We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Glitch the first night, but got it sorted out” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #28 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ridgefield, Washington
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Glitch the first night, but got it sorted out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

We had reservations for 2 nights with twin beds. Before we arrived we had been asked if okay to move us to a family suite and this would be an upgrade, and we said sure. We did not realize that this room was out of the building and around the corner down steep steps. My sister and I were traveling by ourselves and got in around dusk, it did not make us feel the most comfortable. We talked to Liz the next morning and she moved us for our last night to the main guest house, which made us feel much more comfortable and the room was much nicer.
the guesthouse is close to the Abbey, the train station, and the bus station. The airport bus to Bristol is across the street from the train station.

Room Tip: Unless traveling with a group or family make sure you staying in the main guesthouse.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rothridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

774 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    531
    195
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
143
244
97
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Regina, Sk
Level Contributor
42 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Henry Guest House is located 4 minutes walking from the Bath Train Station with luggage, and 4 minutes from the Roman Spa. The room was small, clean and quiet, with wi-fi, but no room safe. The bed was comfortable and we had 2 good night sleeps. Breakfast consisted of scrambled eggs, sausage, yogurt, toast, coffee and juice. A great breakfast to start the day!
We toured the city of Bath one day and then took a Mad Max Tour of Stone Henge, and Avebury the second day.

We choose this guest house because of the location and we were not disappointed. We would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gunnar_OShea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

Thank you Liz for your warm welcome, wonderfully comfortable room 3 and the chocolates on our pillows for our evening in Bath. After the hectic pace of London, we loved the calm, serene beauty of Bath. The great location (short walk from train station) and so close to the Abbey and all the sights as well as delicious breakfast, we felt restored. We highly recommend the free walking tour and the Bizarre Bath evening tour. Such fun and wish we'd been able to stay longer at your first class B and B before heading back to London. We will be back!!!

Room Tip: We had a double room on the third floor overlooking the courtyard and it was very comfortable and qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights while touring Bath and surrounding area. Great location, only a short walk from the train station, and the historic center. Our room was with ensuite, and very comfortable bed. Windows are all double paned so not much street noise to disrupt our sleep. Both Liz and Jacqueline were most helpful with their suggestions, and service. Breakfasts were good offering fruits, yogurt, pastries as well as hot selections of eggs, sausages, bacon, tomatoes and toast. Coffee and tea facilities in the room, but also served along with juice at breakfast. Complementary umbrellas came in handy, what with the UK's unpredictable weather. Lots of information available for touring and sights available. We would definitely stay here again should we return to Bath!

Room Tip: Room #1 was lovely, and large by most British standards.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelsponge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

The location in Bath was perfect! The room was typically small but the bed was big and comfortable. Hosts were very hospitable and the cooked to order breakfasts were great. Absolutely no complaints, it was a great visit.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ML4PTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galena, Illinois
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2013

Liz was very welcoming and gave us all the information and hospitality we needed in order to make our trip to Bath a very happy and successful one. She was more than accommodating in providing gluten free choices for breakfast and it was delicious. I would highly recommend this
B & B for your stay in Bath. It is close to all the important attractions and has very comfortable rooms!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank franny0013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Hosts were friendly but not exactly warm.
The solo bedroom was small but sufficient. The private bathroom outside the bedroom was very clean but very small. Breakfast was good.
Major plus about this BB is the location. It is so close to most attractions. This BB is only approx. 2-3 mins walk from the pick-up point for the MadMax Tour, and approx. 7mins walk from Bath Spa railway stn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,310 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pratt's Hotel
Pratt's Hotel
#28 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Bath City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Property: The Henry Guest House
Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing