We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chestnuts”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Derbyshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Chestnuts”
Reviewed June 21, 2007

Excellent standard of accommodation with superb breakfasts offering plenty of choice. The host was helpful, friendly and accommodating. Chestnuts was a pleasant 5 minute walk to the centre of Bath and it was very useful to have offroad parking.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend Chestnuts.

  • Liked — Quality and cleanliness of rooms
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BobDerbyshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    860
    50
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
125
577
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
N. Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2007

If you are searching for the perfect place to stay in Bath - search no more. This B&B is much better than many hotels we have stayed in. The rooms are fresh and modern - with proper duvets - not those horrid heavy blankets you encounter in many places. The bathroom was clean, the White Company towels huge and the shower was really powerful. The breakfasts are great - much more than your standard cereal and cooked breakfast. The breakfast room is also beautiful, light and airy leading out to a lovely patio area. It's the little touches that make the difference and having a DVD player in your room and access to a variety of DVDs is a great bonus, and the mini Pringles were an added delight!

Location wise you could not do better. A short, level 3 min walk to the centre.

Owner Toni was helpful and friendly - we wish him continued success.

We would have no hesitation in recommending this B&B.

  • Liked — Breakfasts. Room decor. Location.
  • Disliked — Absolutely nothing.
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chips&Beans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
1 review
Reviewed June 13, 2007

My daughter and I stayed for two nights in the superior double ensuite room, located on the ground floor, with king size bed, bath and shower. We both felt that Chestnuts House was perfect in every way. We walked from the train station--an easy 10-minute level walk. The street on which the hotel is located is just out of the center of town, and was clean and quiet (just down the block from the Chestnuts is a large park). The hotel is modern and fresh, while our room was large, comfortable, beautifully decorated, and clean as a whistle. Even the towels in the bathroom were wonderful--oversized, soft, and plump. The owner of the hotel, Toni, was very friendly and welcoming. And wait until you see what's on offer for breakfast--the cooking goes far beyond the standard eggs on toast! A gem of a hotel.
Barbara, USA

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank mnmom814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2007

We have just returned from a fabulous stay at Chestnuts House. The location of this delightfull B & B is excellent and is remarkably quiet considering proximity to Bath city centre. The host is extremely hospitable and quite frankly we could not have asked for more. You will not be disappointed by booking at Chestnuts House and I would have no hesitation in returning. Top class breakfasts and you are really made to feel welcome. Simply fantastic.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hogbog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2007

We stayed 5 nights at Chesnuts House and our thoughts are as follows.

Our room was nice and clean and pleasantly decorated but was a bit on the small side with the bathroom being the worst feature. It was very small and not really decorated nicely. It had no bath, just a shower which was just a base unit with a shower curtain across, disappointing after reading the other reviews we expected a bit better.

The owner was very pleasant and helpful and gave us some good tips on where to eat and other places to visit whilst in Bath.

The breakfasts where very good with lots of choice.

All in all our overall experience was good but not great, we just expected a litlle more from our room. There are 5 rooms so whether we got the worst out of the 5 am not sure.

If we stayed in Bath again we would probably try some where else.

  • Disliked — Room
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 5, 2007

We stayed for two nights in May 2007. The room was absolutely gorgeous and spotlessly clean, and the breakfast was first-class. The location was ideal - about a 7-minute walk to the city centre. Definitely the best B&B I have ever stayed in, am already looking forward to visiting again! Thanks Toni.

Stayed May 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank CathrynJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2007

Thank you so much for a wonderful stay! Your house is immaculate, in a wonderful location, and we very much enjoyed the warm, friendly atmosphere. Thanks again.

  • Liked — cleanliness
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank BathFanDan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Bath House
The Bath House
#7 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,786 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Gainsborough Bath Spa
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 154 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing