We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and friendly”
Review of GPT Smokehouse

GPT Smokehouse
Ranked #55 of 571 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great food and friendly”
Reviewed April 10, 2014 via mobile

Really good smoked American style food in a pub. Waitresses were very attentive and helpful, we had starters which was a mistake as the main courses were huge and we were "stuffed".

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank MartinS39194S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    82
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Torington, Devon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food and service!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Went with my partner for his birthday treat as we are big burger fans! The waitress and a guy who I assume was the owner were both so friendly and helpful! I ordered a mojito and they offered me a regular one or a pomegranate one which I went for! YUMMY! Fresh ingredients and amazing flavours really impressed me! Our food was so good, we had starters and mains but the portions are really big so we decided against pudding! I can highly recommend this place to any fellow burger/comfort food lovers for a lovely relaxed evening!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daisy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“BEST SUNDAY LUNCH IN TOWN”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

This place does the best Sunday lunch in Bath and is now the go to place for our family and friends when we can't be bothered to cook Sunday lunch at home, yes it's as good a Sunday lunch as you would cook at home without the mess and washing up.

The charming hosts have done a fantastic job turning this seedy pub into a friendly and welcoming eatery with an interesting and delicious menu Monday to Saturday.

Wondered if I should write a review as I don't want the place to get so busy we can't get a table.

Keep up the good work.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bronzyuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and service”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We first visited GPT in February on a busy Friday evening at the restaurant. We were seated next to speakers and a a coffee machine and were slightly overlooked by the waiters. However, the food was really good and we enjoyed our meal and left without comment. Two days later I received a call at home from Jamie, one of the owners who profusely apologised for giving us an experience that he considered was well below what it should have been! He very kindly offered us a complimentary meal at a date of our choice so that we could get the 'proper' GPT experience. So, we visited again last week - also on a Friday - and couldn't have received more attentive service from Jamie and his team. Once again the food was excellent - a dirty burger and rack of ribs - but this time we had a great table and could really enjoy the ambience of the place. It was a real treat all round. Hats off to Jamie for his superb customer service and for creating such a cool restaurant. We'll be back again soon but this time we've got to try some brisket.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KirstyP_19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely American style food!”
Reviewed April 6, 2014

We ate here this weekend - a group of four adults. It was really busy but the service was excellent: polite and attentive. The food is lovely- huge racks of ribs, really juicy burgers and chips. Our meal for four with two rounds of drinks came in at under £80 which we though was very reasonable. It's a lovely dining room and you can tell the staff are working really hard to ensure everyone has an enjoyable experience. We'll definitely be back!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank hjs27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GPT Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to GPT Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing