We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time”
Review of Scarper Tours

Scarper Tours
Ranked #6 of 58 Tours in Bath
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Fun and Friendly Stonehenge Tours, direct from the City of Bath
2 reviews
“Great time”
Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

Was visiting from the US and this was a great time. Highly recommend. Your guide was polite, funny and witty!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Faulk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    265
    67
    7
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, CT
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
“Informative, Reasonably Priced Tour”
Reviewed March 10, 2013

I took the Scarper Tour from Bath to Stonehenge in August 2012. It was a reasonably pricded 15 pounds, which included admission to Stonehenge and an audio tour. The tour guide was friendly, informative and funny, but he did not spoil it by talking too much. He adequately explained how much time we had, what the crowds would be like and pointed out attractions along the route to Stonehenge. He even was up to date on a major traffic accident that had occurred a day earlier outside Bath. I would highly recommend this bus tour to someone who wanted to visit Stonehenge from Bath, had a minimum of time and not spend a lot of money.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DUTYFREE08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Provided what is stated in brochure”
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I basically wanted to get to and from Stonhenge without having to hire a car, so this tour fit the bill. The commentary by the driver was unobtrusive and as the weather was especially bad, there was not much that could be viewed or talked about along the way. I didn't expect a big history lesson on the journey as I knew audio tours are available on site (and like those at the Roman Baths, the information was very good). If you want an in-depth introduction whilst traveling to Stonehenge then this is probably not for you; but a relaxed, comfortable and efficient return trip to one of the world's great heritage sites, yes!

Helpful?
1 Thank GailP240
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Rent a car and drive yourself”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We had rented a car to drive from London to Bath then up to Leeds. We figured we would park in Bath and take the tour to Stonehenge that day.

First, I wished we had given ourselves a whole day in Bath. Its absolutely beautiful and we didnt have enough time to really see it.

Second, the Scarper Tour made it sound like you'd get to see the hill carvings on the way. Well, you kind of could. The pictures made it seem like it was really close however when we drove by, it was SO far away it was about the size of your hand. Plus, they only slowed down (not stop) so you can take a picture.

Third, we thought there would be a narrator talking the entire time about the history, what we'd be seeing, Stonehenge, etc. Nope. He only spoke up a few times about pointless things.

Fourth, they make a big deal about having a dedicated time for their tours "so you dont have to wait in line". Well, there was no line when we went. Plus, the drive wasn't that bad, there is a huge parking lot. We should have just driven. Paying for the tour gave us no added benefit plus if we had driven ourselves, we wouldn't have wasted the hour or so driving back to Bath and we could have continued up to Leeds.

There may be other, better tours than Scarpers to Stonehenge but I would not recommend this one.

Plus, if you want to go the tours where you walk between the stones, you can contact the British Heritage to reserve a spot however, they book out like 8 months. The only other option is paying a stupid about to tour companies out of London.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SFerence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Stonehenge friendly tour”
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The tour is friendly, the scheme is three hours in total, two in the bus and one to visit the monument. It was time enough to enjoy the visit. The driver was very kind and gave good information during the trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrian N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarper Tours also viewed

 

Been to Scarper Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing