We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 155 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 7, 2010

Abbey Rise B&B was recommended by a friend and we had a great time there. It is only a short walk (10 minutes) from Bath center and has a private car park.
The owner Katherine was very friendly. The bedroom was nicely decorated and clean. The breakfast was freshly cooked and additionally fruit and yoghurt was offered.
I would have no worries about recommending this B&B to my friends and would be very happy to stay there if we visited Bath again.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieTeddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (189)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 189 reviews

Reviewed October 7, 2009

As before we were part of the group of six who spent the weekend at Abbey Rise. From the moment the front door opend we were made to feel very welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Good value for money with clean, comfortable rooms in which to relax after a foray into town which is only 10 minutes walking distance. On our second night we fancied going to a pub for our eveing meal. Katherine rang ahead and booked the table for us. Both Katherine and her son Alex made our stay relaxed and enjoyable. We will be going back. The final bonus is that there is a private car park where you can safely leave your car.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ob1Cheam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2009

We have just returned from a weekend in Bath at the Abbey Rise B&B. We stayed with 4 friends and had a great time. The owner Catherine was extremely friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The bedroom was nicely decorated, exceptionally clean and the bed was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful too, lots of choice and superbly cooked. The house is in a excellent position about ten minutes walk from the centre of Bath. I would have no worries about recommending this B&B to my friends and would be very happy to stay there if we visited Bath again.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Goldilocks39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2009

I stayed in the family room with a friend for two nights and we both think this is a lovely B&B. I did a lot of research before visiting Bath and it was a very busy half-term weekend, so rooms around the city were being booked up quickly (hence having the family room). It was spotless with pretty decor and a nice en-suite, although we did feel that the shower was not greatly powerful. The beds were comfortable so even with some noise from the road we both slept very well! The breakfast was definitely worth getting up for, very tasty cooked breakfast plus cereal, croissants, yoghurt, cinnamon bread... plenty to choose from. The owner is really friendly and helpful, suggesting places to eat out etc. Overall we enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLFlower
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2008

A wonderful weekend stay my friend and I enjoyed the friendly welcome and the comfortable beds. The location was ideal for walking into the city, the owner gave excellent tourist information. Traffic noise was not a problem. Breakfasts were superb and we had everything we wanted - vegetarian and non - veggie.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rothwellNorthants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2008

If you're planning any type of trip to Bath then I'd highly recommend this guest house to anyone. Having scouted out many hotels etc in Bath this is one of the best. It's situated 5 -10 mins walk from the centre/train station, but not close enough so you're disturbed by noise. The rooms (and en-suite) are very clean, reasonably sized and relaxing. It represents great value for money all round. The owner (Catherine) is more than happy to help out in any way possible (booking restuarants, taxis, suggesting places to go) and cooks a mean breakfast! Would definitely use again if staying in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BenPaton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2008

I chose this B & B because of the free parking for guests and it is walking distance into the town - a rare commodity in Bath!

The landlady was a house keeper at Buckingham Palace - so the breakfasts are yummy, her beds are beautifully made and the house whilst being homely is spotless!

She even made me a plate of lasagne as I was back from a business meeting late - magic thank you Katherine

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank CLIPPER96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
0.5 mi away
Bay Tree House
Bay Tree House
#48 of 155 in Bath
238 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dorian House
Dorian House
#20 of 155 in Bath
1,107 reviews
0.4 mi away
2 Crescent Gardens
2 Crescent Gardens
#15 of 155 in Bath
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Kennard
The Kennard
#11 of 155 in Bath
1,083 reviews
1.6 mi away
High Beeches
High Beeches
#17 of 155 in Bath
802 reviews
0.5 mi away
Parade Park Town House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast

Address: 97 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 155 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Abbey Rise b&b
Abbey Rise Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing