We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B&B, highly recommend ” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Bath
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #36 of 192 Bath B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B&B, highly recommend ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a long weekend. Paid for the bigger of the rooms. The bed was huge and comfortable, and the rest of the room was very nice. The landlady did a cooked breakfast and there was cake left out to help yourself to, which was delicious. She was also very helpful and gave us suggestions of what we could do in Bath each day.

Would definitely go back again.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    3
    2
    0
See reviews for
41
85
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nairobi, Nairobi, Kenya
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2014

I fully agree with the excellent comments done by other people: B&B well situated, Katherine very welcoming and serving excellent breakfast. Just a few suggestions: avoid room no 5 which is very small and you will spend your time banging the furniture. Also, considering that guests are often tourists, it would be appreciated if breakfast time is not so strict (8:30 to 9:30) which is quite restrictive in case you plan for organized tours or full days out; this ends up having to pay a breakfast in town for early departures.

Room Tip: Avoid room 5 and. Breakfast time should be more flexible
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lio233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2014

We spent 2 nights in this wonderful B&B located just a short 5-10 minutes walk away from the town center of Bath. We had the family room - it has nice furniture, enough space for 3 people with luggage and was very clean. Katherine is a very friendly and helpful host and prepares a great breakfast. We also appreciated that a private parksite was available and of course the tasty brownies ;). We highly recommend this little gem.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holiday0303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Katherine keeps a very welcoming place to stay, with comfortable rooms and outstanding breakfasts. Having car parking for guests is a bonus. The centre of Bath is easily accessible, though the house itself would be less so for disabled visitors. A gluten-free diet proved no problem at all for the friendly and capable hostess. Warmly recommended

Room Tip: The small double is a bit cramped, better spend extra on a larger one
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

Lovely stay in the large double/en suite room. Katherine was great at accommodating our vegetarian diet and gave us very useful advice on restaurants in Bath city centre. She also informed us about the free walking tour which was fantastic.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderer54323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2014

Oh Katherine, what a pleasure.....How many times have you arrived later than planned and wished someone had picked you up and taken you to your room? Katherine, proprietor and hostess extraordinaire of this wonderful find, just 7mins from Bath Spa offered to pick us up at 11.15pm.....and what a treat it was.....Homemade strawberry jam, freshly ground coffee and made-to-taste breakfast...and this was just the following morning. I arrived there with my girlfriend, looking for a weekend break and we were thoroughly spoilt! The house itself is on a slight incline but is a home away from home. We were positioned right at the top but this gave us privacy and a view that it cosy and warm. TV/DVD in the room with a wonderful selection of films old and new downstairs in the hallway. Katherine was so welcoming, we were invited to use a large part of the house and this was such a nice touch....and she makes wonderful homemade cakes...the fruit loaf was moist and tasty.....oh Katherine, keep doing what you're doing and we will come back.....Thank you very much for a memorable stay and the use of your iron/ironing board, it made all the difference....see you very soon. To all who may read this, Abbey Rise has everything to make you feel as though you have to return...Book as soon as you can...Cluedo D and Nina x

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank desir669
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2014

My Mum, my sister and I spent two nights at Abbey Rise and Katherine, the owner was very welcoming and informative. We had the top floor room that sleeps three and it suited us perfectly. We were greeted with a pot of tea and fresh cake and homemade chocolate and from then on there was cake on tap! There were tea and Nespresso making facilities in the room and toiletries provided. Also a DVD player and library of DVD's to borrow from. The location is ideal to walk into town and parking a huge bonus. Pick Katherine's brain - she has loads of great recommendations. We would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bath hotels
1.3 mi away
Hawkins of Bath
Hawkins of Bath
#1 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grays Boutique B&B
Grays Boutique B&B
#9 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
0.1 mi away
Paradise House
Paradise House
#6 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Hill House
Hill House
#3 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
0.1 mi away
Leighton Townhouse
Leighton Townhouse
#5 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,564 reviews
0.4 mi away
Milton House
Milton House
#23 of 192 in Bath
5.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast

Property: Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast
Address: 97 Wells Road, Bath BA2 3AN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Bath
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 192 B&Bs / Inns in Bath
Hotel Class:4 star — Abbey Rise Bed and Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Abbey Rise b&b
Abbey Rise Hotel Bath

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing