We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy beds, wonderful hosts.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Henry Guest House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Henry Guest House
Ranked #27 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Yarm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Comfy beds, wonderful hosts.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2011

My mum and I decided to have a night away and chose to return to this wonderful guest house. The owners are the nicest, most helpful people you could possibly meet, nothing is too much trouble. The room we had was spacious, clean and had all mod cons. I slept really well in a very comfortable bed with plenty of good quality pillows. The breakfast was excellent, especially the sausages! I didn't need to eat again until tea time! I would definately recommend The Henry. It's like a home away from home.

Room Tip: Close to station, spa and shops. Not noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickipogson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

775 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    532
    195
    35
    8
    5
See reviews for
143
244
97
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
maryland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2011

Recommended by a British client, I have never stayed in a traditonal B & B before. I expected the accommodations to be much smaller, but our room was actually fine, even though there was not a proper closet or luggage rack.
Best things: heated towel rack, spotless new glass shower, free wi-fi, close-in location (parking less than 1/4 block away) near Thermae Spa and historic Roman baths, friendly and helpful hosts, good quality English breakfast, and clean rooms with comfy bed.
Not best: floor in bathroom was spongy and covered with what looked like faux wood contact paper, narrow staircases,

  • Stayed March 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueeMaryland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed 2 nights and loved the hotel. I was on the top floor in a small room, which was fine. Breakfast was nice. Steve was helpful with any questions I had. The location is fantastic, just a few blocks from train and bus stations and very near Central Bath. Free wifi was a plus.

Stayed March 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank HNLTraveler44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2011

After having stayed is 2 B&Bs in Bath prior to finding the Henry, I can say that this place is head and shoulders above the rest.

Liz and Steve are lovely, very friendly and helpful. All the facilities are spotlessly clean and excellently decorated feeling homely and retaining many period features, the full breakfast is fantastic, good quality bacon and sausages.

The Henry is cenrally located and is a short walk away from Baths main attractions and has everything you could need for a wonderful visity to a fantastic city.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank robparry83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
taunton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2011

Comfortable small room up 3 flights of stairs, compact shower with 1.8m headroom, new decor, quiet apart from the seagulls, good full breakfast, had to look for staff to checkout. Parking availavble in public car park 20m away and very central.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hotair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2011

Having arrived from Africa on our way home to Canada, this delightful B&B in Bath was the PERFECT introduction to England. We were warmly welcomed by the owners and they had great suggestions on what to do during out time in Bath. I can't say enough about their hospitality, lovely room, great food, perfect location!! Thanks Rick Steeves for the wonderful recommendation!!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgfunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2011

Myself and my wife to be stayed here for three nights. Well what a lovely relaxing stay.

We were in room 2. The room was spotless and so was the shower and toilet.
The shower was hot and powerful, a usual let down in many guest houses.

The beds, wow these were so comfortable. As soon as our heads hit the pillows were were away until we awoke the next morning. All linen and towels were spotless and fresh. No noise.

The breakfasts were great. Plenty of tea and coffee. Cereal if you wanted, toast.

I had cooked every morning. The breakfasts were tasty and fresh, no grease.

Liz was away but Steve kept everything in order and I would of never had guessed there was someone missing.

We were given a bottle of bubbly for our special day which I thought was a lovely touch.

Thanks Steve and Liz for everything, we enjoyed our stay in Bath and we loved The Henry.

Everything is in within walking distance from The Henry.

Lovely guest house.
Lovely hosts.
Lovely city.

Thanks. Sophie & Christian.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xianUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.1 mi away
The Abbey Hotel
The Abbey Hotel
#16 of 34 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,317 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pratt's Hotel
Pratt's Hotel
#28 of 34 in Bath
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Berdoulat & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
SACO Bath - St James Parade
0.3 mi away
The Griffin Inn
The Griffin Inn
#44 of 192 in Bath
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.3 mi away
Henrietta House
Henrietta House
#14 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Henry Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry Guest House

Property: The Henry Guest House
Address: 6 Henry Street, Bath BA1 1JT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Bath's city centre, during your visit our home is your home. The Henry is ideally situated, close to the superb shopping centre and tourist sites of this beautiful city. We are just a 2 minute walk from the railway and bus stations and a brief stroll to the Roman Baths, Pump Rooms and Abbey, The Henry is the perfect base from which to explore this truly beautiful, magical city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Henry Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing