We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overpriced, poor hosting but perfectly clean”
Review of Astor House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Astor House
Ranked #64 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Overpriced, poor hosting but perfectly clean”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We were quite surprised to be greeted to an envelope stuck to the door telling us where our keys were, no sign of a host or anyone to help us in. The front door, left slightly ajar, was also quite unnerving.
However, upon entering out £110 per night room, we were greeted with a spotlessly clean, light, airy, beautifully decorated room. The bed was comfortable, there was a good tv and everything you could possibly need - shower gel etc, iron, hair-dryer. We wondered what all the bad reviews were about on Tripadvisor!! However, the shower was appalling, the temperature changed rapidly without warning and the water tank situated in the bathroom dripped and buzzed every time you flushed the loo or used the tap. The free wifi was a nice touch but it was annoyingly slow and temperamental.

We had a comfortable night sleep and were really looking forward to breakfast. Again, our host was no where to be seen, and although we were greeted by adequately friendly staff, no one asked us if we had any issues or problems and neither did we feel we could raise any. Breakfast was greasy, scrambled egg soggy, tinned fruit and small, quite honestly stingy portions and a cramped, dingy eating area. Lots of variety but not to the standard you expect when paying £110 per night.

The B and B is not situated a short 10 minute walk into town as advertised on the website, more like a 25 minute walk, which is up hill all the way back. The parking available outside the property is very useful. Without knowing the area, and with our host still not around (even at the weekend) and with a new set of envelopes stuck to the door, we ventured out to try and find dinner and found a little gem of a pub – The Bear. Brilliant food and excellent service in an inviting environment. On our second night, we ended up going back to The Bear, as again our host was not around to ask. The only information provided, was a set of leaflets and a restaurant map, oh which the B&B was no where near!

The only time anyone was around was when they wanted our money, and even then we weren't asked if our stay was pleasant or comfortable. All in all, a beautiful, clean B and B, but far too over priced and terrible hosting.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bryyosav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    62
    27
    16
    12
See reviews for
29
83
11
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2012

When i first booked to stay at Astor House i noticed that everyone seemed to be upset about the lack of customer service upon arrival. Anticipating this, we were totally satisfied with our stay. The staff were lovely and left you in peace to explore the city. The B&B is not in town - it's in the residential part of Bath, about a 15 minute walk from the Roman Baths. That said, it was lovely and quiet and our rooms were just what we needed.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bronwenfb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The B&B was well appointed and at good standards. The view from our room was overlooking the garden and we had a direct view to the other hill of Bath, which was really good.
The breakfast was also good (liked the coffee!). It is a bit expensive, but I would expect Bath to be so...

Room Tip: We had room 1, which had a good view on the garden and we could partly see the other side of Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adeline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 27, 2011

We didn't mind the envelope attached to the front door, but we were never formally introduced to the owner during our two night stay.
The room was in need of decorating/updating, although clean enough. The bed was uncomfortable, the carpet not properly fitted, the furniture very dated and the shower was worse than useless. The breakfast was mediocre.
On checking out we were not asked about our stay which made it difficult to raise our concerns.
We would certainly not recommend Astor House to anyone who wants good value or comfort for money.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Bath hotels

Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2011

We really are very surprised by the negative comments given to this hotel. We were greeted by the owner and although we arrived far earlier than the quoted 1600 hr book in time, our room was ready. No 7 on the top floor with wonderful views of Bath and the Royal Crescent. the room was well decorated, clean and tidy with all facilities you could want. The owner gave us directions into town, a map and phone numbers of the local taxi firms. Breakfast was equal to any we have had in other hotels and was served by friendly staff who looked after our every need. Overall, a very pleasant and romantic stay in a lovely country hotel well run by a very friendly owner and staff. We have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel to anyone visiting Bath and needing to be within walking distance of the town

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRA20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, Brazil
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Excellent hotel, well furnished, cousy bedroom with a very good breakfast. The only problem is that when we arrived, there was a message glued on the door telling where the keys were. We didn´t see anybody till the next day for the check-out.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LiliMachado
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Quite how this guest house can justify £90 per night defies belief. Equally how it can justify Four Diamonds from the English Tourism Council? 4 Diamonds are given "(in addition to what is provided at ONE, TWO and THREE STAR) in Accommodation offering superior comfort and quality; all bedrooms with en-suite bath, fitted overhead shower and WC."

We had an unaired room - without en-suite bath - in the attic, without any curtains, and with a gap at the bottom of the windows so we were woken early by both light and more noise than anticipated in a quiet residential B&B.

4 Diamonds are moreover where "The hotel ...will put a strong emphasis on food and drink. Staff will have very good technical and social skills, anticipating and responding to your needs and requests". Imagine what we thought of the evening welcome on arrival we received with a note on the front door saying words to the effect "Gone out, here's your key".
As for the quality of the food imagine a good sized full English breakfast, with all ingredients bought from the very cheapest supermarket, swimming in water.

On a positive note the manager/hostess (never introduced herself in 2 days) was kind to put a bottle of our anniversary wine in the fridge in the morning and provide glasses in the evening.
Fortunately I cashed in some Nectar Points so only paid £62.50 which, quite frankly is just the right amount you would expect to pay for 2 nights in this sorry state of a weekend's accommodation.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonsOurSpot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Highways House
Highways House
#57 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
1.5 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#15 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 789 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#19 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Bear Hotel
The Bear Hotel
#48 of 154 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
1.5 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 154 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astor House

Property: Astor House
Address: 14 Oldfield Road, Bath BA2 3ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Astor House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Astor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astor House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing