We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal base for visiting Bath”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #6 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hertford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal base for visiting Bath”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The combination of good location and excellent reviews plus the convenience of on site parking (often not available in central Bath) led us here and we were not disappointed. Comfortable, well appointed accommodation, outstanding breakfasts, helpful host and a convenient location. Possibly not the cheapest b&b but well worth every penny.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidWh2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

930 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    872
    51
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
587
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2014

This is really a gem of a place to stay. Lovely warm and well furnished rooms, with everything spotless and well maintained. Breakfasts are delicious - cooked to order with top class ingredients. Host Toni is helpful, friendly and professional. All this together with its close proximity to the centre of Bath makes it a perfect place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annieh310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

As soon as we arrived the host made us very welcome. The room was spotless, couldn't fault it at all. The breakfast menu was superb, I had the salmon and scrambled egg and it was delicious. Would definitely recommend this B&B whilst exploring Bath.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WendyWoo91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We returned early March for our 6th year on the run. Chestnuts was a real find and we wouldn't stay anywhere else! Toni is the perfect host - approachable, friendly, professional, informative. The house is immaculate. The rooms have everything you need, are most comfortable and with beautiful bathroom (plus white room toiletries) bedding and furnishings. Breakfasts cooked to perfection, with lots of choice. 10 mins walk from Bath centre, so no need to use the car. Chestnuts offer ample free parking. Chestnuts is on a lovely quiet road, with a beautiful park full of squirrels as it was a lovely sunny weekend. Also a nice park to have a run through.
See you again next March Toni, and thanks for a wonderful stay once again!

Room Tip: Downstairs room handy as we like to go for a run. This would be a lovely room in the summer as it h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernieandiandandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed at Chestnuts for 5 nights in early March...sent an email to check the availability a few weeks in advance as it's always fully booked. The host Toni was very helpful and promptly responded to our request. We three adults at the end got 2 en-suite rooms which are not particularly huge but very warm, clean and cosy indeed. We especially love the breakfast there! got many choices from the usual english all day breakfast, but also french omelette, smoked salmon etc. and you can help yourself with unlimited serving of cereals, yoghurt and danish pastry! what a hearty meal to start a day! i must say the location is excellent, just less than 10 minutes walk to the Laura Place/city centre. Very convenient! The host is verh friendly and helpful, can ask him anything and he will try his best to help. we will surely stay at Chestnuts if we visit Bath again in the future.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Surina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
1 review
Reviewed March 14, 2014

it's such a nice b&b with clean, tidy and cosy environment, with lots of variety of breakfast in good quality for you to choose. The owner, Toni's so helpful in providing all sorts of information for the traveller.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susanna c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2014

A little gem in a quiet corner of Bath very close to the city centre and all attractions. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful from start to finish. The room was tastefully furnished, very clean and fresh looking as well as being extremely comfortable. Bathrooms had lovely toiletries and all amenities. The breakfast was superb and service good. All in all excellent value for money and would thoroughly recommend this B&B for visitors or businessmen to Bath.

Room Tip: all rooms looked good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
518 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 157 in Bath
1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing