We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bailbrook House Hotel
Ranked #11 of 35 Hotels in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good!”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

I booked this hotel for the long weekend for just one night. With 4 stars and only £150 for the night I wasn't expecting anything amazing but was pleasantly surprised at how beautiful this hotel was. the exterior is lovely and grand and the breakfast was really good too! Plus the rooms were brand new so nothing felt dated or old.
My only complaint would be that my room was literally ready at 3:02pm. With most holidays I go on, I always try to check in before the check in time with success at least 2-3 hours before the check in time. I arrived at 2:50pm and was made to wait as my room wasn't ready. I found this quite rare..

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mullyeeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It is always nice to read that our guests have enjoyed their stay and I have passed your comments on to the team about breakfast.I am sorry that your room was not ready early,I will discuss this with our housekeeping team and see how we can improve on this.

Hope to see you back at Bailbrook House soon

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,396 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    923
    349
    95
    18
    11
See reviews for
162
867
9
114
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (266)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Funchal, Portugal
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

At last... A hotel room I actually wanted to book into, not only was I happy with the room, we booked another night! Newly refurbished, staff excellent, great breakfast... note to the evening chef... Cooking oil has to be smoking hot to get the batter for the fish crispy without the goowey inside!!!!.
Great location, as you can pick up the number 13 bus to Bath City and return right outside the drive way, not worth taking the car. (21st Century Tv and Hairdryers) a nice touch.
Very happy with our stay, and would look out for offers again here. Lovely main house, doesn't have the formal Hotel feel.
The only thing we were amazed about, is that there is a statement in the hotel information that says it does not encourage people to tip toe down the corridors. How stupid is this statement, we all have met the couple who decide to bang there doors numerous times at midnight.

Room Tip: Make sure the room you have is not on the walk way to the breakfast room, I suspect it can be quite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeg15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was great to read that you enjoyed your stay.I agree with you about the boat trip, it is a fabulous way to enjoy some of the scenes of Bath.I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Just had a weekend in this great hotel. Everything was of a really high standard. The rooms were of a high quality, loads of space and a really comfy bed.

Were told about the boat trip into Bath when we arrived and it made a perfect start to our day in Bath City Centre.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Will A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I am delighted you enjoyed your stay. I could not agree more about the boat trip- what a fabulous way to see some of the sites of Bath.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

Where do I start, we had a fantastic stay here. The hotel staff were brilliant, they couldn't do enough for us. We were totally pampered.
The hotels refurbishment is exquisite, and so was the food. We ate in both restaurants, the cloisters was a little expensive but as a treat it was worth it.
When staying in bath this hotel is a must.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nicolab1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.Wow, I could not have written a better review myself ! thank you so much.The staff will be very pleased to read your review.Once again thank you and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

From start to finish are stay in this hotel was an amazing experience. The staff couldn't have been nicer and the room was that nice we didn't want to leave it. If I had to pick one little thing it was the breakfast was very slow coming out. Then again it was a busy bank holiday weekend. Saying that it didn't bother us at all as everything else was so good, including the food.

We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gareth V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.I really do appreciate your comments about your stay and the team, they have all worked very hard since we opened so they will be delighted to read you review - thank you. I have noted your comment about breakfast ; the bank holiday weekend was our busiest weekend since we opened and following a review of the weekend we have made some changes to improve speed.

Once again thank you

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Stayed here with my girlfriend whilst on an overnight visit to Bath. Hotel cost around £100 and that was from booking only a week prior through last minute website. This price included breakfast.
Hotel was very pleasant, as we pulled up the long driveway onto the grounds we parked up and went into reception where we were dealt with promptly. A polite young man showed us to our room and explained how things worked and where things were which was a nice surprise!
The room itself was HUGE! You will see reviews on here of people moaning about the bed being two mattresses - yes it is but this is unnoticeable when slept on and the bed is massive and comfortable. Room comes with complimentary milk, water and loads of types of tea and coffee (and hot chocolate). The shower has a large amazon style shower head and works great and the bathroom has the relevant toiletries for the stay.
Breakfast the next morning (included in price) was the best breakfast I've had at a hotel. The meat is premium and the menu showed where the meat was from (Wiltshire bacon and locally sourced sausages if I remember correctly) all was cooked perfectly and there was a large range of items so I won't list them all. The staff at breakfast were very friendly and helpful and the atmosphere was nice.
There were refurbishments going on at the hotel during our stay but we did not hear any of this, we saw a man fitting a door and he was polite but this did not affect our stay one bit.
I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Bath. It is a 5 minute taxi drive (taxi was around £7 into town) and is in a quiet location.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ry999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.It was great to read you enjoyed your stay and also read your reviews about our rooms.I am pleased you enjoyed breakfast,as you know a lot of people say it is the most important meal of the day so we try our best to give everyone a good start to the day !
Hope to welcome you back soon

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed between 19- 23 August. Check -in was quick and our room was ready on arrival. Rooms were comfortably furnished - with everything smelling new due to recent refurbishment. The staff were friendly and couldn't do enough for us. The breakfasts were self service so you could have as little or as much as you wanted. The location was picturesque and we walked into city centre every day which was about 2 miles. My only complaint was that our room was next to the door leading to the car park or Lansdowne restaurant. This door did not shut quietly so some mornings we were woken by other guests making their way for breakfast. I would ask for a room away from an entrance next time. Overall we had a great time and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcgenie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bailbrook, General Manager at Bailbrook House Hotel, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Thank you for posting a review on TripAdvisor.It was nice to read that you enjoyed your stay and that you found the staff friendly and breakfast enjoyable,I will let everyone know. I note your comment about a noisy door and I have asked our maintenance team to check all doors to ensure they close slowly and quietly.Once thank you and I hope we can welcome you back soon.

Regards

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.8 mi away
Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery by Sofitel
1.6 mi away
Queensberry Hotel
Queensberry Hotel
#12 of 35 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,337 reviews
2.8 mi away
Apsley House Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dukes Hotel
Dukes Hotel
#1 of 35 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,226 reviews
1.1 mi away
Macdonald Bath Spa Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 35 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bailbrook House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bailbrook House Hotel

Property: Bailbrook House Hotel
Address: Eveleigh Avenue | London Road West, Bath BA1 7JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Bath
#9 Luxury Hotel in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bailbrook House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the top 5 hotels near bath and one of the top hotels in Bath on Tripadvisor. Bailbrook House Hotel a historic grade II* listed mansion has recently completed a £10 million refurbishment. Welcome to Bailbrook House Hotel in Bath, located just a few minutes from the centre of historic Bath. We are the only Grade II* listed hotels in Bath, set within 20 acres of private grounds with commanding views towards central Bath and the adjoining countryside. The property was originally built as a private residence in the early 1790s and has had a number of uses over the years. In less than one year since re-opening Bailbrook House Hotel is now one of the leading hotels in Bath. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Bailbrook House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bailbrook House Hotel Bath
Bailbrook Hotel Bath
Bailbrook House Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing