We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #23 of 156 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Stayed here this week for the Christmas markets, what a find. Great location, especially for these markets and the shops. Right on the doorstep. Lovely room, large, airy and modern and very, very clean. Would definitely recommend and would stay again anytime in Bath. Friendly welcome, lovely breakfast. Finishing touches too i.e biscuits with the tea facilities In the room, mint on the bed, sweeties in the hall. . Cant say we were disturbed by the loading bays as other comments but perhaps we were just lucky on our two nights. As good as any hotel .All in all a great place to stay

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank justjac26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (819)
There are newer reviews for The Henry Guest House
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 819 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in November, at the front of the building. The location of this guest house is excellent for the station and the city centre, however, there are loading bays for some of the large stores approx. 50m away and noisy deliveries are made throughout the night, and there were also quite a few noisy interludes with homeward bound drunks!

Our room itself was a good size and the twin beds were comfortable, but this being a Superior Twin Room, which for £95 per night, we felt was disappointing. The bathroom, however, was very cold as it had virtually no heating (a small towel rail) and a single glazed sash window. The standard of decoration left a little to be desired and the original old fireplaces added character but were neglected during the cleaning. The breakfasts were well-cooked but not generous, although you could help yourself to continental style cereals, fruit and yoghurt. Unfortunately, the toast was not of the highest quality bread available...in fact, pretty awful.

The mugs from our tea-making set weren't washed up during our stay and biscuits weren't replenished. There was also only one glass in the bathroom, which meant only one of us could have a glass of water by the bed.... or use a cup. To be fair, we did not request another one but feel it should have been provided anyway in a double occupancy of a twin room.

Having free wifi was very useful and the staff were friendly and polite and they did their very best to accommodate us arriving early by train. Should we return to Bath (a very lovely city, by the way), I think we may take the opportunity to experience another establishment.

We can recommend a visit to the Coeur de Lion pub in Northumberland Place off the High Street - it's a quaint and cosy pub that serves food (although we didn't eat here). The Raven of Bath Pub has good real ales and a very friendly landlord, located in Queen Street.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigDDKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

We were upgraded on arrival, so our room was very large and overlooked the street, with a comfortable chair for lounging. The location couldn't be better - just a couple of blocks from the train station and a couple more to the Roman Baths and Abbey. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfasts were very good. The only complaint was that there was a lot of street noise at night that sometimes went on until 4 in the morning. The windows stopped some of the noise, and this would not stop me from staying here again or recommending it to others.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuzC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Came to Bath on a weekend away with a girlfriend who'd stayed at the Henry before. What a brilliant find! We were in room 4, up quite a narrow staircase but lovely big room with plenty of space and light. Incredibly comfortable twin beds meant I slept better than I have in ages. The bathroom is lovely - great big shower (and I am very fussy about showers) and heated towel rail which makes a difference when you're having two showers a day. Lovely decor - funny little pictures everywhere. Breakfast was good with lovely eggs fresh made, not standing around and rubbery! Also nice they didn't overload you - small portion of eggs, one sausage and mushrooms was really nice as we didn't feel stuffed.

Main advantage though is the location - couldn't have been any more central. Two minutes walk from all the lovely restaurants etc and just up the road from the train station.

Would definitely recommend this place for couples or friends on a trip to Bath - maybe not children though, lots of steep stairs!

Room Tip: Room 4 worked well for us!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank charlie_girling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

What a splendid choice of B&B - with a difference! Only a short walking distance of all historic sites, shops, restaurants, very central. Comfortable beds for tired bodies, good breakfasts and mine of information on the local scene from the accomplished owners. Well worth recommending to others.

Room Tip: Rooms with Georgian elegance and lovely ebds
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

My parents stayed here for a midweek break. Liz our hostess was exceptional in making them feel at ease and was very helpful and friendly. The guest house is immaculately clean and decorated beautifully, look out for all the great pictures dotted around. My parents stayed in the family room which Liz arranged as it was a floor lower and make life easier for my parents.Very considerate!! The room was fully equipped with everything you'd need for a short stay. Comfy bed and nice surroundings, loved the chocolate on the pillow touch! Breakfast was also very good and plentiful.Would definitely return. We were made to feel very welcome, almost like personal house guests. Thank you Liz and good luck with your travels!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank janicewilliams38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Excellent location in the middle of everything yet quiet, and easy to walk to from train station even with our tons of luggage. Room was quite small and eliminating one of the pretty chairs would have been helpful. Breakfast very good, staff friendly and full of good suggestions around where to go and when, to avoid ridiculous crowds in the city. Be sure to go "Climbing up on Solsbury Hill" just to say you did... it is above the suburb of Batheaston and a relatively inexpensive cab ride away.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#18 of 32 in Bath
1,416 reviews
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
0.3 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 156 in Bath
1,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Harington's City Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 156 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range: $168 - $297 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing