We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Highly recommended!”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #6 of 157 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

As other people have commented, Chestnuts' situation is perfect for a 10-minute stroll into town with the opportunity to leave your car parked safely off road. Toni is a great host - he rushed back within 10 minutes on Friday evening to sort out a problem with the inbuilt hairdryer (builders had removed a fuse!) and he was full of helpful suggestions for where to eat and what to see. His breakfasts are fantastic and a bit more imaginative than those offered by most B & Bs: omelettes, Eggs Benedict as well as smoked salmon and scrambled eggs. (Lovers of the full English need not panic - that's on the menu too!.) Our room wasn't large but it was very clean and warm with a good shower, comfortable bed and plenty of hanging space. Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanesLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    873
    51
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
126
588
13
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Wife and I spent 3 nights here and certainly intend to return. Quite a treasure in many ways. Spotlessly clean in all aspects. Room was a good size and very large bathroom, with full bath and decent shower, properly heated and with nice toiletries. Fluffy towels and bathrobes supplied. Everything immaculate. Flatscreen TV with Freeview, SKY is available in separate lounge if required. Tea/coffee making facilities, plenty of fresh milk etc.
Breakfast is excellent, buffet "starters" cereals, juice etc and choice of hot dishes cooked to order and very nice too. Tables laid for 2 so do not have to listen to unwelcome conversation at breakfast from strangers. Excellent service - Boss Tony an excellent host in every respect, he spent willing time helping out in suggesting last minute accommodation for a friend.
Ample selection of local information leaflets and of course expert knowledge from host. Concessions available for discounts on local facilities. Small offroad onsite parking available and on road permit parking also as required gratis.
Guesthouse is a few minutes walk from city centre - excellent location.
A splendid place to stay in Bath. Very good selection of eateries just a short walk away.

Room Tip: Room #1 has 2 good windows and also a bathroom window at the front of the property but we found no i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seawisedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
1 review
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Chestnuts house is a small guest house in an area of Bath about 10 minutes' easy walk from the main tourist sites - Abbey, Roman Baths, etc. Our room was clean, well appointed and comfortable. I was pleased to find that the hospitality tray provided a good amount of milk each day (I often find amounts to be rather stingy!) as well as biscuits and the usual tea and coffee. Breakfasts were excellent, giving a wide choice of cooked items and plenty of cereal/fruit/yogurts/croissants......
There is a lounge, but when we visited it, as well as some bedrooms, was being decorated, so it was not available to us. However, we had the compensation of reduced rates at this time of the year, so were quite happy! I would recommend Chestnuts House, where you would receive a warm welcome and very pleasant service from Toni and his staff.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2013

I have lived in Australia for 13 years and when we went back to the UK in 2010,
Bath was one of the first places I wanted to go back to, I love it there.

This B&B is perfect, it's in a really nice area, easy walking distance from the city, taking in pretty little parks and Pulteney Bridge and has parking.

The room was really lovely, very comfortable with plush linen for the bed, a lovely ensuite with shower and the breakfast was wonderful !

I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Bath.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bel D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria Harbour, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
195 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

This B&B is truly worth the stay. Centrally located, only an 8 minute walk to all the shops, pubs, restaurants and tourist attractions of central Bath. The room was immaculately clean, and boasting a very modern and efficient bathroom. The highlight of our stay was the breakfast which catered to everyone's taste. Fresh fruits, croissants, yoghurts, cereals and juices to start off, followed bya choice of at least five breakfast menus, all prepared to perfection. As discerning B&B owners ourselves, we found this B&B at the top our our list of B&B stays throughout the UK. Highly recommended stay for one and all. You will be most pleasantly surprised.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tuckedinntheharbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2013

Arrived 3-4 hours later than anticipated and were still given a warm welcome. Breakfast outstanding, service above and beyond, rooms spacious, clean and well-maintained. Close proximity to Bath, but not so close as to be busy. Stayed an extra night and left luggage there for a few hours even though we had checked out - none of which was a problem at all. My partner was so impressed she insisted I leave a review!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed just for 1 night but really wished we could have stayed longer. The B&B is perfect, really comfortable and in a great location. The centre of Bath is around 10-15 minute walk from Chestnuts House.

Breakfast is served is a lovely room overlooking the garden and was delicious.

Tony even let us use his washing machine while we were there....thanks so much!

Highly recommend and would definately say again if we are ever back in Bath.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SydneySally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
Villa at Henrietta Park
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 31 in Bath
1,247 reviews
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.3 mi away
Bailbrook House Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 157 in Bath
518 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Property: Chestnuts House
Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 157 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing