We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great little B&B”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 16, 2007

We stayed at Chestnuts House on a Saturday and Sunday night at the beginning of February 2007. There's off-street parking and it's about 10-15 minutes walking distance to the City depending on how fast you walk. The decor is cooly elegant but it still manages to remain homely and welcoming. The owner wasn't fazed by the fact that we turned up at 11am on our first day - a cardinal sin in some B&Bs and hotels. Luckily the bedroom had already been serviced. It was a good size, bright and cheerful and very tastefully decorated. Both the bedroom and the ensuite were spotless. There was a nice, big, metal framed bed with crisp white linen and a satin throw. There was also a flat screen TV and DVD player - a selection of films available free of charge. There's a residents' lounge downstairs with books, games, magazines and Sky TV. The breakfast was incredible - fresh fruit salad, croissants, pain au chocolat, cereal, freshly squeezed orange juice, a decent english breakfast and toast, etc, etc - you are not only invited to help yourself but encouraged to eat loads - fantastic! The owner bent over backwards to accommodate your needs and was excellent at giving advice about where to eat, places to visit, good furniture shops!! All in all it was a great stay and we would not hesitate to recommend it.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scouse&Gog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (951)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

857 - 863 of 951 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2007

Everything about the Chestnuts B&B was great. Super personalised service and attention to detail. Very comfortable and homely. Good selection at breakfast, every taste catered for. Beautifully furnished. Will definitely visit again. Best UK B&B stayed in so far. Convenient for access to the city centre.

  • Stayed: February 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeatrixCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2007

My freinds and I stayed at the Chestnuts House for a couple of nights just before Christmas last year. The whole stay was great. The house was of the highest standard with cleanliness and decor first class. The breakfast was cooked individually and of the highest quality and quantity with the fresh fruit salad the business.
Nothing is too much for Toni the owner and having a lounge area to watch TV and sit and wait for my friends was a great idea.

A perfect Bed and Breakfast in a perfect City especially when you are a Bath Rugby fan.

One word sums up the break " Perfect "

We will return very soon and we have already given the details to family and freinds.

  • Stayed: December 2006, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Birdiefire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2007

My friend and I stayed two nights at Chestnuts House whilst on a girlie weekend sampling the delights of the Thermae Spa in Bath.

Chestnuts is delightful. The owners are charming and helpful and the decor and cleanliness are of a very high standard throughout this beautiful period property. The bathroom was worthy of that in any boutique hotel and breakfast was good quality food cooked to perfection. We had a thoroughly relaxing weekend and I intend to return to Chesnuts in the summer with husband and daughter in tow.

Stayed: January 2007
2  Thank HezLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2007

This has to be the best B&B we've ever stayed in by far! A real home away from home. Toni was a fantastic host - always going that extra mile to point out gems to visit, fab places to eat, and even helped us with ideas for house hunting in the area. The breakfasts were delicious and our room was a little spot of heaven - so cosy. It was wonderful to park the car and not have to think about it again for a couple of days. This must be one of the few establishments in the centre of Bath where you can park your car for free.

We'll be sure to return here time and time again. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank MirandaAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2007

Rooms were very pleasant, clean, modern, and comfortable. DVD players in every room and a selection of probably 100 recent DVDs to choose from in the main lobby. Bathrooms with every room, again very clean, up to date. We had no problem with noise from other guests or outside.

We were looking for that famous UK breakfast. Other breakfastes dissapointed us, Chestnuts did not disappoint. Breakfast was the best we had in our stay in the UK, cooked to order, with toast, eggs, yogurt, cereal, mushrooms, tomatoes, fruit, etc., etc., with everything hot that was supposed to be hot, fresh, etc.

Our emails with owners were always answered professionally and quickly.

Easy and pleasant 10 minute walk to downtown Bath through nice neighborhood.

A place outside the house to park your car.

The outside of the house does not look that nice on the web but the interior is where you'll be spending your time. (The outside of the house is fine, it fits with the neighborhood, I think its just an American thing where we think the exterior of the house is an important reflection of the interior but that is most often not the case elsewhere in the world).

Stayed: December 2006
3  Thank ktdSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2007

Our stay at Chestnuts House was undoubtedly delightful. The deco was immaculate, with originals and limited prints on the walls. The room was very spacious, the bed so comfortable I wanted to take it home. I will say nothing of the bathroom which was exquisitely decorated, complete with complimentary toiletries. I must say that the continental breakfast was superb. I had a choice of scrambled egg with smoked salmon (my choice) and french folded omelette with asparagus. Not to mention fresh fruit salad with succulent strawberries (in winter?!). My husband feasted on a full english which in his opinion was "the best he had in a very long time". Toni, we hope that we will be able to come and see you again soon.

  • Stayed: January 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank EnglandKermit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,313 reviews
1 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 156 in Bath
1,679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grove Lodge
Grove Lodge
#3 of 156 in Bath
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brindleys Boutique B & B
1.7 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 156 in Bath
553 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#2 of 156 in Bath
559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $118 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing