We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great local place, relaxed vibe and good food”
Review of GPT Smokehouse

GPT Smokehouse
Ranked #52 of 570 Restaurants in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Barbecue, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Large groups, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bath
Level Contributor
43 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great local place, relaxed vibe and good food”
Reviewed April 4, 2014 via mobile

We've been to the smokehouse a few times - it's been converted from a pub (so has proper beer) and still feels relaxed - they didn't mind us taking our dog in there and even brought her a bowl of water and gave her a few left overs. Food is good - an interesting combination of ribs, burgers and smoky barbecue things as well as great fish and chips.
I think they do roasts instead of smoky food on Sundays.

Helpful?
1 Thank BigMikeBath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

409 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    294
    82
    14
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“go for the ribs!”
Reviewed April 2, 2014

yum! went with husband and son after reading a magazine article and reviews, we were not disappointed. Between us tried a Tbone steak, Dirty burger, and 'Pit master'. All good but we all agreed next time we will all be having the ribs as really superior

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandraetcharlie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended!”
Reviewed April 1, 2014

We have been to GPT Smokehouse twice - once the day after they opened and again last night.

The food was excellent both time (AMAZING meat: highly recommend the ribs, chicken and pulled pork!) and the staff are really friendly, helpful and kind.

Go now before they get so popular and over subscribed that you can't get a table!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HollyTarq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
187 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great new discovery in Bath”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We read excellent reviews on several sites on the GPT Tavern Smokehouse. It is such a popular place that we were only able to make a reservation yesterday after several attempts the past month. It was hard to believe all the excellent reviews of the place, but, we now understand why!

It was worth the wait. The staff were very friendly and efficient. The menu was relatively small – which is a good sign – everything was fresh. The fruit of the sea burger (fresh fish filet and fried soft shell crab on a homemade burger roll, fresh toppings…) with “skinny fries” were fantastic. The baby back bbq ribs and the bbq brisket were also incredible.

The beers were cold, the music was great, the staff were very friendly and the whole place was just pleasant, no pretence, just a great place to relax, have a good time and a great meal. We highly recommend this tavern and restaurant. We’ll be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not what I expected and truly disappointing”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

I was really excited about visiting this place, inspired by the Trip Advisor rating, an article in the local paper and, not least, by the inspiring looking menu and description of the place on the website. I showed it to my wife and kids on the morning of our visit and all our mouths were watering in anticipation of what we believed would be a wonderful meal at what we hoped would be a real local find – an independent restaurant championing local food.

Imagine how much greater our disappointment was then when the experience we then had was so far from that expected that for a moment I thought we had mistakenly gone to the wrong place.

In place of the advertised menu – trumpeting the use of the hot smoker specially imported from the USA, etc, etc, etc – we were instead given a Sunday lunch menu that only featured a variety of roast lunches. All very well if that’s your sort of thing, but obtainable at every pub and low rent chain restaurant anywhere. About as far from the promised Smokehouse experience. I wonder why this alternative Sunday menu wasn’t signposted at all on their website. We really felt like we had been lured here under false pretenses.

Determined to overcome our disappointment and make the best of it, we ordered reluctantly from the 5 different meat/meat substitute options with identical trimmings – all except my 5 year old, who, unlike his usual self, refused to order anything (declaring the place ‘smelt funny’).

As we waited we were able to take in the restaurant, which is sort of decorated with the aesthetic of an Ikea café – apart that is from the consciously hip chairs, chosen clearly for their looks rather than comfort. Anybody with any memory of the 1970’s will remember those oh-so-hard and unforgiving plywood and tubular steel stacking chairs that used to grace school dining rooms and village halls. There is a good reason that they no longer do so – they are cripplingly uncomfortable and even my kids complained how hard they were. Now I know this is a tactic in fast food restaurants where they want you to move through as quickly as possible, but not a winner in what is supposed to be a good restaurant.

Our food came soon enough. The plates piled high with enormous helpings – almost to the point of intimidating in their fullness. Alas quantity seemed to be a substitute for quantity. I always wonder at the wisdom of producing a roast in a restaurant, as everything needs to be cooked ahead of time. Despite the fact that we arrived early in the day, the meat, though well cooked, had the crusty dryness of something that had been sitting under a heat lamp for a not inconsiderable time. Everything else was little short of disastrous.

The Yorkshire pudding (why do people serve these with everything and not just roast beef?) was the size of a baby’s head and burnt black. The parsnips were burnt too. The carrots – bizarrely served almost whole – had that metallic taste of something that has been cooked too long.

As if to add a bit of variety, on the other hand, the roast potatoes were untouched by either colour or crispiness and the broccoli was so al-dente it was difficult to cut. The skin of my pork had the strange distinction of embodying both these traits – being crispy in parts and still very much like skin elsewhere. The thimbleful of apple sauce had the texture and appearance of that slightly weird stuff that comes inside a MacDonalds apple pie.

We were accompanied in this veritable feast by being able to listen to someone who appeared be the manager winging loudly about the demands of a party in the other room and a general discussion centring around how they were all finding it difficult to cope with a busy service.

So, to sum up, not the food we wanted, the food we didn’t want absolutely murdered, uncomfortable seating and zero ambiance. Apart from that it was great.

So great in fact that I had to take the family somewhere else for dessert, just to try and salvage something from the day. I have never ever left a meal with everyone feeling so downhearted or depressed. I regret we didn’t walk out and find somewhere else the moment we saw the menu.

I would say there is real confusion here over what this place wants to be – pub or restaurant (as other viewers have mentioned), restaurant food with a slant or standard pub grub, local Sunday eating house or respected restaurant drawing people from the whole city. At the moment they clearly haven’t decided, or have and are just trying to maximize income by trying to be all things to all people. I can’t believe this is going to work long term and they will eventually need to decide what they are, after all being a jack of all trades usually means being a master of none.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank Andrew L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed GPT Smokehouse also viewed

 

Been to GPT Smokehouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing