We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A really nice, friendly boutique b & b .”
Review of Chestnuts House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chestnuts House
Ranked #5 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at Chestnuts in Bath.
It is a truly superb place to stay in one of my favourite cities in the UK. The ground floor room we were allocated was excellent in every way and the breakfast was one of the best we have had. Tony the owner couldn't have been more helpful. We are hoping to come back to Bath pretty soon and we will certainly be booking the Chestnuts for our accommodation. It's a no brainer as my kids would say !!!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tommo48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (941)
There are newer reviews for Chestnuts House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

365 - 371 of 941 reviews

Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

Beautifully furnished B&B with amazing rooms and aromatherapy toiletries. Wonderful a la carte breakfast. Owner extremely helpful. Off street parking available on site. Wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emylls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Superb. Friendly host, who is also very informative about local museums and attractions. Our room was furnished with excellent taste - Laura Ashley and John Lewis, and colour-co-ordinated. Excellent English breakfast. 10 minutes easy, flat walk into Bath centre. Bath is a beautiful city, with good shopping and excellent museums, one of which is about 3 minutes walk from Chestnuts House. Stonehenge just over half an hour away. Chestnuts is highly recommended if you like comfort and style and to be in easy walking distance of the city centre but without the noise.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

2 friends and I recently stayed at Chestnuts House in Bath and it was the best place we stayed in England (we stayed at 6 different B&Bs during our vacation). The house was clean, well located and had a great breakfast. Tony greeted us upon arrival and was continuously the best host you could ask for. He gave great restaurant recommendations, advice on activities to do in the area and was extremely helpful for the next leg of our trip which was the Cotswolds. I have traveled all over the world and this is one of the best all around places I stayed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alhacker81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

A perfect place to stay a few minutes walk from the centre of Bath. Nice decor and warm and cosy bedroom with absolutely gorgeous food for breakfast and a good choice all cooked to perfection ! Bath is amazing with lots to do - there is a free guided walk which we would recommend. Bath also has lots of good shops, pubs and restaurants making it a perfect place to visit. Three days is not enough so we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Romantics77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed here last week with my partner. We travelled to bath on the train. 10minute walk from station to bath centre then 10minutes from bath centre to B&B past a lovely park and along the terrace housed streets. Lovely quiet road. Welcoming hosts. Room was really big (room 1 I think). Having just come from a hotel in London which was much more expensive and tiny rooms, the room here was lovely and spacious and very light and comfortable. The bathroom was equally big. Toni's breakfast the following morning was delicious. Fresh fruit and yoghurt was really nice. The cooked breakfast was also good. Not massive portions but perfectly sized. Good quality products and cooked to perfection. Would definitely recommend staying here to anyone wanting to explore bath. Having DVDs in reception to help yourself to was also a nice touch. Went to the Bath Thermae Spa whilst in bath which would highly recommend. Did a 2 hour spa session + treatments. No need to do more than 2 hours in the spa areas to be honest. Also Jamie's Italian was fantastic to go for dinner. Thanks Chestnuts - we will be back!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnglandLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a VERY cosy little guest house with a whopping 5 star status. It earns those 5 stars by welcoming you with open arms into a spotlessly clean house and room. We stayed on the bottom floor (Me and my girlfriend) which was right next to the breakfast/dining area. Whilst on the subject of breakfasts - the legend is true! Toni's breakfasts are to-die-for. Nice choice - but the full English is recommended. There's a dvd/tv in your room, very comfy double bed with the nicest smelling sheets! (Beats the dullness of big chain hotel sheets and towels). Everything gets the 5 star stamp! Off road parking, security, bed, en suite (power shower and fluffly fluffy towels), cleanliness, breakfast, friendliness, welcome. Toni and crew are very helpful and will give you loads of info on where and how to get places. The house is a 5 minute walk into the heart of bath! We recommend "Sotto Sotto", just down North Parade street. Italian place which from the outside looks like a restaurant found on blackpool front, but there's a reason why it's No.1 in Bath and i'll let you discover out why for yourself! This place is fantastic to stay in, book while you can, and also look out for it on voucher cloud and other services like that! Got our B+B rate at £99 a night.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.2 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 32 in Bath
1,277 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
0.4 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 156 in Bath
543 reviews
1.0 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#6 of 156 in Bath
1,649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnuts House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnuts House

Address: 16 Henrietta Road, Bath BA2 6LY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $133 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Chestnuts House 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chestnuts House is a fine detached Edwardian house with an enclosed garden and private off street parking. It is ideally situated off the main roads and adjacent to Henrietta park, within a few minutes level walk of the city centre. The House is built of natural stone and has five excellent air conditioned guest rooms. warm and attractive decorations have provided well appointed, spacious and comfortable ensuite rooms. All are equipped with colour televisions, dvd players, radio/alarm clocks, free wireless internet connection and refreshments trays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Chestnuts House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chestnuts House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing