk into the centre!!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JevEastYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2008

A well decorated and clean b&b only 5-10 minutes walk out of the centre of bath. A converted house, there are 5 bedrooms, we stayed in the twin which shares a bathroom. The room was a reasonable size, clean and tidy although the beds were not the most comfortable I have slept on. There was no breakfast provided during our stay so cannot comment on that. The owners not being on site did not cause us any problems as they were around during the day and were accommodating leaving a secure key out for us when we arrived late on the first night. I did notice the double room which shares a bathroom is VERY small so watch out for that one. Although not on the main road there was some noise from the road at night. Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveller1100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2008

I would recommend Bath to everyone and anyone but i could not say that about Amberley House! The owner was only interested in taking the money and once that was done we didn't see her again.

The was no breakfast included because her housemaid was on leave so instead of making it herself it just wasn't offered. The owner doesn't live in the house so any problems and you have to wait for her to arrive, which means she wasn't there to deal with screaming kids running around at 6.30am.

She wouldn't allow us to leave our bags after we checked out as she was having her carpets cleaned on a sunday - this seemed an excuse for her not to come to the house and let us leave them in the dining room, which has a laminate flooring - hardly needs a professional to come in and clean it. She told us to leave them at the local youth hostel and we could pay for a complete stranger to look after them.

As for the room it was a non-ensuite box, which the proverbial cat would have been extremely sore if we had tried to swing her. The website makes it out to be sweet and vintage where instead it felt old and dirty.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank manikin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2008

We stayed in Bath for a wedding, 2 nights in a room for 2 adults and cot for the child. Booking was easy, owner was very helpful in arranging a travel cot.

On arrival, a girl answered the door called Ivona. We went through to the small back room (dining room as we found out).
She gave me a parking permit and asked for a deposit. When I went to hand over my debit card, Ivona said the £10 deposit had to be cash. The owner had previously confirmed cash OR Debit Card. I offered to go to the cash point as I only has 5 pounds cash but Ivona seemed confused and didn't seem happy for me to drive to cashpoint (as if I would run-off with a parking permit leaving my wife and child!!?). Anyway, we agreed on a £5 deposit so all ok.

We were then told we would be sharing a breakfast table with other guests on either a 8.30 or 9.15 slot. This WAS NOT made clear before our stay and the website does not say you will be sharing breakfast with other guests! The dining room is small and doubles up as check-in/out room, leaflet displays and is open to the kitchen. We asked for a highchair (website says they are available) but Ivona said she did not know if they had one. I asked her to speak to the owner, and in fact one was arranged by the next morning - thankfully, well pleased.

Breakfast - coffee hot, juice good, lots of toast. Poached egg and the Mushrooms were microwaved, 1 rasher of bacon and one sausage each. Ok but not memorable at all - all this while we had the sound of the washing machine 10ft from us (Ivona did apologise). Bear in mind the table is small - you are elbow to elbow with the other guests and private conversations were a no no.

Room - Ok, clean, travel cot good and two singles beds attached - so big. Nice windows that opened wide for air.
No BATH, only a shower which was powerful but mouldy round the shower head. Bathroom was tiny. 14inch old style TV mounted on the wall in corner of room, so watching TV from bed a bit of a strain! Iron and ironing board was brought to room on request (but old and tired equipment - but heh most are in B&Bs/hotels). Coffee/tea good. There was a weird decanter of something in the room - I assume sherry as there were 2 tiny/mini glasses by the side, dirty glasses though and no explanation as to whether it was drinkable, safe, free?? We steered clear. Bathroom has no drinking glasses, had to ask, Ivona brought these but she seemed to us this was a non-regular request - I thought a pair of drinking glasses in a room was normal!

Nightime - beware, not all rooms are en-suite. If your ok with that then fine, but if you have an en-suite you have to put up with banging doors ALL NIGHT! The room next door were in,out,in,out,in,out all night - bang,bang,bang went the doors.
If you want a totally quiet nights sleep, don't come here as the bedroom doors are heavy and have no springs.

Overall - OK for a place to stay but this really is old erstyle B&B, converted house run day-top-day by a young gril called Ivona - who has little experience and customer service skills (although pleasant enough girl). To my mind, for £80 a night you would be better staying somewhere a bit more expensive for the quiet, privacy and expertise of guest house/hotel staff.

Best bits - The booking process direct was AAA++, parking outside, travel cot, shower
Worst bits - sharing small breakfast table, NOISE, mediorce breakfast.

Stayed: June 2008
2  Thank Letiss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Bath Waterside
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#17 of 32 in Bath
1,187 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Ayrlington
The Ayrlington
#10 of 32 in Bath
1,148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lynwood House
Lynwood House
#75 of 156 in Bath
132 reviews
0.0 mi away
Avon Guest House
Avon Guest House
#71 of 156 in Bath
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amberley House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amberley House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 25 Pulteney Gardens, Bath BA2 4HG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Amberley House Hotel Bath
Amberley House b&b

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing