We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Definitely one of the all-time best B&Bs we've ever stayed in.”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a fantastic stay. Superb room - all mod-cons, well heated, very comfy bed and classy decor. Unbelievably excellent choice for breakfast. 5 stars are not enough to describe this B&B. Toni really knows how to offer friendly and excellent service. Even better was that Toni was happy for us to bring our small but well-behaved dog - who also had an excellent stay.

If you're staying in Bath, You have to stay at the Chestnuts.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Chestnuts House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

310 - 316 of 941 reviews

Reviewed May 12, 2013

We were welcomed by a lovely lady who helps Toni, she was friendly and courteous, and made us feel right at home straight away. Our room was lovely (only thing I would say it was a very hot day, and the room was quite warm, but with the fan we were fine - there was even air conditioning, had we needed it), well laid out, with everything we needed, including fresh cold milk, biscuits, and chocolate! The room and bathroom were bright and very clean (a must for me!) There were lots of DVD's downstairs to choose from and a very pleasant sitting room to relax in if you chose to (we didn't have time to!) And the walk into the centre of Bath wasn't more than 10 minutes, through a very pleasant little park, very handy, especially with a baby in tow. And the best was yet to come...breakfast! It was a amble to say the least - from a variety of cereals, to yoghurt, fruit and croissants - all fresh and appealing, to the full English, it was just perfect.
Next time we are in Bath we will definitely book to stay here again (if there is room of course!) I highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: Our room was at the front of the house and was a little on the warm side, not sure if others were th...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

Dived at the 1st opportunity to stay here! No regrets!!

We arrived really later than our scheduled time due to some hiccups along the way. Toni was extremely patient in liaising with us over the phone, but eventually had to take leave as his father has taken ill (I hope and pray he is feeling better by now!) Despite that, he arranged for an elderly gentleman to wait up for us, and as we understood, he had specifically made sure the gentleman pass us information and maps about the place and area! Nothing about collecting payment or sort, purely ensuring we settle in fine! How kind and thoughtful!!

We were impressed upon entering our room (ground floor) - splendid decor, eye-soothing framed pictures, immaculate, comfortable & welcoming, bright & spacious, calming & a sense of love and pride abound! This is not exaggerating, I promise.. Simply put: it's not those bleedingly luxurious high-end hotels, but it definitely surpasses in terms of the personal touch and humanity aspect!

Bed linen were luxurious looking and feel, sheets were smartly pressed, pillows of right fluff & support, colourful cushions, and a wardrobe with soft white bathrobe. We immediately feel pampered to the core and the only regret was, it was only a one night stay!

Refreshment tray consists of a bottle of water, kettle to make C/T, a little thermos flask with warm milk (wow!) and tasty cookies!

Bathroom was just as impressive, clean to a very high standard, luxury toiletries, heated rail with bath linens that smell heavenly (I have yet to find out what fabric softener they use!!). Shower area is low, clean shower curtain and high rain shower head. Personally it would have been more convenient if there was a detachable shower head too. This room is perfect for the elderly or those with mobility issue.

Breakfast the next morning added another star to this perfect B&B! Toni can easily be mistaken for having Chef background! He calmly took our order, went into the kitchen to prepare them and served promptly and hot from the stove! Omelette was so delightful that I hate to finish it too soon! My husband had a generous portion of smooth, fragrant porridge with fruits & nuts. Good variety of pastry, cereals, spread and all presented neatly at the end of the bright & cheery breakfast room with a good view to the well maintained decked garden.

Travel information, books & DVDs were available to borrow at the hallway, but we had no chance for this due to our brief stay.

Toni made time to meet us after the breakfast timing, got us sorted with some travel advise and check-out process. He had to see to his father again, but left us feeling very well taken care of, and his trust worthy cleaning staff were just as friendly and not imposing on us. There was no problem to leave our luggage there as we explored Bath on foot and came back later that afternoon. It was an easy short walk to Pulteney Bridge.

We felt Toni ran his B&B & treated his guests based on a lot of trust basis, and he genuinely valued each one of us. It was customer service straight from the heart, with an added touch of class! Brilliant and highly commendable - THANK YOU, Toni!

Room Tip: Book early!
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jamie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our three night stay at Chestnuts House. Toni was the perfect host who really cared about his guests. The standards throughout were very high and we found the atmosphere of the house very pleasant and relaxing. The location is excellent, just a few minutes level walk to centre of Bath. Would highly recommend.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Manesty899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We arrived at Chestnut House after taking a redeye to London (from the States), jumping in a rental, grabbing a quick bite, stopping at Avebury (walked about the ancient sotnes-very cool), and we're delighted to find a nice clean well appointed room awaiting us.

The best surprise was waking up and having Toni fix breakfast for us. Started off with tea or coffee and toast then "omelet" for my wife and "traditional English" for both my son and me. Absolutely yummy. We were there for three days and Toni gave us plenty of good hints for things that we should check out in the city.

Great location for walking about and discovering the city. Roman Baths (touristy though worth it), walking tour about the history of the town (free), and local museums. We'd highly recommend the Chestnut house and throughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LastCall11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

We needed accommodation for a single night, close to The Paragon, Bath. The Chestnuts seemed to fit the bill, but the online reservation system, whilst identifying a single night's vacancy, would not permit bookings of less than 3 nights duration.

I e-mailed my request to reservations at chesnutshouse dot co dot uk, on a Sunday afternoon. Within the hour Toni telephoned me to confirm that we could be accommodated. Brilliant!

On arrival, a friendly & helpful welcome from Toni set the theme for our stay here. The superb finish of the property interior was matched by it's clenliness & attention to detail. No unfriendly stickers warning of 'don't dos', but one framed instruction advising on the method for obtaining fresh towels.

Our room was spotless, and presented with a generous tea/coffee/UHT milk/biscuit provision. We were then provided with fresh milk in a small flask, which was more than sufficient for our pre-breakfast tea the next day.

Each room has TV/DVD player; a library of DVDs in the hallway seemed to cope for all tastes.

Breakfast is served between 8.30 and 9.30. A full dining room did nothing to disturb Toni's calm order-taking & delivery of cooked breafasts all round. The breakfast is award-winning - I can see why.

Would we visit again? Without question: A central location with off-street car parking, spotless and well appointed, and a calm, friendly and smiling host.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 1, 2013

We came to Bath for the first time and stayed at Chestnuts House for 3 nights. We had room
nr. 2. It is a very nice room with all modern conveniences. The bed is very comfortable. The service is perfect. Every morning Toni makes a delicious breakfast. The perfect start for your day in Bath. You walk to the city centre through Henerietta Park in about 5 minutes. Nevertheless it is a quiet location. For our next time in Bath Chestnuts House is first choice.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank admiralbenbowHamburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
540 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 157 in Bath
1,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $131 - $181 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing