We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Would recommend it but no credit cards”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crescent Guest House
Ranked #88 of 160 Bath B&B and Inns
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Would recommend it but no credit cards”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

We chose this b&b for its fantastic price and it turned out to be much closer to the city centre than we thought, it's only 5 minutes away from anything, no hills involved, which is surprising for Bath! The guesthouse is very well looked after, everything was extremely clean and the room was comfortable, with everything we needed. Breakfast was included and delicious - it does take place on a very large table where all guests congregate during the only hour that breakfast is served. It was fine for us and I thought it would be ideal for anyone who is travelling alone and wants some company, as it does feel that you're in your own home in Bath. But I suppose it may not suit those who want to be left alone or enjoy their privacy.

The only thing we did not like was that, at the end of a truly lovely visit, we were told by the owner that, although she doesn't always charge a 2.5% fee for credit card payments (like other b&b owners in the same neighbourhood, she said), she was going to charge us. A pity.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SilviaandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    60
    26
    16
    7
See reviews for
22
101
13
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

The ilocation is good, an easy walk to all the sights of Bath.
The room, no 6 on the top floor is very small but it is enough to sleep in. Nice big bathroom that was very clean.

Breakfast is served during one hour and the host is not the best when it comes to logistics. First day we waited 45 minutes to get our breakfast and second night it was fast, only 35 minutes.

I do not like the big table where all eat togehter but that is just my personal taste.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

We arrived in Bath without a booking and found Crescent Gardens on the Internet. We were very warmly welcomed by our host and given information about things to do, sights to see and places to eat. Our room was number 6 at the top of the house. It was really comfortable and beautifully decorated. Lovely toiletries in the bathroom. Breakfast is served in the front room all sitting at the same table. Items can be chosen from the menu and cooked fresh. This is the nicest b & b we have stayed so far on our trip and is highly recommended for service and price.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cate G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

This guesthouse is located about a 5/10 minute walk from all the main attractions of Bath. The onwer is a lovely informative lady who knows all there is to know about Bath and gave us some great reastaurant advice. The rooms are clean and comfortable and the breakfast provided was excellent. It does tick all the boxes for a guest house: friendly owner, tasty breakfast, good night sleep and a stones throw from the city centre. Enjoy!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrZakalwe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Spent ages looking around web for a good B&B in Bath and am relieved that I chose this place. Great location. Few people mention the size of rooms, but I (at 6'1) found ours — top floor — to be just fine. Rita is a terrific host and makes the best full English you can get. Enjoyed sitting around the large breakfast table and chatting with other guests. Will stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AEwing_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2012

We found booking easy by telephone with all queries regarding special diets dealt with efficiently. Cresent Guest House is well positioned with just a short walk into town. It was clean with all that we needed from maps to hot water bottles (English summer!!) Rita was friendly, welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was excellent and nothing was too much trouble - wheat free bread, local meat, eggs cooked the way you wanted them and lots of fresh fruit. We would definitely stay here again if we returned to lovely Bath.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
398 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2012

First time I had ever stayed at a B & B and stayed here with Canadian in laws and my wife. The hostess was wonderful and the breakfasts were superb. We had the full English, veggie English, eggs and smoked salmon and even French toast with Canadian maple syrup and all were great. As much as you can eat, as the coffee and toast keeps on coming. Yup, the rooms are smaller than a hotel but very clean and well kept.

Would recommend this place totally. We had a front room and never noticed the road noise, but if you are a light sleeper get a room at the back...

Room Tip: Room at the back if you are a light sleeper.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonFet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.0 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#45 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 231 reviews
0.1 mi away
Royal Park Guest House
Royal Park Guest House
#90 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
0.1 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#16 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Brocks Guest House
Brocks Guest House
#55 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
1.2 mi away
Cranleigh
Cranleigh
#14 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
0.1 mi away
Brooks Guesthouse
Brooks Guesthouse
#28 of 160 in Bath
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crescent Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crescent Guest House

Property: Crescent Guest House
Address: 21 Crescent Gardens, Bath BA1 2NA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #88 of 160 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Crescent Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently situated just 10 minutes level walk from the Roman Baths and Abbey. We offer cosy, well appointed rooms, a great breakfast menu and lots of fun. On suite bedrooms. Free on street parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Crescent Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crescent Guest House Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing