We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very filling food, nice atmosphere.”
Review of Crystal Palace

Crystal Palace
Ranked #13 of 45 Nightlife in Bath
Attraction details
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
131 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Very filling food, nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My friend and I were looking for somewhere to have a late lunch whilst in Bath and decided that we wanted a pub lunch. On entering the Crystal palace we were pleased to see it maintained a welcoming feel with the lighting and was full of interesting pictures on the walls. The seating arrangement was cozy on the side we were in, although maintained enough space for you to feel separate from other diners. We both chose to have starters and then one of us ordered from the menu and the other from the specials board. No problem with ordering. They were even happy to add a side order when we decided we wanted one after a little while. The starter was served hot and was very filling. Although we had a wait for the main it came out hot so gave the impression it had been freshly prepared.
The only sneaky thing was when paying by card they start by asking if you want to pay a service charge/ tip. I didn't realise this and found myself on a page asking how much I wanted to tip. However if you were paying attention you could have said no to this. It is a pay before you eat place. I thought the food was of a reasonable price due to the location right near the Abbey and the portions were worth it.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gee231205x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    39
    9
    12
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Good food, great price”
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We've eaten on here a few times, everytime has been good.

Great pub food at reasonable prices, really nice home made chips! can get really busy so you need to hunt for a table.

Outside has big patio heaters so you can sit outside in the winter, which can be needed when busy!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank bath123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great Location, Average Menu”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Working in Bath The Crystal Palace is easy for lunch breaks. It's in the centre of bath, literally a minute's walk from the Abbey.

There are four main spaces; two original pub rooms, an extension and a courtyard garden with large canopy cover.

The standard menu is traditional pub food (ham, egg & chips, fish and chips etc), but popping in for lunch I find the light meal options a little limited (though it is good some main meals are offered as smaller portions too!). They have a special board which usually has some nice options...again often a little big if just after a snack and they tend to sell out quickly and early. There are sandwich and jacket potato options too...which are a usual "go-to" at lunch.

The staff are friendly and light lunch with a soft drink would cost about £8-10, which I think is a little expensive for what it is (generally).

DO BE CAREFUL IF YOU ARE ON LIMITED TIME - CHECK FOOD ORDER TIMES FIRST!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lexi2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
141 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Could've been better”
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were four adults and ordered a variety of meals - none of these was spectacular.
One of us ordered the brie and bacon baguette. This was probably the most unimpressive, as the baguette was not even sliced, let alone buttered - the guest had to make the sandwich himself! It is possible to achieve both presentation and taste without expecting the guest to do half the work for you.
Another guest had a meal with mashed potatoes, which were very dry.
In the end, we didn't stay for dessert in case this was as disappointing as the main meals.
Skip.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank SomersetLucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, Michigan
Level Contributor
495 reviews
125 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Great pub grup with back patio”
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We always come here for a pint and lunch sitting outside in the rear patio area. Great when it is sunny. The food is pretty good too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikey88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crystal Palace also viewed

 

Been to Crystal Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing