We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely little B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #27 of 154 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely little B&B”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My partner and I took an overnight trip to Bath while in the UK to attend a wedding. We were late in booking our accommodation in Bath, so I'm sure we paid a premium as a result. We found The Henry online and booked after reading the mostly positive reviews here on TA.

Overall, the stay has been great and I've got no real complaints or gripes. We stayed in Room 1.

Pros: no set check-in time (you name it when you book), great central location, rooms are VERY clean and well presented, beds a super comfy, shower is quite large for what you usually get in the UK, breakfast menu was small - but made to order and yummy with fresh fruit and cereals also available, guest house is quite (as our room was on the first landing, I was worried we'd hear all the foot traffic), and of course, free wifi.

Cons: no parking (but reasonable parking rates available just across the main road - 12 quid for 24 hours), bathroom is quite small (tricky to even dry off without whacking an elbow), rooms can get very bright at sun up which is early in summer (we had our eye masks from the flight to mitigate this), and finally, the tv reception is pretty bad - but that is fine since you should be walking around the city and no in your room.

Room Tip: On your key ring there will be a Big Ben (staying in Bath) tag. Make sure you have a read through th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

797 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    544
    204
    36
    8
    5
See reviews for
147
254
100
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We had a reservation for this B&B and several days prior I fell in London injuring my hand and leg leaving us with no recourse but to cancel our reservation.

Their stated policy is to refuse to refund any reservation based on "strict order from Mr. Barton to charge you, because you did cancel your reservation 2 days before your arrival." I inquired about an exception and told this was the owner's decision. It still seems, with a valid reason, that an exception should be granted--but that isn't the case at this establishment. Regardless of the fact that we were totally unaware of this cancellation policy, which we did not receive until the reservation was confirmed.

I am left with no avenue to appeal and since we have been billed for the entire reservation fee, we have no other recourse but to complain about the unresponsiveness of the owners. We are severally disappointed in the Henry House policies.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Bob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thehenry, General Manager at The Henry Guest House, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Helen and Bob LaBouy,
you could not book a room at the Henry without seeing and reading our cancellation policy. You are the first guest ever who did not find our cancellation policy which is right in the front of your eyes before you confirm your booking. You did provided your credit card details which means that you accepted our terms & conditions and (again) the cancellation policy. Looks like you might not be very experienced travellers if you call our cancellation policy 'archaic'! It is actually very,very soft cancellation policy comparing to the rest of the world (hotels,hostels,air lines,travel agencies....).
THE HENRY GUEST HOUSE CANCELLATION POLICY:
'If you cancel more than 7 days before your date of arrival we will not make a charge and refund any deposits paid. If you cancel after 7 days and we are able to re-let your room we will make a charge of 40% of the total cost of the first night’s accommodation. If we are UNABLE TO RE-LET the room, we will CHARGE you THE FULL RATE of your stay.'
I'm assuming that you have got adequate TRAVEL INSURANCE which would cover all your cost in case of an injury including cancellation fees. We are more then willing to assist you and help you to stake a claim for the cancellation fee.
I also spoke to the owner of the Henry,Mrs. Barton, who spoke to you on phone and she assured me that you did not mentioned any injury as you cancelled your booking 1 day before arrival.I don't have any doubts and trust her limitless.
Sincerely Jana Ziegler, manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, FL
Level Contributor
149 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2013

We stayed at The Henry Guest house during our self guided tour of SW England. Our bedroom was rather large as seen in the photo. It had room enough for 2 large stuffed chairs. The bathroom is also rather large by European standards, although the floor in the room didn't seem to have a flat and level place in it. The guest house is just a very short distance from the Bath Abbey. Breakfast - good.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joe-SVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We've only travelled to large cities before so are used to staying in large chain style hotels (think Marriots, Westins etc.) so an 8 bedroom old guesthouse was a change, but our experience here was very sweet. (We did only stay for one night so perhaps the cramped quarters would've gotten to us had we stayed longer!)

The positives: The owners were very sweet and helpful. We arrived well before the time we said we would and so had to call the owners and they very quickly returned (out walking their dog I think!) and accommodated us so politely even though it was our own mistake, not theirs. The location was excellent and Bath is very small so everything was walkable. The hotel provided us with some info on the area as well as a pamphlet of discounts and recommendations. Having the bus station so close by was a huge pro since we had to walk to it with our big backpacks. Breakfast was very tasty and we were not disappointed by the options. The room was very cute, the chocolates on the pillow and cookies were a welcomed treat, and the bed was comfy.

Noise was not an issue for us, but we had read in a travel guide to request a room at the back because of potential student street noise and so we did.

The negatives: It was rather pricey for what it was. We looked at A LOT of hotels though and Bath is just an expensive place. The climb up the narrow uneven staircase with our backpacks was awful, but expected, and the owner did kindly offer assistance. The room was very small and could use some touch ups, the hair dryer was in the bedroom not the bathroom and it didn't really extend far enough to be able to see in the mirror. But none of that really mattered because the owner was just so kind and charming and so was the house, we loved our short stay here!

Room Tip: There's no elevator and the stairs are somewhat steep but if you're reasonably fit request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mf84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dorset
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

We booked our room as well as two more for our friends to attend a conference in Bath. This was our second stay at The Henry. It is centrally placed and thus very convenient for visits of any nature. There are eight rooms on four floors. Rooms 1 and 2 on the first floor are en suite. I understood from the unaccompanied person with us,who had a single room on the top floor,k that the bathroom was shared.
Room 1 can accommodate a couple plus one, while room 2 is for two. The rooms were clean and well presented. The reception was friendly and welcoming. We had given notice of our arrival time and all was ready for each of us.
Breakfast was served between 8 and 9am in the downstairs breakfast room. A small but adequate menu, including 'full English' was on offer with the usual cereals and orange juice on a side table.
The only criticism I have is that there was only butter available although one might have been ale to have non butter spread if one had asked. The jam and marmalade was in the little packets which I feel that for the price charged there should have been real marmalade at least available.
The room price of £110 per night was I feel rather high for the facilities on offer, despite the city position enjoyed by the establishment.

Room Tip: Sorry,but the rating for the Pool and Fitness Centre are inappropriate but it was impossible to remo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuhillo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This place is too expensive for what it offers. They demand a 50% non-refundable deposit up front. It is a vertical place. Too many stairs to climb. Janis and Jerry, who actually run it are very nice and capable but they can't turn a average house into something excellent. The actual owner is kind of arrogant and egotistical.
The location is excellent. Near to everything you want to visit.
They could use a better vacuum. The floors are extremely uneven. Coffee comes in an open jar, not packets, not hygienic.
As I said, Jerry and Janis are fantastic. The Henry is not.

Room Tip: Ask for one at the rear.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2uktraveler09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I arrived in bath unprepared, and was looking high and low for a hotel, guest house, etc. Walked past the Henry and met Liz the wonderful and accommodating owner. Immediately fell into excellent conversation and knew this was the place for me. So inviting was this hostess I would have stayed in a coal-shed for her company, so imagine my delight when the room was clean, beautifully furnished and with an extremely comfortable bed. The breakfast was delicious, the coffee was strong, and the atmosphere was easy. As a lone traveller to be welcomed to a new city like this was an unimaginable pleasure.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RadaR P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#17 of 34 in Bath
1,369 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 154 in Bath
1,041 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#13 of 154 in Bath
1,175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Property: The Henry Guest House
Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 154 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing