We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go out of your way to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #13 of 34 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the new multimillion pound refurbished Bailbrook House for a birthday treat on Sept 1st and it doesn't disappoint . We had booked one of their Elegant escape packages in an executive room and upgraded to the Cloisters Restaurant . The rooms are excellent in fact I would go as far to say I don't think that the photos of them don't do them justice. The reception and lounges are elegant without being fussy . There is a feeling of restful calmness about this beautiful hotel. I have to say the staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble and you can tell they are delighted to be working in the lovely surroundings,a sense of pride comes across... The food was just excellent , what beautiful flavours!! Good Chef and kitchen staff? The pre dinner Prosecco and canapés as part of the package is a nice touch, also loved the the fact that for an afternoon tea you had the choice of a traditional or savoury .. Good idea ! The location was great and easy to find . We have stayed at other Handpicked Hotel Group Hotels and will certainly be back at this one. Superb!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and I have passed on your comments to the team. As always it is great to read that our guests will return, so I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,735)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,645 - 1,651 of 1,735 reviews

Reviewed September 11, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for one night as a stop off between Cornwall and Northamptonshire. We arrived at about 6pm and were seen to very quickly and in a friendly manner.

The room (a King Size) was exquisite and extremely tasteful and clean. It was bright when the curtains were open and suitably dark when they were drawn. The bed was wonderfully comfortable and we had a great night's sleep.

Breakfast in the morning was plentiful and tasty.

There was also a DVD player built into the TV unit and there was a selection of DVDs that could be borrowed from the front desk at no cost.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TazG303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for the wonderful comments. Hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed for 1 night in an executive room, so comfortable huge bed and all the amenities particularly enjoyed the coffee maker a lovely change from the little packets of instant.
Staff were very helpful and friendly and service could not be faulted , bistro food excellent will definitely stay again

Room Tip: upgrade to executive room on a higher florr
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jejon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor. What a great review- thank you.The team will be delighted to read it, and know all their hard work is being recognised. I hope to see you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We booked the coach house in this beautifully renovated hotel. Nicest hotel we have stayed at in England whist traveling here for 2 weeks. Very clean and the room was modern. Breakfast was very nice with a substantial variety. I think if the hotel had a shuttle bus traveling to and from Bath township this would be the perfect hotel but there is a bus stop only a few metres down the road or you can take a boat to bath. Would definitely stay here again and again. Great value for money at only 114 pounds for the night.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holidayhound62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It is always nice to read guest comments about our new bedrooms,our design team will be delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay.I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

This hotel does what it says on the tin. The rooms are great and have a lot of space and the bed is sooo comfortable. The bistro meal was adequate and as I said before did what it said on the tin. We had a nice and comfortable room with our upgrade to Executive. I would recommend this to anyone who wants to go to Bath but drive into the centre with the good directions from the Concierge or you will pay more to go by taxi

Room Tip: We had a great upgrade. Look for special offers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 0812marilyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It is always nice to read guest comments about our new bedrooms,our design team will be delighted to hear that your enjoyed your stay.I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Wedding anniversary treat -first time to Bath. The hotel has recently been refurbished and the result - perfection. I do not have 1 complaint, the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, we dined in the Cloisters restaurant on the first evening and were served by Matt and Hannah - both a delight. The food was second to none, we had steak and for the first time ever, I was served steak exactly as I asked. We stayed in the Lady Isabella King room, once again perfect - bed linen, lighting, heating, layout, design - and the bathroom - amazing shower, free standing bath -I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We also dined in the Lansdowne restaurant - again great staff and great food. We took a taxi approx £5 to Bath and visited the Roman Baths - well worth a visit. Plenty happening in the town centre - lovely people and plenty to see and do.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frankie0509
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It is always good to read kind comments about the team, they will be delighted to read them. I hope you will visit us again soon.
Hannah and Matt will be delighted with the special recognition. I totally agree with you regarding the Lady Isabella Suite it is truly a wonderful room.
Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

Booked hotel at short notice on behalf of a friend and was a little worried as had never visited Bath and was unsure about location and accessibility to Bath. All of these concerns vanished as soon as we arrived!

From the M4 the hotel is en-route to the main town centre - which is just over a mile away. As there were four of us we took a taxi into Bath that worked out cheaper than paying the £3 bus fare. We returned on a boat as we were told by the hotel staff and boat crew that the hotel was a five minute walk away. Just be aware that this might be so if you are very fit and like to run, but as its about a mile with some uphill (on the way back) it was fortunate that one of the party went to collect the car as we had two octogenarians.

The hotel staff were very polite and helpful. The hotel has just received a massive make-over and every area from the lounges in the old house to the bedrooms in the extensions were beautifully decorated. The bath towels were large and fluffy, the bed was extremely comfortable and the linen superb.

The slight disappointment was with the eating areas.. The Cloisters a la carte restaurant was closed on the evening we were there but the food in the brassiere was good - it would just have been nice to have had the choice. Breakfast was a little more disappointing. The table was missing spoons and side plates, the freshly cooked fried eggs took a long time to come out and we must have been asked at least ten times, by many different staff if everything was okay.

On the whole though the staff, location, grounds and rooms were lovely and would certainly recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deanieanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.4 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 34 in Bath
1,433 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Bath
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#2 of 34 in Bath
1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Bath
#10 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range: $137 - $348 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath with on-site complimentary parking. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years providing the perfect base for a city break to Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing